My internet connection keeps coming and going

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Smartpal, Jun 2, 2011.

Jun 2, 2011
  1. Smartpal
    OP

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    My internet connection keeps going offline then online again, then offline again. Really getting on my nerves. Anybody know what could be the problem?
     
  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Without more details, I can't say anything difinitive. It could be anything from a bad line to your telephone exchange, to your modem/router resetting, to bad cabling/signal to your computer, to faulty networking devices, to faulty software/drivers. Any many things inbetween.
     
  3. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I have a similar problem.
    It began after the ISP changed my modem since my old one died.
    With the old one I had 10mb/s.
    But know with the new one the connection goes offline every 5 minutes. And the speed is 1-2mb/s!
     
  4. Theraima

    Member Theraima I own this desert, bitches!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Clouds
    Country:
    Finland
    Like Originality said, it could be anything.. You have to test everything.. See if another computer works fine with it etc.
     
  5. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    Well you're in India and I've never heard many good things about the reliability of the infrastructure there. So you could just be fighting windmills in this regard.

    But to give you the benefit of the doubt you have to at least give us a few pieces of information

    1) Connection type - DSL/cable/satellite/etc
    2) Connection provider
    3) How is your computer connected? Directly to the router, wifi, directly to a box the provider gives you?
    4) run a speedtest.net and give us your latency and speed
    5) Does congestions/dropping correlate with anything? Torrent usage, microwave usage, etc?
     
  6. Smartpal
    OP

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    Well I have a DSL connection by MTNL and I connect through wifi. My latency is around 40 ms, down speed is 1 mbps.
     
  7. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Since you're connecting through WiFi, chances are you just have a weak signal. Try decreasing the distance between yourself and the modem/router and checking for any obstacles in the way. The more objects (especially metal ones) the signal has to go through, the weaker it gets.
     
  8. Smartpal
    OP

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    No I think it's something with the router/connection cos I tried connected through a cable as well and had the same problem. [​IMG]
     
  9. Theraima

    Member Theraima I own this desert, bitches!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Clouds
    Country:
    Finland
    If you can, test the connection with a different modem/computer. If neither of that show anything, call your ISP.
     
  10. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Heh, I actually have that same problem. I found that using a different browser may help.
     
  11. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    If you're having issues wired then it's either your router or the DSL connection itself. Torrenting has a nasty habit of obliterating most consumer routers so try to either not torrent, or really throttle the settings on the number of simultaneous connections to help there.
     
  12. Smartpal
    OP

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    I've contacted ISP. I'll see what they can do about it.
     
  13. ferdi-t

    Member ferdi-t GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Groningen
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If it also happens on a wired connection, then the problem is not the wifi connection.

    Something I hope may be of use.

    1) Do you use a modem with an integrated router, or a separate router hooked up to a modem? If so, try a wired connection without the router for testing purposes
    2) Do you have the possibility of testing with another pc (or a console)? Just to rule out the possibility of your pc being the problem
    3) Have you tried unhooking all cables, then restarting your modem+router (by keeping them hooked off for at least 10 seconds)? Sometimes works wonders.

    If that doesn't help: could you describe where in your house (which floor, front or back of the house) you hooked up your modem to the telephone line, and where your DMARC is?

    DMARC: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demarcation_point
     
  14. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    does its say error"the modem device occured an error"
     
  15. Smartpal
    OP

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    I think it's fixed now. Thanks for all the help guys. [​IMG]
     
  16. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    Can you tell me how'd you fixed it.
    I'm too suffering from the same error.
     

Share This Page