My DS Won't turn on. Need some help

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Kahroo, Aug 18, 2010.

Aug 18, 2010
  1. Kahroo
    OP

    Newcomer Kahroo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so just a few days ago my DSLite won't tun on anymore. It has been fully charged. I know this cause the night nefore I charged it then the next day I was listening to music on it and then it shut off on me.

    I'm not really sure what happen. I have been playing games with my R4 Ultra for almost a year now on it. So does anyone know anything that could help me repair it, or do I need to say goodbye and get a new one? And if I call Nintendo and say my DSLite no longer will turn and says they can repair it for me. Will they happen to know if I used a flashcart or anything on it?
     
  2. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    have you tried turning it on with the ac adapter plugged in? Also if you were to send it in nintendo wouldn't know if you used a flash cart or not because the ds doesn't store long term memory of carts, etc. Now if your foolish enough to send it in with the flash cart, thats a different story.
     
  3. Kahroo
    OP

    Newcomer Kahroo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I would never send in the flash cart too. And Yes I have turn on the DSL while the AC adaptor was it in. Do you think I should get a new battery for it?
     
  4. lj44

    Newcomer lj44 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    your battery probably has died. if youve owned a ds for a long time, thats probably what happened. just look on the internet for a battery (dont buy old batteries of course)
     
  5. Kahroo
    OP

    Newcomer Kahroo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I thought that too. I'll try to get a new battery this week and tell you if it's that or something else. I don't have the money at the moment to spend on a new DS. And anyone know where to get a good reliable cheap battery from? Found one here that is cheap and seems reliable. http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.21123
     
  6. jon92388

    Newcomer jon92388 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if it would be the battery even if its plugged into the power supply it doesn't work? Shouldn't it still work if its plugged in? I know with like laptops if the battery isnt there and its plugged into a power source it still works I'm thinking the ds would be the same. Maybe later I will give it a try and tell you what I
    find
     
  7. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    On the DS (lite, at least), if no battery is present it will not turn on when connected to AC. Inserting a battery fixes this.

    Since the battery IS in, even if all the cells are 100% dead and unable to retain any charge at all, it would still complete the circuit and allow the ds to turn on.

    Sounds to me like either the battery contact module busted somehow (unlikely I would think, unless he borked a casemod?) or it is a knockoff R4 that blew a fuse.
     
  8. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds to me like F1 and/or F2 fuse is blown.
     
  9. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    My thoughts exactly =(

    OP: you could go the route of buying a new F1/F2 and trying to fix it yourself, but that is not gonna be easy... I would recommend you just get a new ds, and a new flashcart while youre at it (
     
  10. naved.islam14

    Member naved.islam14 Gbatemp's Official Dark Knight™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Gotham
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    I think you should just by a new battery or get your ds repaired. [​IMG]
     
  11. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    A new battery won't do the trick. More likely the fuse is blown.

    Either repair it yourself, or get a new DS. And replace the flashcart, as it may short circuit your DS again.
     
  12. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,811
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If your fuse is blown here are a few videos to repair it yourself
    Best of luck [​IMG]
    A suggested before, it's best to get a new flashcart since R4 clones have been known in the past to cause blown fuses.
     
  13. naved.islam14

    Member naved.islam14 Gbatemp's Official Dark Knight™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Gotham
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    Change the battery. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page