Mums laptop is screwed

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by WeeBabyDoll, Apr 9, 2010.

Apr 9, 2010

Mums laptop is screwed by WeeBabyDoll at 9:46 PM (1,639 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So my mum has a laptop less than a year old, it's running really slowly, and when I tried to get into her task manager it said taskmanager.exe not found.
    Everything also crashed on her and she had to uninstall and reinstall everything again. Any thoughts on whats wrong?
     
  2. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,501
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    I recommend you not to install and reinstalled everything. Its waste your time. I suggest you to reformat it with windows cd and it will be new and you will need to add antivirus program and spyware program to protection your laptop. I have my computer under 2 years old and never have a problem and not even slow it down because I have those programs for protection.
     
  3. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    She probably deleted some system files, you said she's done a reinstall?
     
  4. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yea she reinstalled everything, at one point she could only run the computer in safe mode. A virus wiped everything clean.
     
  5. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    This is screaming failed hard drive.
    If you are able, remove the HDD, place it on a USB cable or caddy and chkdsk from a PC or another laptop. Make sure you check the box 'scan for bad sectors'

    I would not re-install windows without checking or just replacing the hard drive first.
     
  6. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Alternatively you can use the windows boot cd/dvd to access command prompt and use chkdsk. That way there's no need to remove the hard drive from the laptop. I suggest you scan for bad sectors, it'll take awhile depending on the size of the hard drive.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    An actual failed harddrive would result in windows not loading at all.

    He said the issues were mostly caused by a virus, which makes sense since it's erased any sort of recovery/management tools that could be used to remove it while not touching system files requires for the OS actually running.

    Do a "Repair Install" in order to fix windows without wiping personal data.
     
  8. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Not all the time. You can have a drive with damaged sectors that will retain most data, but corrupt where data has been written to the damaged sectors. A thorough scan will mark these sectors as damaged and prevent Windows writing to them in the future.

    It could quite possibly be a virus. The poster did say 'uninstall and reinstall everything' which I am assuming means Windows. More information would be helpful though.
     
  9. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    Thank's Edhel. Was going to post something similar. The information given was a bit vague to make a proper diagnosis.

    Cheers [​IMG]
     
  10. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If its less than a year old and the harddrive is broke. Claim on the 1 year guarantee.
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Then the drive itself would not have failed, it would just have damaged sectors. A failed drive indicates it's entirely unusable.
     
  12. moose3

    Member moose3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    NC
    Country:
    United States
    Also you can use a drive fitness test program to check the drive, normally available on the drive manufacturer's site. I had one that had a failed SMART test, the read speed was abysmally slow, but would boot into windows after several mins. If the drive is sound, and the virus already wiped any useable info you would want to save, might as well start clean and do a low level format (write all zeroes to drive, boot sector as well), as no need to clean a system of viruses that is unuseable. Just be careful if the comp has a recovery partition instead of recovery/OS discs.
     
  13. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You've got the chlamydia of computer viruses.
     
  14. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    HDD manufacturers are sneaky, the drive does low-level marking of bad sectors that are not reported with a chkdsk. I have had it happen to me, a drive once made a hell of a noise for 30 seconds then the next thing i knew i had lost 6GB and no partitioning tool would see the rest.

    Edit: some good info
     
  15. GentleFist

    GentleFist Newbie

    maybe some people on the net told her she has to remove system32 and she actually did it...
    that might be the problem [​IMG]
     
  16. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Go get Windows 7 and do a clean install. Then go install Avira and Comodo.
     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    How about you let them to it to your computer?
    What's that? No? Data loss isn't fun? Setting up options again isn't fun? Reinstalling a bunch of programs again isn't fun?

    Then don't suggest it to other people so lightheartedly, it's not helpful at all.
     
  18. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Sure, my last clean install I lost around 75GB of games (I tried to backup my games, but Winrar somehow messed them all up). Within a week I had everything back that I needed.
     
  19. GolenSun550

    Member GolenSun550 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    far away from you
    Country:
    United States
    Agree, [​IMG]
     

Share This Page