Multiple GCN/Wii games crash

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Lukah, Jan 2, 2015.

  1. Lukah
    OP

    Lukah Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 2, 2015
    United States
    Alrighty, so these problems started almost as soon as I had finished with my softmodding process. Games like Wind Waker, Pokemon Colliseum, and Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance all freeze at certain points (Colliseum even crashes at startup). At first I thought this was a Dios Mios problem or a USB Loader problem, but on Wii games, such as Super Mario Galaxy and Xenoblade Chronicles, I will crash at points too, even with USB Loader GX. Xenoblade was what made me want to solve this problem the most, as it crashes consistently at the same place (A cutscene after the Mysterious Face boss fight in Gaur Plains). I'll be posting a syscheck later tonight, any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Lukah
    OP

    Lukah Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 2, 2015
    United States
    Alright, here's the Syscheck:
     
  3. VinsCool

    VinsCool Delusional

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    VinsCool is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    11,683
    27,650
    Jan 7, 2014
    Canada
    End of Time
    Maybe it is a hard drive failure/bad isos?
    your syscheck seems fine.
     
  4. serenade.63

    serenade.63 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    419
    111
    Apr 17, 2011
    United States
    I have a similar problem. There appears to be nothing wrong with the isos or the system yet at certain points in games (any point in a game that takes ~10 or so minutes without the external hdd having to load something.) This leads me to believe that its an hdd hibernation issue, which is apparently quite common, and I have no idea how to fix this.
     
  5. Lukah
    OP

    Lukah Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 2, 2015
    United States
    I can confirm it's neither. I've gotten the problems regardless of whether or not I've used a flash drive, or External HDD. My HDD is also brand new. Also, as previously stated, even my Wind Waker disk crashes, when it previously had not before I softmodded the wii. The disk is also in good condition, and we grabbed an ISO to make absolutely sure it wasn't the disk, only to run into the same result.
     
  6. VinsCool

    VinsCool Delusional

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    VinsCool is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    11,683
    27,650
    Jan 7, 2014
    Canada
    End of Time
    I'm clueless, sorry :(
    Maybe an experienced wii dude will know what your problem is.
     
  7. Lukah
    OP

    Lukah Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 2, 2015
    United States
    Do I need to change the IOS I run the games on? They're set to IOS249, which I had assumed was perfectly fine (A friend had me reinstall the IOS just to make sure it was correct), but I am still running into problems on it.
     
  8. Sky Design

    Sky Design Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    90
    5
    Jun 6, 2014
    United States
    California
    Do you have a SD Card to use? This will confirm weather or not it is the Wii or Game. What is the format of the HDD as well?
     
  9. Lukah
    OP

    Lukah Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 2, 2015
    United States
    I have two SD cards: A regular ~1GB one, and an SDHC. The SDHC pretty much won't work on my Wii. All the HDDs are formatted to FAT32.
     
  10. Sky Design

    Sky Design Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    90
    5
    Jun 6, 2014
    United States
    California
    Does the SDHC pop out when you squeeze it in? For me I had to stick a piece of paper in it to make it stay.
    I'm more or so leaning with something is wrong with the Wii.
     
  11. Lukah
    OP

    Lukah Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 2, 2015
    United States
    No, it stays in the wii just fine... At least to my knowledge. My Wii knows those files are there, it just doesn't like accessing them, likely because my SDHC goes into write-protection mode like nobody's business (A problem with my SDHC, not the wii. It freaks out on my 3DS and computer as well)
     
  12. 466

    466 yes, it says 466

    Member
    200
    30
    Mar 28, 2014
    United Kingdom
    Earth
    First update your Homebrew Channel to 1.1.2...

    Your cIOS249 is d2x v6, which is very old. Use either v8 or v10-beta53-alt.
     
  13. Lukah
    OP

    Lukah Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 2, 2015
    United States
    Tried that, didn't seem to work. I tried to install d2x to fix the problem, it ended up having no effect. I ended up reverting to my regular cIOS249 since d2x wasn't showing results.
     
  14. theasker

    theasker GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    232
    16
    Jun 10, 2009
    Have you tried using Nintendont to play gamecube games or updating your USB Loader GX to the latest version?
     
  15. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip Reporter
    23,537
    21,496
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    Everything you've installed is accident. Please use ModMii and complete a full remod, then install the latest USB Loader GX, WiiFlow or CFG Loader, format your HDD to FAT32 with a Primary partition and retry. For Gamecube games install the standard MIOS and get Nintendont for Wii.
     
  16. Lukah
    OP

    Lukah Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 2, 2015
    United States
    Seems to have solved the problem, thanks! I'll update this thread when I get playing again if anything else happens to go amiss.