Hacking multiMAN compatibility?

riggs

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 19, 2006
Messages
111
Trophies
1
Location
Lincs
XP
355
Country
Well, it's been a while since I messed around with PS3s (not modded one since the PSGroove days) but I've just picked up a 3.55 Slim and have successfully flashed the latest REBUG, changed to DEX and copied a few games across to the internal HDD.

It all appears to be up and running fine, but I'm wondering if there's a detailed compatibility list for multiMAN as I've found a couple of games that don't work properly (2 of the MuvLuv games (they're JP visual novels, and yes I'm playing them purely for the trophies*)). It's not like the games don't load...they do, but both have black screen issues; one just after the title screen and the other around 5 minutes into the game. Note, the games don't lock the entire system; I'm still able to bring up the XMB and quit the game cleanly.

There doesn't appear to be any other dumps of these games (that I can find anyway), so I'm not sure if they're bad. I've also tried loading from a USB memory stick; still results in a black screen at the exact same moment. Done some testing with multiMANs game options too (internal/external/BD mirror etc), but to no avail.

If I'm reading multiMAN correctly, one game is signed for 4.21 and the other is 4.30. Would this make any difference?

I'm not sure what else I could try. Anyone got any ideas?

*it's an addiction...I need help!
:P

[edit] Games in question are;
MuvLuv Alternative (black screen after pressing start at title screen)
MuvLuv Alternative Total Eclipse (black screen about 5 minutes into the game)
 
Last edited by riggs,

Ghassen-ga

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
794
Trophies
0
XP
2,030
Country
Open multiman and check the Bd mirror option in the game settings / along with external if you're using an external drive , then press "O" to return and select your game and bamn. it's working.
 

riggs

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 19, 2006
Messages
111
Trophies
1
Location
Lincs
XP
355
Country
Ok, so the BD Mirror option is greyed out on my system. I take it there's a PKG I need to install or option to enable? It's greyed out but I can still enable it - does nothing; games still black screen.

PS3 Slim 320GB (CECH-2503B)
REBUG 4.80
multiMAN 04.80.00

Also, I've just been playing the first MuvLuv game and managed to get all the way through the main story and unlocked the "Unlimited" mode. When I try to start this mode I end up with yet another black screen (same kind of crash; the XMB is still totally operational but the game doesn't do anything).
 
Last edited by riggs,

spotanjo3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
11,147
Trophies
3
XP
6,270
Country
United States
If I'm reading multiMAN correctly, one game is signed for 4.21 and the other is 4.30. Would this make any difference?

If you are on Rebug the latest version and multiMan to the latest version. Your game is signed for 4.21 and the other is 4.30 then it doesn't matter as long as your Rebug the latest version and multiMan to the latest version will work anyway.
 

riggs

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 19, 2006
Messages
111
Trophies
1
Location
Lincs
XP
355
Country
Would any of you guys be able to do me a huge favour and see if you can replicate the problem? The easiest one to test is probably MuvLuv Alternative seeing as it breaks after pressing start at the title screen.
 

riggs

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 19, 2006
Messages
111
Trophies
1
Location
Lincs
XP
355
Country
There is no "compatibility list", bro. Every game will work.
See, I thought I saw that mentioned somewhere, but I don't understand why I'm having problems. Like I said, I can't find any other rips of these games (they're all by a group called "HR") and surely they would've been nuked if they were bad.
 

riggs

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 19, 2006
Messages
111
Trophies
1
Location
Lincs
XP
355
Country
Thanks for the help man, appreciate it. It seems as though things have changed a bit since I last messed around with PS3s (think I was using KMEAW and Gaia at the time). Either that, or my memory is fuzzy.

Anyhoo, Cobra enabled. ISOs created. Games black screen in exactly the same place.

Settings
4.80 DEX
LV2 Kernel: DEX
Target Type: DEX
COBRA: 7.3

System Mode: Normal
Debug Menu Type: DEX
XMB CFW Settings: Disabled
QA Flag: Enabled
 

codezer0

Gaming keeps me sane
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
3,610
Trophies
2
Location
The Magic School Bus
XP
4,724
Country
United States
There is no "compatibility list", bro. Every game will work.
no it isn't. I still have games that flat out refuse to work even now. Games that refuse to load from anywhere except the internal hard drive (Vanquish is the first to come to mind). And some games then basically freeze-crash when doing their mandatory installs. So, annoyingly, I could use some help on these, too.

Different games, naturally. But I remember in the early days, there were some great sites that listed what settings were needed for them to work. And annoyingly, not seeing anything like that anymore. All the sites that used to have these great databases have basically disappeared for me. And my Google Fu seems to actively hide this information from me. It's aggravating.
 

Ghassen-ga

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
794
Trophies
0
XP
2,030
Country
no it isn't. I still have games that flat out refuse to work even now. Games that refuse to load from anywhere except the internal hard drive (Vanquish is the first to come to mind). And some games then basically freeze-crash when doing their mandatory installs. So, annoyingly, I could use some help on these, too.

Different games, naturally. But I remember in the early days, there were some great sites that listed what settings were needed for them to work. And annoyingly, not seeing anything like that anymore. All the sites that used to have these great databases have basically disappeared for me. And my Google Fu seems to actively hide this information from me. It's aggravating.
You're wrong , every game should work , there are games like vanquish , uncharted trilogy , red dead redemption .. etc that requires u to move them to the internal drive because they have a +4gb file , other than that , every game should work , you either have to enalbe Bd mirror in Multiman, or have a disk inserted while playing the game , like God of War III.
 

codezer0

Gaming keeps me sane
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
3,610
Trophies
2
Location
The Magic School Bus
XP
4,724
Country
United States
You're wrong , every game should work , there are games like vanquish , uncharted trilogy , red dead redemption .. etc that requires u to move them to the internal drive because they have a +4gb file , other than that , every game should work , you either have to enalbe Bd mirror in Multiman, or have a disk inserted while playing the game , like God of War III.
Alien: Isolation on PS3 hard locks 15% through its mandatory data install. Every time. No settings that I have experimented with have been able to get it to work successfully.
 

Ghassen-ga

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
794
Trophies
0
XP
2,030
Country
Alien: Isolation on PS3 hard locks 15% through its mandatory data install. Every time. No settings that I have experimented with have been able to get it to work successfully.
It worked fine for me from start to finish , you probably had a bad copy.
 

riggs

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 19, 2006
Messages
111
Trophies
1
Location
Lincs
XP
355
Country
I guess your backup is corrupted. Remember to launch the ISO. Or like I do, mount it with Webman.
Ok. I've tried re-downloading the same games from the same source (newsgroup) and still get problems. Guess I'm going to have to pay for a months access to a file hosting service and use "that ISO site" to download the games again. Will try in the morning and post back with results.

[edit]
Well, ffs! Just downloaded a copy from that ISO site and bugger me it seems to work (well, it got further than my other copy).
Guess I won't be using newsgroups for PS3 games any more.

Thanks for the help guys and sorry for wasting your time.
 
Last edited by riggs,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    a classic
  • capolot556 @ capolot556:
    guy i have a quetion
  • capolot556 @ capolot556:
    H
    ow do i open up the linx dir in cmd?
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    No idea.
  • capolot556 @ capolot556:
    dont bother i figured it out i made a typo
  • capolot556 @ capolot556:
    thanks anywats
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    So the state mailed me new plates and didn't tell me so I put my registration on the old plate now I gotta wait on a new sticker lol
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    how are yall?
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Well I am super busy today a lot of hardware testing and setting up things, Ken got smurf jizz on his rear end lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Plex server with an Arc a770 is working amazing
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Almost 2GB's of BIOS files headed to the Pi5 as we speak lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    And only 16mb worth of bios will be playable
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Some of them are just being stored on the Pi just in case, back ups to the back ups lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    But I got space there for them so why not
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    If I was to literally put everything the Pi5 was capable of running on it, I might fill 1TB. Maybe?
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I mean right now, new emulators added to it in the future could change that.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I am struggling with Sega Saturn... Like I think I have 20 games on it? Not really into sports games and FPS games at the time really sucked... So racing Panzer Dragoon and Shinobi lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Shouldn't the pi4 batocera img work with the pi5 why mess with bios
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    They do have pi5 imgs
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The BIOS packs are for different systems like PS1 Saturn and the like
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Yeah Pi4 and Pi5 are different enough to require different images and drivers
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Like the Arm cores are different the GPU is newer all that jazz
  • HUNTERFOX @ HUNTERFOX:
    Yu sup
    HUNTERFOX @ HUNTERFOX: Yu sup