Multi login on MSN and Yahoo?

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Rydian, Jun 10, 2011.

Jun 10, 2011
  1. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way I could log into the same MSN/Live and Yahoo account from two different machines? They will be within the same local network. One will be a PC running windows (Pidgin), the other will be my DSi (running Find 'Clirc' on FileTrip.net, connecting to bitlbee).

    I try, but when I log on with one it logs me off with the other.

    AIM lets me, it's Yahoo and MSN I'm concerned with.
     
  2. Zaertix

    Member Zaertix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    565
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I know for a fact MSN won't. No idea about Yahoo.
     
  3. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know for a fact that MSN supports multiple simultaneous logins. I've often done exactly that - log in on pidgin on my PC, and log in on IM+ on my iPad, and sometimes log in MSN (old version) on my laptop. It doesn't log me out, although messages get sent to every device, and sometimes one device will get messages whilst the others don't (syncing error).
    YIM always disconnects you when you try logging in from a different location.
     
  4. wasim

    Member wasim ♫ Music addict ♫

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    907
    Location:
    Calicut
    Country:
    India
    Have you tried Nimbuzz ??

    it got :
    Facebook
    Gtalk
    Yahoo
    AIM
    MSN
    Myspace ICQ
    Hyves chat
     
  5. Issac

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    I often use MSN from several places within my network (My desktop and my netbook) at the same time. It just says which machines I'm on, and I can remotely log a machine out if I want [​IMG]
     
  6. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As an afterthought, it could be the DSi app that doesn't support it. MSN might support it, but that doesn't mean anything if the apps are designed to auto-logout any other machines that are logged in.
     
  7. Waflix

    Member Waflix El Psy Congroo

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Country:
    Netherlands
    One question: Why would you use two devices?

    I'm not sure if it works, but you may try the following things out.
    For DS
    If you have a DSi (XL), you can go to m.eBuddy.
    If you don't;


    For PC
    A list of chatting programs for the PC, portable: PortableApps
     
  8. Zaertix

    Member Zaertix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    565
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Then apparently my phone and laptop hate me. I've tried it three times today and it logs me out of the other. I dunno, maybe I'm unlucky.
     
  9. Lucifer666

    Member Lucifer666 all the world needs is me

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    The Fourth Dimension
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Live messenger to me seems designed so you can sign in at more than one place.
    I even have a tab to choose where I'd like to sign out from, or which devices I'm signed in to.
    As for Yahoo!, I'm not sure.
     
    Last edited by Lucifer666, Jul 3, 2016
  10. Waflix

    Member Waflix El Psy Congroo

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Or maybe you should just change your settings. I think you can change this with MSN. I never use MSN anymore (I rather use eBuddy, you can log in with your e-mailadres, and connect multiple accounts from different clients), but I think you can change if you should automatically be logged out on other devices when you log in with a new one.
     
  11. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think it's the homebrew since logging back into the PC after it gets kicked off will kick off my DS as well, so I think it'd be some account setting or something.

    And yeah, I want the messages to be received to both.
     
  12. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    If you are using Yahoo Messenger or Windows Live Messenger you might need to patch them to allow multiple connected clients at once. A-Patch should take care of that as well as offering a few other possible options.
     
  13. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I was doing this to try to avoid transferring logs, but another part of the plan fell through and I'mma' have to do that anyways, so I've no need for this anymore.

    Insert mad scientist laugh here.
     

Share This Page