Mplayer-CE

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Scolor, Feb 14, 2009.

Feb 14, 2009

Mplayer-CE by Scolor at 8:21 PM (184,905 Views / 0 Likes) 1,125 replies

  1. Scolor
    OP

    Member Scolor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    Italy


  2. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Does it read DVD format or it is just to access into DVD data...???
     
  3. AlBa

    Member AlBa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Where else can i find info about this? (like which video formats are supported, etc)
    first time i heard of this hb [​IMG]
    Maybe a nice replacement for geexbox
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    New media players are always welcome.
    The readme for those not wanting to download, I have to say I am liking the idea of the input methods they have and if it is the usual mplayer lineup (which from the old version I recall was everything but DRM infected and certain windows media audio) then all is good.
    Code:
    ÂÂ MPlayer_CE,
    ÂÂ unofficial Edition v.0.1 13.02.2009 
    
    ÂÂ MPlayer Wii port © 2008/09 Team Twiizers,
    ÂÂ used code © MPlayerWii[rOn], GeeXboX,
    ÂÂ Scip, tipolosko, rodries, AgentX, 
    ÂÂ DJDynamite123, Tantric, etc...
    ÂÂ Play Files from DATA - DVD SDHC USB SMB
    ÂÂ & Radio...ÂÂÂÂ!!!***Enjoy***!!!
    ÂÂ 
    ÂÂ MPlayer_CE has turned into a extremely powerful media player.
    ÂÂ Can play files from 
    ÂÂ SD-HC
    ÂÂ USB
    ÂÂ DVD video & DATA DVD
    ÂÂ SMB Samba
    ÂÂ RADIO
    ÂÂ 
    ÂÂ Easy setup on Windows XP/Vista (Linux users, your require latest SMB instalation etc) 
    ÂÂ just keep trying, windows is more user friendly
    ÂÂ 
    ÂÂ Create a folder on a root of any partition hard drive....
    ÂÂ e.g. 
    ÂÂ C:\Movies
    ÂÂ right click the folder, click share & security, click SHARE ON NETWORK ok & apply!!!
    ÂÂ Once that is done go into smb.conf (fill in the smb.conf like my e.g. below, 
    ÂÂ if you DONT HAVE A PASSWORD, put a 0 like mine...... pass=0
    ÂÂ it should look like this....
    ÂÂ 
    ÂÂ ip=192.168.0.206
    ÂÂ share=Movies
    ÂÂ user=MyNameIsDynamite!
    ÂÂ pass=0
    ÂÂ 
    ÂÂ Radio, if you want to add more Radio streams, they need to end in .pls otherwise they crash MPlayer...
    ÂÂ go in menu.conf and locate the Radio Streams, add yours below or above them in the SAME FORMAT!!!
    ÂÂ 
    ÂÂ DONT DELETE ANY OF THESE FILES, otherwise MPLAYER WILL NOT WORK AS INTENDED!
    ÂÂ 
    ÂÂ MPlayer has had many bugs fixed, it now includes aspect ratio, true dvd speed cache, USB fixes, auto-chain
    ÂÂ (therefore, it can be used as a channel/legal of course!!! BUT still as always requires the mplayer_ce files on SD
    ÂÂ !!!!!!!!!USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!!!!!!
    ÂÂ 
    ÂÂ !!!customisation!!! 
    ÂÂ check my loop.avi I hope you use this one, but you can change it...*Hint Hint*
    ÂÂ 
    ÂÂ !Video/aspect!
    ÂÂ MPlayerCE now has AutoAspect Original...
    ÂÂ If you feel you need to autoboot mplayer to 16/9 or 2:35 then add a line like ratio=1.7778ÂÂto mplayer.conf
    ÂÂ YOU CAN STILL USE IN MENU ASPECT OPTIONS :)
    ÂÂ Also the original loop.avi shows as 4/3 this is due to MPlayer, to have a FULLSCREEN loop.avi
    ÂÂ as i said above type in a line like ratio=1.7778 in mplayer.conf
    ÂÂ this will auto to 16/9 and show loop.avi full screen with no cuts.....abnd menu layout is good aswell.
    ÂÂ 
    ÂÂ From all of us who have helped fix/test this player......Enjoy :) djdynamite123
     
  5. Ericthegreat

    Member Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Vana'diel
    Country:
    United States
    Can this play h264 mkv or can you just use this to stream to the wii over wifi?(whats knew?)
     
  6. YellowYoYos

    Member YellowYoYos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    Wow this is great, thanks for the heads up.
     
  7. D-Jay

    Member D-Jay GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Looks great!

    SMB on Vista (x64) and Server 2008 still not works for me [​IMG]
     
  8. PizzaPino

    Member PizzaPino GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    El Salvador
    i've seen it at tehskeen this morning and was wondering, why dj dynamite didn't post anything... well.
    still can't get smb working on a normal xp xD
     
  9. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Because he was banned sometime ago [​IMG]

    BTW, this crashed monumentally at startup with my USB stick in, but worked fine without it. I guess I should give it another shot later.
     
  10. j.m.g.a

    Member j.m.g.a GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Spain
    Why was he banned?
     
  11. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Dunno, I guess his post rate was a bit too "fast" and considered spam.

    Now let's not hijack this thread anymore [​IMG]
     
  12. PizzaPino

    Member PizzaPino GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    El Salvador
    i don't care as long as he's banned. thanks for the information.

    what surprises me, was that they all were working together on this project and not independently like they did.
    the result is awesome.
     
  13. buby78

    Member buby78 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    getting blazed
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried this and i love it!!!! [​IMG] now i can play my dvd movies not only data dvds!!!! [​IMG] i did not try with the usb in yet. my kids freaken took it!!!! [​IMG] they are 3 and 1 1/2 so i guess i wont find it any time soon!!! [​IMG]
     
  14. Scolor
    OP

    Member Scolor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    Italy
    SMB on XP Sp3 32bit works fine for me.
     
  15. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Mhm...have you guys ever took a look in the Homebrew-Selection? There's the "official" Thread, straight from the devs....
     
  16. buby78

    Member buby78 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    getting blazed
    Country:
    United States
    can this be made to exit to system menu instead of homebrew channel?
     
  17. UranusKiller

    Member UranusKiller TranceMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Redcar, England, UK.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you read the readme? dynamite has said it can be used as a channel he implemented the change for that reason for hopefully legal channels [​IMG]

    also please report to apps section where i posted!

    BUGSYou notice MPlayer crashed if you suddenly insert a USB? well not crash, but it wont let you quit till you remove device..... their is a answer for now.

    INSERT USB, fire up MPlayerCE USB will mount, and should work as normal [​IMG]

    I would prefer, those with "Issues" post on google code page thankyou
     
  18. LightyKD

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,355
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    How do I get this thing to skip the SMB crap during startup... I just want to watch a freakin movie and instead it takes forever and a day to get to the main menu [​IMG]
     
  19. UranusKiller

    Member UranusKiller TranceMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Redcar, England, UK.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Remove the smb.conf if their is one, also it checks for your internet connection, if you don't have one it will take more longer to boot, so that's your problem!
    we will change the timing soon...
     
  20. buby78

    Member buby78 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    getting blazed
    Country:
    United States
    take out the smb.conf from app folder.
     

Share This Page