Morrowind mods

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Isaac, Jan 26, 2013.

Jan 26, 2013

Morrowind mods by Isaac at 5:08 AM (1,043 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    I was reading that there is a way to put morrowind mods on the xbox 360 using a datel xport360. I was wondering if it would be possible to do this with a transfer cable and my hardrive. I have an xbox 360 slim but I can not find a solid tutoirol on how to do it. Also would this require a modchip or similar object?
     
  2. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Morrowind wasn't released for the 360, just the Xbox I thought...? I don't know if mods like that will work that way, but regardless...

    Provided they're savegame hacks or things of the like, you could do it with a transfer cable, or just take the hard drive out of its enclosure and plug it directly into a sata port, and you should then be able to browse and modify the contents with Party Buffalo Drive Explorer

    (Actually directly to a SATA port may not work, I plug mine in through my X360USB Pro v2, which may or may not mount it as a readable disk on its own (meaning Windows may not be able to directly read the partitions) I'm not sure and I CBA to take apart one of my drives right now to check.)
     
  3. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    From what I have read, When you play morrowind the xbox creates a cache for morrowind and you put the files there. I can't find the cache though.
     
  4. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,937
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    This should be moved to the Xbox section.

    And yes you need a hacked Xbox 1 to do this.
     
  5. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It does indeed seem to be possible on a 360. According to this link you need to play the game once so a cache is made and then look in partition0 of the HDD.

    EDIT: There's a video of it being played with mods here: but it doesn't give much help as to how to do it.
     
  6. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,937
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You still need a hardware hacked 360 tho ;]
     
  7. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    According to the video description, you don't. It says all you need is an Xport360. Can't verify this myself, seeing as I lack an Xbox 360, an Xbox copy of Morrowind and an Xport360.
     
  8. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,937
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    To my knowledge, the Xbox emulator does check for signatures.
    The hacked emulator doesn't do that, that's why it's able to boot a few homebrew titles.

    Feel free to prove me wrong.
    But I hardly messed around on the Xbox emulator ;p
     
  9. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As I said, all I'm going on is the description of that video and the forum post I linked to. I'm not going to prove you wrong, nor am I going to even attempt to do so.
     
    Celice likes this.
  10. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,937
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Nah it was just a general saying of feel free to prove me wrong ;]

    I also lack a copy of Morrowind to try it out.
    Otherwise I'd already done it ;p
     
  11. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    Well I found The cache and after alearing the cache and playing the game it contains a copy of the morrowind bsa and sem....
    I don't know how to mod these things though.
     
  12. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,937
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    There must be some tutorial out there on the internet.
     

Share This Page