Moonshell 2 & YSmenu on a AK2i - Working

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by CannonFoddr, Jun 25, 2009.

Jun 25, 2009
  1. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    <b><!--sizeo:4--><span style="font-size:14pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo--><!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->UPDATE: This guide is now 'old hat' a new improved version of this guide can be found <a href="http://gbatemp.net/index.php?act=ST&f=177&t=168077" target="_blank">here</a><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--></b>

    <!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->This method uses '<!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->Moonshell 2 beta 5 version' with the latest Acekard Firmware<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> OR <!--coloro:#2E8B57--><span style="color:#2E8B57"><!--/coloro-->Latest Moonshell2.02 Stable and an older Acekard Firmware<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    The instructions for both are nearly identical, however where there are differences I have shown them in different colours
    <b>If you have any other card</b> - look at <a href="http://gbatemp.net/index.php?act=ST&f=177&t=149734" target="_blank">This thread</a> to see if it's possible on your particular flashcard<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    <!--quoteo--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE</div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->UPDATE: It's been brought to my attention that some people have been having trouble getting Moonshell 2.02+Firmware 4.15 to run with SDHC cards

    - 'codingtom' has <a href="http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=163663&view=findpost&p=2114779" target="_blank">posted this</a> which indicates that when using the <b>Moonshell 2.02 & AK2i v4.15</b> combo, instead use 'AKmenu.nds' from v4.17 to produce the 'akloader.nds' file
    (steps 3-4 under '<u><b>Now to set up YSMenu' section</b></u> below). If you have trouble with SDHC cards following the original method, you could try this to see if it works
    Since I am unable to repeat the fault mentioned I cannot confirm that this actually works<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    <u><b>Installation Instructions</b></u>
    Firstly you need to download the following files:-

    #<b>YSMenu:</b> <a href="http://home.usay.jp/pc/etc/nds/" target="_blank">http://home.usay.jp/pc/etc/nds/</a> - Scroll down until you see 'DS(T_T)DS' & click on the top link in the scroll box
    #<b>linoul's YSloader for MoonShell 2:</b> <a href="http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=5030" target="_blank">http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=5030</a>
    #<b>DLDI windows GUI patcher:</b> <a href="http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/DLDI/downloads/dlditool-win32-gui.zip" target="_blank">http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/DLDI/downl...l-win32-gui.zip</a>

    #<u>If you want to use latest Acekard firmware you will need the following 2 files:</u>
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    #<u>If you want the latest Moonshell (v2.02 Stable) you will need the next 2 files instead</u>
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    <u><b>To set up Moonshell 2</b></u>
    1) Extract Acekard firmware ('<b>akmenu4.nds</b>' and '<b>__AK</b>' folder) onto the root directory of your AK2i
    2) Create a folder on your PC desktop - call it anything perhaps something like '<b>DLDIpatching</b>'
    3) Extract the '<b>DLDItool-win32-gui.zip'</b> files into this new folder
    4) Copy '<b>ak2_sd.dldi</b>' file from the '<b>__AK</b>' folder on flash drive to this same folder

    <u>If you want the latest AK2i firmware then:</u>
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    <u>Otherwise if you want the latest Moonshell version, then:</u>
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    7) Extract the "<b>nds.YSloaderForMS2.nds</b>" and "<b>config.ini</b>" files from linoul's package to the '<b>/moonshl2/extlink </b>' folder on your AK2i.
    8) Delete the file '<b>logbuf.txt</b>' from '<b>/moonshl2/'</b> folder - Don't ask me why. if you don't Moonshell locks up for some reason

    <u><b>Now to set up YSMenu</b></u>
    1) Create a folder called '<b>ysmenu</b>' on your desktop.
    2) Extract the files from the YSMenu archive into the 'ysmenu' folder you just made.
    3) Copy '<b>akmenu4.nds</b>' from the official firmware package (or from the root of your card) into the '<b>ysmenu</b>' folder.
    4) Run "<b>akextract.exe</b>". This will produce "<b>akloader.nds</b>".
    5) Create a '<b>ysmenu</b>' directory at the root of the AK2i.
    6) Move the recently created '<b>akloader.nds</b>' into the 'ysmenu' directory on your card.
    7) Copy '<b>YSMenu.ini'</b> and '<b>YSMenu.nds</b>' to the same 'ysmenu' folder on the flashcard
    8) DLDI patch '<b>YSMenu.nds</b>' on the AK2i using the same Win32GUI tool that you used on Moonshell above

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    <u><b>Nearly there</b></u>
    1) Open '<b>__ak2/globalsetting.ini</b>' on your flashcard
    2) Change '<b>autorunWithLastRom = 0</b>' to '<b>autorunWithLastRom = 1</b>'
    3) Save '<b>globalsetting.ini</b>'
    4) 'Safely remove ' your memory card from your PC, Insert into the Ak2i & put into your DS(i)
    5) The first time you start up the flashcard you need to browse to '<b>Moonshell 2.00 Beta 5.nds</b>' & run it
    6) Hopefully it should start.Now alter your options as you like them & tap [OK]
    7) Now browse to a commercial ROM & Press [A] to start

    Now when you switch off/on your DS(i) - the next time you start the flashcard 'Moonshell' will automatically start up
    IF you want to use Acekard own firmware - on startup press & hold [ B ] will bypass the autoboot

    <u><b>Proof that it works</b></u>
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    <!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->May I ask that if anyone has problem even after following these instruction - when you post your problem, can you also include your hardware/Software combo.
    (mine is 'DSi + AK2i + Moonshell 2.02 + AK firmware 4.15 + YSMenu dated 'YSMenu0903270000'+ 2Gb Sandisk microSD card')
    It may help me determine what may be causing the problem - Thank you<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><b></b>
     


  2. ShigeruTR

    Member ShigeruTR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Turkey
    Country:
    Turkey
    Thanks,CannonFoddr.
    I guess I'll use moonshell2 just for listen music and watch movie.
     
  3. felixsrg

    Member felixsrg 3DS Rulz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Vale Village
    Country:
    Colombia
    Hi I was wondering if there is a way to activate cheats whit this metod, is only because the ones of anti pirassy and thanks
     
  4. Melvinkooi

    Member Melvinkooi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Just press B while loading a rom, you will be in the YSmenu can can select cheats.
     
  5. felixsrg

    Member felixsrg 3DS Rulz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Vale Village
    Country:
    Colombia
    I already tried to do that but didn't work, is there another way? and thanks
     
  6. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I've tried it & it works OK

    Just to check on a couple of things

    Firstly - have you got a cheat file in the first place ?? - If you look under my 'Proof that it works' above - you see I mention that to remove YSMenu error messages you need to copy the USRCHEAT.DAT file into the YSMenu folder

    Secondly - it could be down to WHEN you've press the [ B ] button
    > Use Moonshell to highlight the game & press [ A ]. You then should get 2 white screens
    > Shortly afterwards this changes to White on top/Black on bottom
    > THEN it'll changes to Black on top & White on bottom

    When this last change happens (Black on top & white on bottom) - press AND HOLD the [ B ] button & you should now boot into YSMenu

    You will then need to browse to the game you want to cheat on & if there's a cheat for it in the USRCHEAT database - then on the bottom screen there will be a selection box for 'Cheats' & a button [...]
    - tap the [...] to select the cheats you want and remember to press [Start] to 'save and exit' otherwise to cheats won't work

    Thirdly - When you say 'They don't work' do you actually mean you can get into YSmenu & select the cheats etc - but when the game starts the cheats you've selected are not actually showing up in the game itself. If so - I'm afraid I haven't figured that part out
    - I would suggest that if you want to cheat then you have to use AK2i own firmware to do that
    Just press [ B ] once you started to bootup the flashcard (preferably before AK2i calendar flashes up) to bypass the auto-boot moonshell
     
  7. kaliver

    Newcomer kaliver Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for this! It's working perfectly for me (new firmware, beta 2.5).
     
  8. gettogaara

    Member gettogaara GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    USA-NY
    Country:
    United States
    I'm stuck on this step
    I honestly just don't understand what to do here.
    Edit
    Is this the message I'm supposed to get?
    Old driver: TTCARD IO Library(SDHC)
    New driver: Acekard 2

    Position in file: 0x0005E1C0
    Position in memory: 0x0205DFC0
    Patch base address: 0xBF800000
    Relocation offset: 0x4285DFC0

    Patched successfully
     
  9. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's it (well it looks correct - can't check exactly as I'm currently at work)

    Basically what that is saying is that the existing DLDI 'patch' ( 'TTCARD IO Library (SDHC)' ) has been replaced with the 'Acekard 2' DLDI 'patch'. The rest of the info is just saying where the DLDI code was found in Moonshell & the last line 'Patch successfully' means there was no problems in the replacement

    If you want to know more about DLDI - there's a thread @ http://gbatemp.net/?showtopic=45157 & 'proper' instruction on using the WINGUI32 program can be found @ http://dldi.drunkencoders.com/index.php?title=Win32_GUI
     
  10. gettogaara

    Member gettogaara GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    USA-NY
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the help. I completed it now I'm just having a few problems with the skins. I read this and am now trying to find the skin file
     
  11. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I take it you're talking about Moonshell 'skins' (There's a few Here)

    If so - all you need to do is install the 'skn' file somewhere onto your MicroSD card & using Moonshell browse to where you stored it , Highlight it & press [A] - Moonshell will then load in the new skin
     
  12. gettogaara

    Member gettogaara GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    USA-NY
    Country:
    United States
    what do u mean by install do u mean just put it in a folder cause I did that with the akatuski one and nothing happened. I scrolled down to it clicked it and it made a beep noise and nothing happened. I put it in the Moonshl2 folder.
     
  13. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The short answer is 'yes' - It doesn't matter where you store the 'akatuski.skn' file (I have all mine in a folder called '/skins/')

    Have you tried any other skins ? & do they all do the same thing ?

    If so it MIGHT be that the skins in that thread are not compatible with 'Moonshell 2 Beta 5' and I'm afraid I can't help on that side of things - I've asked the question in the skin thread about compatiblity

    UPDATE I've got a reply to my question & it seems as though there ARE differences between the 'beta 5' skn files & '2.02 stable' skn files.

    So you've now got a couple of options
    i) You could try & use the 'older AK2i firmware with latest Moonshell2' method & use the skins in the thread
    OR
    ii) You could ask the designer of the skins if they could make a 'beta 5' version (or give you the graphics so you could do it yourself)
     
  14. gettogaara

    Member gettogaara GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    USA-NY
    Country:
    United States
    k thanks for all of the help. I think that I would be better off making a new thread asking for skins compatiable with monshell2 beta 5.
     
  15. CodeEight

    Newcomer CodeEight Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, i have a qquick question. how can i make moonshell default language to ENG? Everytime i try to change it it shows blank white screen on top and bottom on my ds
     
  16. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    May be a silly question but HOW are you changing the language at the moment ??

    Are you using the 'Languageselect.exe' file on your PC - or are you using the 'languageselect.nds' file on your DS ??

    I believe the 'nds' version does have trouble 'remembering' settings but I've had no problems using the PC 'languageselect.exe' version

    Just run the program
    Select your drive letter where your SD card is installed
    Select your appropriate language (000 English)
    & you should get a message saying language been changed
     
  17. CodeEight

    Newcomer CodeEight Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks it works now.
     
  18. DOLwm

    Newcomer DOLwm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    S'pore
    Country:
    Singapore
    Tried it once, didn't succeed. I think i missed it somewhere.
    I think i did everything correctly, only that when i select Moonshell.nds, it freezes ( it goes into the YSMenu)


    Oh well, will try it again when i've the time.
     
  19. wakeuplan

    Newcomer wakeuplan Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, I was wondering if I could get some help. I followed this guide completely, and was able to get Moonshell 2.02 working perfectly on my DSi (thanks CF!). I can play videos and change skins without a problem. The only thing I can't do is... load commercial ROMs. For some reason, when I get to the 'error' messages, it asks me if I want to save things, and then I get stuck on the loading screen. I've tried reformatting, moving the rom files, etc., to no avail. Any ideas? Thanks.
     
  20. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you look under the 'Proof that it works' title in first post - those are the only YSMenu Error messages I know of

    The only OTHER thing I can think of - you mention 'asks me if I want to save things' - so I'm guessing you get a grey box up with '[A Yes][B No][X Cancel]' - which do you select ?

    If you chose anything other than [A] I would suggest you back up all your SAV files first - & next time try the [A Yes] option to see if a new SAV file is made & if the game actually runs

    You also say 'stuck on loading screen' - which loading screen ? - YSMenu doesn't have a loading screen as such - just white/black screen flipping
     

Share This Page