MoonShell 2.1 Set up problem

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Brogz42, Feb 8, 2012.

Feb 8, 2012

MoonShell 2.1 Set up problem by Brogz42 at 4:15 AM (1,466 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Brogz42
    OP

    Newcomer Brogz42 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I tried running the setup app in the moonshell download folder and I keep getting this error.
    ????
    "C:\Users\Zac\Desktop\2010087312320_moonshell210childzwai\moonshl2\extlink\TextEdit\?????????????.txt". The filename, directory name, or valume label syntax is incorrect ??????.
    I have tried deleting all the files and downloading it again from filetrip. No luck
    I took off all files from my sd card and reformatted it using SDFormatter. Still no luck
    I renamed the main folder it is in and the text file to be the same name. Yet again no luck.
    Does anyone know what I am doing wrong here? I do not have my acekard yet, I just wanted to get my sd set up for once I get it. Do I have to wait until I have my acekard? Anyone know how I can get the set up to work?
     
  2. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
  3. LeRodeur

    Member LeRodeur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    France
    What is your operating system?
    Did you selected the good drive? Have you tried on another card?
     
  4. Brogz42
    OP

    Newcomer Brogz42 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I downloaded that file and replaced the old setup file with the new and now it will make the files it needs and starts to copy but only gets about half way before popping up with the same error message.

    I'm running windows 7. I picked the right drive but I never tried another card I want to be able to use my 8 gig.
     
  5. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    :/ ...Just copy over the moonshl2 folder and moonshl2.nds to your microSD. If it works but there is no sound, use the alternative loader one.
     
  6. LeRodeur

    Member LeRodeur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    France
    Did you try to give compatibility node a shoot?
     
  7. Brogz42
    OP

    Newcomer Brogz42 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, I'll have to wait till my card gets in to find out if I have sound.
    No, what do I have to do to run that?
     
  8. LeRodeur

    Member LeRodeur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    France
    I actualy meant mode, right click, properties, compatibility, check the box and select win xp
     
  9. Brogz42
    OP

    Newcomer Brogz42 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Should I select XP even though I am running 7?
    My wife took my laptop to milwaukee for my daughters appointments so I'll try this when she gets back either tonight or tomorrow
     
  10. LeRodeur

    Member LeRodeur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    France
    yes, some programs dont work well under seven, so sometimes it helps using compatibility mode
     
  11. Brogz42
    OP

    Newcomer Brogz42 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Where do I find compatibility mode? I searched through all the tabs in the properties? Do I run the Set up in compatibility mode? I ran it as an admin but there was no difference. When I run it it creates a dustbox moonmemo and a voicerec folder but no .nds file anywhere.
     

Share This Page