Monster Hunter 3 English proto-patch

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by DrThunder, Aug 7, 2009.

Aug 7, 2009
  1. DrThunder
    OP

    Newcomer DrThunder Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not even close to being through with it, but while working I figured what I've done so far will probably be enough for most people, or at least be helpful.

    http://mh3eng.wordpress.com/

    Basically: trim your ISO, apply the ppfs in order.

    See site for details. Feel free to leave suggestions.
     


  2. kotri

    Newcomer kotri Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    Thank you for this!! I will try it right away!!! [​IMG] Awesome job man. I don't understand Japanese and i had huge problems playing the demo... Thanks again!!
     
  3. kotri

    Newcomer kotri Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    I am the only interested in playing an english version of Monster Hunter Tri?
    This topic needs a little help!! Also DrThunder needs ideas!!

    I am trimming the iso write now. Hope it works [​IMG]
     
  4. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Did it work? And... I am also interested in playing MH3 in english^^
     
  5. Kingston

    Newcomer Kingston Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    copying over the iso right now. great that someone made this his project i love monster hunter but in japanese it's a bit hard to play [​IMG]


    ehm someone got the same strange error that he can copy the iso over hundred times but it still won't be in the list? very strange but i'll keep on trying
     
  6. TyRaNtM

    Member TyRaNtM I did some projects..

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    Maybe this can be very direct, but.. Can you try to make a patch to make this game playable without having to install other cIOS?
    (Fix the buzz noise before selecting New Game, Continue; and rename the character without problem).
     
  7. kotri

    Newcomer kotri Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    It works I confirm it. Also i have some suggestions.

    You can translate:
    The basic dialogs at the markets etc
    The tutorials when you start the game(in order to be easy to learn the controls and some basic things about the game)

    I loaded from uLoader 2.8D with the new ios 222 from uLoader2.6
    Settings: NTSC, IOS 223
     
  8. kotri

    Newcomer kotri Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    You mean the WBFS list? Which list?
     
  9. Kingston

    Newcomer Kingston Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    yeah sry the wbfs list. i got it working by using wbfs manager 3.0 now i'm playing and testing what i've seen so far it looks like a great help to understanidng the game [​IMG]
     
  10. kotri

    Newcomer kotri Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    Ok then [​IMG] and yes it is thanks to DrThunder [​IMG]
     
  11. Kingston

    Newcomer Kingston Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    sry to be a bit offtopic but can someone tell me where i can find a mining spot to get some iron ore? [​IMG]
     
  12. Keshire

    Member Keshire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    United States
    And here I was working on it myself.
    I guess this is all the stuff in the main.dol then?
    Any plans on messing with the menu graphics that need trans?
     
  13. HaloBenish

    Member HaloBenish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    383
    Country:
    Canada
    ALRIGHT! Finally time to download MH3 and try it out, does it need a Classic Controller or can it be played with WiiRemote + Nunchuk?
     
  14. scsi_rdx

    Newcomer scsi_rdx Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Russia
    Cannot add iso to wbfs partition after trimming+patching [​IMG]
    Progress bar goes 100%, but game does not appear in list in WBFS program, or in uLoader.
     
  15. kotri

    Newcomer kotri Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    WiiRemote and Nunchuk is ok.
    But we should stay as close at the topic as we can
     
  16. GameDragon

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Game works fine with Wiimote and Nunchuk.

    Nice to see a small translation. I'll get to it when I get some free time.
     
  17. Keshire

    Member Keshire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    United States
    And for anyone interested this is what I got when I ran it through google and WWWJDIC.
    The katakana is most likely correct (being literal). The kanji is usually a little goofy here and there.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    And if anyone wants to translate these before I do. I'll see about repacking the brres files.

    <a href="http://img22.imageshack.us/i/charmaketpl4.png/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/6828/charmaketpl4.th.png" border="0" class="linked-image" /></a>
    <a href="http://img23.imageshack.us/i/charmaketpl8.png/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/8199/charmaketpl8.th.png" border="0" class="linked-image" /></a>
    <a href="http://img34.imageshack.us/i/charmaketpl9.png/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img34.imageshack.us/img34/5065/charmaketpl9.th.png" border="0" class="linked-image" /></a>
    <a href="http://img6.imageshack.us/i/charmaketpl12.png/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img6.imageshack.us/img6/4631/charmaketpl12.th.png" border="0" class="linked-image" /></a>
    <a href="http://img22.imageshack.us/i/gallerytpl1.png/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/7646/gallerytpl1.th.png" border="0" class="linked-image" /></a>
    <a href="http://img34.imageshack.us/i/titlemenutpl3.png/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img34.imageshack.us/img34/1227/titlemenutpl3.th.png" border="0" class="linked-image" /></a>
    <a href="http://img23.imageshack.us/i/titlemenutpl6.png/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/7814/titlemenutpl6.th.png" border="0" class="linked-image" /></a>
    <a href="http://img34.imageshack.us/i/titlemenutpl8.png/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img34.imageshack.us/img34/2449/titlemenutpl8.th.png" border="0" class="linked-image" /></a>
    <a href="http://img34.imageshack.us/i/titlemenutpl9.png/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img34.imageshack.us/img34/2148/titlemenutpl9.th.png" border="0" class="linked-image" /></a>
    <a href="http://img12.imageshack.us/i/titlemenutpl10.png/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/6476/titlemenutpl10.th.png" border="0" class="linked-image" /></a>
     
  18. scsi_rdx

    Newcomer scsi_rdx Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Russia
    And when i tried to use console version of wbfs, i got error after 100% progress:
    Scsi:Resources scsi$ ./wbfs -p /dev/disk1s1 add /Volumes/temp/MH3/cvn-mh3\(compress\)\(trim\).iso
    adding RMHJ08 MONSTER HUNTER 3...
    error reading disc: Undefined error: 0

    But non trimmed version of Monster Hunter 3 added successfully.
     
  19. HaloBenish

    Member HaloBenish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    383
    Country:
    Canada
    Nice little translation, but it only seems to translate a few item names so far and that's it. Still too much japenese for me, but by release 4 there should be enough english to please me. [​IMG]
     
  20. DrThunder
    OP

    Newcomer DrThunder Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    The only text in main.dol (that actually has any effect) is the system messages at boot.

    I don't know anything about WBFS-related stuff. I just got a thumb drive for MH3 and use the command line wbfs_win, which works fine for me.

    I don't think I'll be translating any graphics. Besides the extra effort, it's a big point of mine to leave in a certain amount of pain-in-the-assness. I want the patch to free you of looking at a guide every few seconds, but still be Japanese enough to make you want to buy the game. The status of Monster Hunter in the US (and MH3's online servers) depends on how well MH3 does.

    For anyone who only gets a few items and nothing quest-related translated, give me details. Did you check the filesize before patching? OS, patching tool, game launching method? There have apparently been several people who it's worked fine now by now, so I don't believe it's an issue with the patch.
     

Share This Page