Modding a DS phat to be a GBA

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Sc4rFac3d, Dec 12, 2010.

Dec 12, 2010

Modding a DS phat to be a GBA by Sc4rFac3d at 6:14 PM (1,537 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Sc4rFac3d
    OP

    Member Sc4rFac3d GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,629
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Alright GBAtemp, here is the backstory. I found my old DS phat the other day and decided to open it up and poke around in there. Was quite fun. Anyway, when it got back together I noticed the DS slot had a bend pin and couldn't read DS cartridges anymore but GBA worked fine. So I got to think if I could use it as a nice GBA along with the Micro as of course it still has the best games out of every handheld! The top is a bit bothersome and makes the thing too heavy for a dedicated GBA so I was thinking if I could remove it. After all the original DS still has the best D-pad so I could get some great mileage out of the thing.

    Anyway, can it be done? If I remove the ribbon that connects the top screen (and speakers for that matter) the DS won't start up. Is there a way to trick the thing into thinking the top is still there? Even if it can be done I might have to remod the speakers somewhere or use headphones but I don't have any problems with that. I figure other Tempers might be interested in this as well since of course everyone got the DS when it first came out and few are still using it.

    So anyone interested in tackling this with me?
     
  2. Bertuga

    Newcomer Bertuga Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hmm... I don't think it's possible... i was changing a DS phat housing, and i noticed that when the upper screen is not properly attached by the flat cable, the system won't turn on at all. It just light the green led, the lower screen flashs, and it turn off again. So I think thats not possible. I hope I could be of some help.

    And sorry for my poor english, I'm just a brazilian gamer xD
     
  3. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    It certainly seems like an interesting idea, however it sounds alot more difficult that its worth.
    It sounds like my might just be easier to replace the Slot 1 and fix it. Either that or make it work with ds light screens. that would be cool.
     
  4. TheViolentOne

    Member TheViolentOne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Location:
    hyrule
    Country:
    Turkey
    by the way...why don't you just buy a gba? its cheap you know :S [​IMG]
     
  5. shlong

    Member shlong in memoriam of gravitas

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,301
    Location:
    Charlotte's maze
    Country:
    Italy
    Pretty awesome idea.
    What about putting a DS screen in a GBA? [​IMG]
    EDIT: Nevermind, Veho has ruined my dreams of that [​IMG]
     
  6. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,456
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Agreed. Although it would look kinda cool, like the original GBA, I think it would be simpler and easier to buy a replacement card slot ($2 on Dealextreme) and fix it.

    But on the other hand, don't listen to us old farts. You do what you want to do. It's a great idea. I wish I could help you, but I don't know, I've never modded a DS before (I replaced the top screen once), so all I can do is wish you luck with your project. And post pictures when you're done [​IMG]
     
  7. Sc4rFac3d
    OP

    Member Sc4rFac3d GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,629
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Already got a wonderful Micro! This is just a project for fun [​IMG]
     

Share This Page