metroid other m

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by muffin, Oct 19, 2010.

Oct 19, 2010

metroid other m by muffin at 2:03 PM (1,934 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi i have got a retail copy of the above game which fine with wiiflow and usb hard drive but playing it from disc is another issue no matter what i have tried it just wont load up , i am useing verbatim dvd+r and the wii is 4.2e
    cios 222 v4 hermes
    mmm
    cios x rev 20b
    darkcorp 1.1
    pimp my wii
    prilloader
    softchip r100
    wad manager v1.7
    wiiflow v2.0
    homebrew 1.0.8 ios61 v22.29
    neogamma r9 beta 44. cios70 rev 20 slot 249

    i have also tried to take the update partation out of the game which made no difference , burned with imageburn with layer break of 2084960 still no luck , but no luck get error 1208
    thanks
     
  2. Nintendo_Chick

    Member Nintendo_Chick GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Country:
    United States
    I don't understand, are you trying to play a retail disc or a backup?
     
  3. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,532
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    why are is there a layer break ?
     
  4. ollepoll

    Member ollepoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    germany
    Country:
    Germany
    he wants to play a backup


    @topic: do you use the right layer break and is your drive able to read burned discs?

    you said you use a verbatim dvd+r, do you have the book type set to dvd rom
     
  5. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thankyou for your replys i have got a retail version of metroid the other m which i have made a copy of , i have searched around the net and understand that some people have had problems with this game but othwers have got the copy to work the layer break i used was 2084960 and i have never had any trouble with any other game apart from metroid trilogy in which i have now managed to get it to work but metroid the other m seems to be causeing problems , i have got 3 wii consols 2 are chipped and 1 is not the consol i am trying this game on is a chipped wii so i am a bit confused why it is not working and yet all 500 of my game are working i have even taken the update partation out of the game which made no difference i seem to get a error of 1208 thanks again for your replys
     
  6. ollepoll

    Member ollepoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    germany
    Country:
    Germany

    I am not sure but your modchip maybe need a firmware update to play it?
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I also think either the drive is not able to read backups or the booktype was not set to DVD-R. I think over 90% of DL media is + media...

    Also, install cIOS56rev20, using IOS70 as base doesn't make sense when playing games with it. With cIOS56rev20, take any disc out of the drive and let NeoGamma boot "the disc". If it only shows a read error and nothing else, it's a problem with the disc, so either the booktype is wrong or a bad burn. A wrong layer break should only cause problems when reading from the 2nd layer.
     
  8. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thankyou for your replys if the drive is unable to read backups then how come all my other games work fine even metroid trilogy , i am useing dvd+r and not dvd-r discs , are you adviceing me to install cIOS56rev20, using IOS70, and how do you let neogamma boot the disc , with booktype i have allways burnt games the same way and had no problems up untill now .. thanks
     
  9. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    You select boot disc. It can't work, but it's a simple way to trigger a read error. And on read error, NeoGamma checks if the drive is able to read DVD-Rs or not.

    I guess all your SL discs are DVD-Rs? When using DVD+Rs, you need to set the booktype to DVD-R(dvd-rom), or your Wii won't be able to read them.
     
  10. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Is your Wii reading any dual layer discs? If not start by cleaning your laser.
    I have never changed the booktype on any DVD+R DL discs I have MPT SSBB and MPOM and all work just fine
     
  11. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thankyou for your replys my wii can read dual layer discs , apart from 1 disc all my others are dvd-r and not dvd+r , how do you set the booktype to DVD-R(dvd-rom)in imageburn? thankyou

    this is weird what i have done is to put the new wii on which is 4.3e chipped it asked for a update to play the game , and what i have done is to burn 2 seperate discs 1 is a - disc and the other is a + disc , now when i put the - disc in it will load and then it will say it cannot read the disc so i put in the + disc without restarting the wii and then it carried on loading the game up and untill it said to put no 1 to start the game and then all i got was a black screen , i have now updated what it asked for and burned another dvd+r at x 4 with imageburn and it seems to work fine now well i have got through the intro and at the moment i am tring to climb a wall but why it does not seem to work on 4.2e chipped only on 4.3 chipped i dont know thanks
     
  12. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,532
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    I went on a long spiel on how to change the book type , and then closed IE by accident (fuck ) anyway your problem maybe be with the layer break .... try this

    LayerBreak=1913760
    xxx.iso


    where xxx is the name of the game your burning
     
  13. stephanejob

    Newcomer stephanejob Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi Guys,
    New to this Blog thing….so bare with me,
    I usually use raw dump to make my back up images (ISO)
    But Metroid Other M being a dual layer DVD it gives me an error message
    What should I use to create the back up ISO image?
    And than you guys seem to be talking about using Image burn to burn the back up copy right! Creating a note pad ISO file with the layer break and the name of the file on It.?
     

Share This Page