1. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    407
    Country:
    Germany
    yes. For the libretro core you need to enable it in the settings.
     
    KiiWii likes this.
  2. sorabora

    sorabora GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United States
    In terms of in-game performance, would using the melonDS app (i.e., the latest builds discussed here in the past few weeks) be preferable to the core in Retroarch? Or is there parity (or even better performance in RA)?

    Thanks!
     
    mathew77 likes this.
  3. notimp

    notimp Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,537
    Country:
    Laos
    I'll separate my issue.

    I personally am talking about the libretro core version.

    I personally (Might be an oversight? But I looked). Havent found a way to rotate screens by 90° so I could using them with a flipgrip (like I am used to with the standalone build).
    (= Please put this on a to do list somewhere near the end/back)

    I also havent found an option on the libretro version to assign a special action key (f.e. R3) to swap top screen only to bottom screen only via one buttonpress, instantly (unrelated).
    -

    (Issue on how the controls are inverted I dont understand as well (controllers dont check for tablet orientation).)
     
    Last edited by notimp, Mar 22, 2020 at 9:58 PM
  4. lusal

    lusal Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Just to clarify some more...Puzzle League is the only game that's doing it. Other games are all fine.

    I'll try a different version.

    To be fair, this is most likely user error on my part. I'm not pointing a finger anywhere else.

    Thanks again for this awesome bit of software. It's great!
     
  5. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    407
    Country:
    Germany
    yeah that's an issue with the libretro frontend. I haven't been much involved with it, though we're currently busy renovating the front end of the pc standalone melonDS and eventually those features will be unified across frontends.

    I heared that request already a few times, it's quite easy to implement. Though a lot of it's use cases are probably covered already by the automatic emphasis setting (which I already ported over from the pc frontend, though it's not yet included in the last release)

    No that's not your fault, though you could have saved us from a lot of confusion if you mentioned it was about playing a game where the DS is hold side ways from the start. When you play a game where you hold the DS in regular position, but you rotate the screen to use a flip grip you don't want to rotate the controls, as you would rotate the controllers with the screen so everything is normal again. I haven't really thought of the other case.
    There's a pull request by Adubbz which adds the ability to rotate controls(https://github.com/RSDuck/melonDS/pull/1) which I haven't merged for some reason, though now as thinks have cleared up I have a better idea than the way it's implemented there.
     
    Last edited by catlover007, Mar 23, 2020 at 3:35 PM
    Zukov, ShadowOne333 and notimp like this.
  6. chainswordcs

    chainswordcs Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, I've been following this emulator for a while. The OpenGL renderer isn't working properly in the libretro build for me, it produces corrupted graphics.
     
  7. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,991
    Country:
    Mexico
    Consider OpenGL renderer unsupported for now.
     
  8. aarti

    aarti Killua Zoldyck
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    497
    Country:
    Germany
    while playing pokemon platinum I realized that the bottom screen is lagging sometimes. I didn't pay attention as only choosing moves was no problem. But now I started to play pokemon mystery dungeon, and the bottom screen is still lagging. Here it is a problem as the bottom screen is where you play. The performance window doesn't show any delays, but the bottom screen remains lagging.
     
    Last edited by aarti, Mar 25, 2020 at 9:39 PM
  9. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    407
    Country:
    Germany
    interesting, this isn't the first time someone reports this issue and I until now I was unable to reproduce.

    Can you give me some more information? Do you use standalone or retroarch? If you're using retroarch, can you try making a save state send it to me and look if the issue persists after loading it? Do you know of any particular way to trigger it?
     
  10. aarti

    aarti Killua Zoldyck
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    497
    Country:
    Germany
    I am using the standalone version. I don't know if there is any way to trigger it, it seems to happen random. When it happens in mystery dungeon, I can fix it by saving and going to the home screen until it starts again.

    Edit: I always used the melonDS nsp, now I played with booting melonDS from the hbl and the problem did not appear once. So maybe the forwarder is causing the laggs
     
    Last edited by aarti, Mar 25, 2020 at 11:18 PM
  11. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    407
    Country:
    Germany
    thanks for the info, that really saved me from a lot of headaches and the uncertainty of such a bug.

    I asked m4xw and he confirmed that nsp forwarders can be responsible for such strange bugs. This is the reason why Atmosphere title replacement is the only supported method of launching melonDS.
     
    Zukov and aarti like this.
  12. Turkeychopio

    Turkeychopio Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does switch touchscreen work on this? Really wanted to play pokemon ranger
     
  13. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    407
    Country:
    Germany
    you're likely using the libretro version, where you have to enable it under the setting called "Touch Mode" or something like that.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - melonDS, Switch,