Making an intro for my hack!!

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by SKJmin, Oct 27, 2010.

Oct 27, 2010

Making an intro for my hack!! by SKJmin at 3:15 PM (5,488 Views / 0 Likes) 43 replies

  1. SKJmin
    OP

    Member SKJmin Alpha And Omega

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    Turkey
    Hello everyone [​IMG]
    I think almost everyone here on GBAtemp knows me already...

    I'm the guy who makes the "New Super Mario Bros. 3 Hack"!
    http://gbatemp.net/t226778-new-super-mario-bros-3-hack

    I'm finished with my work "so far" and need the very last step to complete the hack!!
    An intro! It must not be animated or something else, I only want to put a text inside!

    The intro should appear before the Nintendo logo!
    For the upper and lower screen of the DS!

    I'm sure, thousands of members here are waiting for my final patch, so it would be cool to help me out fast [​IMG]
    I'm not a coder nor haved coed anything in my life (just some C++ but thats useless here)

    So, if you can help me, then write it so that every noob understand it [​IMG]


    *Sorry for the bad english, but it should be enough to understand my request, shouldn't it!?



    Thanks in advance!!
    SKJmin
     


  2. Poryhack

    Member Poryhack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    You can put in static image intros with crystaltile2. If I were at my comp right now I'd give you a better idea how but I'm not... If you want to just give me a top and bottom image I could do it in a matter of minutes.
     
  3. SKJmin
    OP

    Member SKJmin Alpha And Omega

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    Turkey
    I've downloaded the tool but it looks very complicated, and I dont wanna destroy my gamde, even when it's a copy [​IMG]
    I really need a tutorial for doing that [​IMG]

    When are you at your own computer?
    Could you reply me on MSN?
    If yes send me a PM please [​IMG]

    Thanks
     
  4. Poryhack

    Member Poryhack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    OK here's the process: Open your ROM with CrystalTile2, got to Tools > NDS Filesystem. Then in the new window that pops up Edit > NDS AutoLoad Modulus Editor. Now click the button labeled "Intro..." and another window will pop up, just click OK and you'll be taken to where all the magic happens. This window will let you choose images for each screen and specify a wait time. After you've browsed to the images click add and then insert.
     
  5. SKJmin
    OP

    Member SKJmin Alpha And Omega

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    Turkey
    Damn I'm getting an error....
    When I do the steps you have counted it shows me an error... "Get interface failed"

    Screenshot:
    [​IMG]


    The problem is I have builded the version on my own, downloaded the files on GBAtemp somewehere and after opening it, it reported me a lof of missing DLL's...

    I had to search and build them in manually from different sites...
    Do you know the solution of the error above?
    There are some red Zeros "0" in the boxes, maybe changing them to soemthing, but to what [​IMG]


    (Could you send me your working Crystal Tile Folder?[​IMG])


    Edit:
    Thanks so much for your hrelp my dear friend!
     
  6. Poryhack

    Member Poryhack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
  7. SKJmin
    OP

    Member SKJmin Alpha And Omega

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    Turkey
    Polyhack and me couldn'T solve the problem, does someone know another way to get an intro in my hack?
     
  8. SKJmin
    OP

    Member SKJmin Alpha And Omega

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    Turkey
    Pushing... I need some help [​IMG]
    Is here noone who can solve this "puzzle" [​IMG]

    Need just a damn non-animated pic before the game starts....
     
  9. SunBey

    Newcomer SunBey Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Germany
    Hello SKJmin,

    im not sure if it is helpfull but you wrote that you don't have any experience
    in programing.
    So here is something i found maybe that helps a little bit (maybe in HEX-Editing).


    http://board.romresources.net/board6-romha...m-starterguide/

    i'am still looking around for some other helpful thinks so you can finish your amazing "Hack" [​IMG]
    so i can play it allong the original......

    P.S. sorry to the Admins that i wrote in German first!!! "Reading the Rules first is IMPORTANT" so a double sorry [​IMG]

    Greetings SunBey
     
  10. Paarish

    Member Paarish Connor's Nublet

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,719
    Location:
    Married to DinohScene
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sie haben Englisch zu sprechen bitte
    (You have to speak english on this forum, its a rule)

    oh btw I'm really excited about your patch. Good luck with whatever of it remains
     
  11. SKJmin
    OP

    Member SKJmin Alpha And Omega

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    Turkey
    @SunBey
    Sorry but there is nothing about making an intro, it explains some other stuff but not the correct info I need! But thanks for your help^^

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  12. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    you need to find that missing info by viewing the nds file system then nef symbol file - then generate the missing symbols GX_init and Fs_readfile(or what ever it is), look through that list and find the missing item write it down somewhere (offset specific)- then you can do the intro thing but it looks like you already have...
     
  13. SKJmin
    OP

    Member SKJmin Alpha And Omega

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    Turkey
    I'm feeling like a total idiot now [​IMG]
    Tried but coudln't find some of your called steps...

    Trying more, maybe I'll get that damn intro someday...
     
  14. Poryhack

    Member Poryhack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    I see the menu you're talking about but this generation I'm stuck on. GX_Init is not on the list coming out of an unmodified ROM (however there is a GX_InitEx) and I don't quite understand how to go about adding it. Generate gives me a an NEF and a TXT file but I'm not seeing how they help.
     
  15. SKJmin
    OP

    Member SKJmin Alpha And Omega

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    Turkey
    Pushing this thread...sorry [​IMG]
     
  16. 727

    Member 727 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    United States
    well yeah someone should help you. people love to take but don't like to give.
     
  17. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, I've tried it three times. It has to do with the rom you edited it from. I need to get my own dump of smb3 and see if I can find the symbols that way. I know I said I would try, and I did. Give me some more time.

    The editor itself maybe to blame too...
    eh gotta go to work, will try again on this tommorow. sorry for not getting this to you too quick.
     
  18. GameChamp98

    Newcomer GameChamp98 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    C:\Programs\Opera\opera.exe
    Country:
    Germany
    I tried it too... You must write the right Offsets, that is the only thing what you must do... Then you can change the images. Now we only have to find them out [​IMG]
     
  19. SKJmin
    OP

    Member SKJmin Alpha And Omega

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    Turkey
    Yeah, but what are the correct offsets...
    I think this is a long far way to get it o work...

    Maybe asking this question on more boards, but I don't knowother board [​IMG]
    Shame...
     
  20. shitaki

    Newcomer shitaki Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    I hope someone can help with SKJmin intro problem soon [​IMG]
     

Share This Page