ROM Hack Majora's Mask Save Data?

David Lepkowsky

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
29
Trophies
0
XP
102
Country
United States
I can't find the save data for Majora's Mask cia with savedatafiler, does anyone know where it is or how to find it so I can hex edit it?
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
1
XP
5,036
Country
Antarctica
What do you mean you "can't find it"? Anyhow, if you're using the EUR version, the game's unique ID (on the User tab) is 01256. Just be advised that Majora's Mask 3D's save (one slot is like 78KBytes) is a heck of a lot bigger than Ocarina of Time's (5.4KBytes), so it might take you a lot longer to figure out where things are. If you get basic hex edited saves working, please do share your findings. I'm still playing the game, so I won't be messing with editors or cheats until I'm finished.
 

Lord M

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
1,075
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
492
Country
Italy
both zelda game, ALBW and ocarina 3D, have checksum, so mighty possible that this game too have one... anyway David, you have installed game for use savedatafiler? Because i think MM is Card1 game...
 

lemanuel

Maxconsole's All-Knowing Lurker
Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
2,095
Trophies
0
XP
1,234
Country
Portugal
both zelda game, ALBW and ocarina 3D, have checksum, so mighty possible that this game too have one... anyway David, you have installed game for use savedatafiler? Because i think MM is Card1 game...

MM is indeed a Card 1 game but that doesn't mean you can't use SDF tho
 

Lord M

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
1,075
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
492
Country
Italy
If you use a tutorial to export/import card1 save between 3ds & cia, you need both version of game anyway...
ANd i think that have checksum, like other zelda game for 3ds
 

Apache Thunder

I have cameras in your head!
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,294
Trophies
2
Age
35
Location
Levelland, Texas
Website
www.mariopc.co.nr
XP
6,159
Country
United States
If you exported a save from the 3DS version of the game. You don't need to find where the CIA save is. Just tell SaveDataFiler to import the save to SD card. Assuming the unique IDs are the same (which they should be), SaveDataFiler will find it for you when it imports the save to the CIA version of the game.
 

David Lepkowsky

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
29
Trophies
0
XP
102
Country
United States
I have the CIA version of the EUR game, I can't see the save file to export to SD card in savedatafiler, what is the id of the CIA save so I can get the extdata, and if it is a card1 game does that make a difference with savedatafiler?
 

lemanuel

Maxconsole's All-Knowing Lurker
Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
2,095
Trophies
0
XP
1,234
Country
Portugal
I have the CIA version of the EUR game, I can't see the save file to export to SD card in savedatafiler, what is the id of the CIA save so I can get the extdata, and if it is a card1 game does that make a difference with savedatafiler?

In terms of CIA no. In terms of rom, it does since the process you need to do is different with SDF.

Here's the titleID of both versions of MM:

EUR - 0004000000125600
USA - 0004000000125500
 
  • Like
Reactions: MattKimura

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
1
XP
5,036
Country
Antarctica
No, CIA games typically store their saves under the User tab. As stated before, the Euro version is 01256. The only exception thus far to this rule is Fantasy Life, which stores its save under Ext.
 

David Lepkowsky

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
29
Trophies
0
XP
102
Country
United States
Ok, so I found the save file and was able to find the hex values for hearts, but the save is corrupted when I try to use it. I read on another forum for OOT3D that something with the checksum needs to be done, does anyone know about that with MM?
 

Sheimi

A cute Vixen!
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
2,167
Trophies
1
XP
2,298
Country
United States
Bottle Adventure may help you with values. As I have a hell of a time to bottle dupe, please explain how to bottle dupe in MM3D.
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,610
Trophies
1
XP
7,750
Country
Tuvalu
since we don't have codes yet (although gw say they are working on it) - i will be happy if we can edit the save to set the link to wearing his 'fierce deity' mask, so we can play with it outside of boss rooms :) as long as there are no specific checks for that when the game is running it should be ok i guess
 

Lord M

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
1,075
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
492
Country
Italy
since we don't have codes yet (although gw say they are working on it) - i will be happy if we can edit the save to set the link to wearing his 'fierce deity' mask, so we can play with it outside of boss rooms :) as long as there are no specific checks for that when the game is running it should be ok i guess
Also if now works only on 4.5, the cheats now is possible, but almost no one work on, or dont want to share his work/codes...
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,610
Trophies
1
XP
7,750
Country
Tuvalu
Also if now works only on 4.5, the cheats now is possible, but almost no one work on, or dont want to share his work/codes...

well yes, those cheats that work with that modded cfw thing, i don't have hopes for anyone spending the time making cheats for that.
gw said they would give us cheats, and i think dstwo+ said it too (i hope they use the same cheat format... i doubt it)
 

Lord M

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
1,075
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
492
Country
Italy
well yes, those cheats that work with that modded cfw thing, i don't have hopes for anyone spending the time making cheats for that.
gw said they would give us cheats, and i think dstwo+ said it too (i hope they use the same cheat format... i doubt it)
ioritree have so many cool cheat plugin for games, but for unknown reason he dont want to share :/
I tried many times to find codes, but without luck (ocarina of time dont connect and mario 3d land freeze every second...)
I think if someone with hacking skills want to try to midfy exefs of a game, if i give him the address, for example, of money, and apply directly to game (game without multiplayer, indeed :) ), like happen to modified eboot.bin in ps3 games ^^
 

naz2x

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
138
Trophies
0
XP
1,164
Country
Can anyone share their zelda mm game save for gateway mine got corrupted.
I don't mind if its completed.

thanks
 

Sheimi

A cute Vixen!
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
2,167
Trophies
1
XP
2,298
Country
United States
since we don't have codes yet (although gw say they are working on it) - i will be happy if we can edit the save to set the link to wearing his 'fierce deity' mask, so we can play with it outside of boss rooms :) as long as there are no specific checks for that when the game is running it should be ok i guess
Bottle Dupe over Kafei's or Breeman's Mask. Then get the Spring Water, exit and you're Fierce Deity.
 
  • Like
Reactions: cearp

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,442
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,445
Country
Brazil
Quick question on the subject:
If I start playing the EUR version and when the USA version comes out I decide to switch, will I be able to extract the save and then inject it in the USA, life we're able to do with Fantasy Life?

Thanks!
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: The colonel takes pride in his cocks