Madworld and update

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by wiiguy, Mar 30, 2009.

Mar 30, 2009

Madworld and update by wiiguy at 5:05 AM (2,411 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. wiiguy
    OP

    Member wiiguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United States
    I am going to get madworld, but have HBC. If I update from the disc (I understand it has a forced update), will I lose HBC? I also have installed .wads in the past.
    Please let me know.
     
  2. CheatingSoi

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    What FW Version are you currently running? 3.2?
     
  3. wiiguy
    OP

    Member wiiguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United States
  4. CheatingSoi

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    You wont loose the HBC but you will loose alot of features. I am unfamiliar with 3.3 so I don't know what kind of hacks work on there. If they do, you can just use preloader to stop the game from asking for an update. Otherwise you can just update your wii with Waninkoko's 4.0 updater and retain most features.
     
  5. CreX

    Member CreX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    MadWorld has update 3.1 so you are fine to update! No problems at all to update from MadWorld disc.
     
  6. wiiguy
    OP

    Member wiiguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United States
    Wasn't 3.1 Firmware from a couple years ago?
     
  7. phyl0x

    Newcomer phyl0x Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    i had a 3.2U Wii and updated with the madworld disc and nothing changed, trucha games still worked, hbc still worked, etc, i have since updated to 4.0 using waninkoko's loader and everythings working with that. so it seems like the madworld update did nothing to harm my wii.
     
  8. NintenCraig

    Newcomer NintenCraig Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Australia
    mine is 3.3e wii and updated with mad world, seems ok for me, homebrew channel works, backup loader works, so I think nothing changed
     
  9. CreX

    Member CreX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    That is correct. But games rarely have System Menu updates with them.

    The ONLY game I've encountered that has a newer Wii System Menu update than 3.1 is Distaster Day of Crisis which has 3.3!

    Thou games like CoD WaW, Overkill and MadWorld has some IOS updates with them but they are often 100% safe to install. [​IMG]
     
  10. Smartpal

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    I had the exact same question, looks like I'm good to go as I have 3.2E [​IMG]
     
  11. wiiguy
    OP

    Member wiiguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United States
    I have 3.3U, I should be OK w/ the madworld update? I want to be sure I still can install .wads...
     
  12. CreX

    Member CreX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yes, it should be OK.
    I've done those updates. And I can install WADs and everything else is running fine for me.
     
  13. gblock247

    Member gblock247 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    462
    Country:
    United States
    Just making sure cause I'm gonna buy Madworld in a couple days. I've upgraded to 4.0 using waninkoko's installer. I'm not concerned about playing Wii Backups(although I've been toying with the idea of GC backups). Just wanting to reconfirm that I won't lose .wad install/play capabilities if I let Madworld update.

    Thanks [​IMG]
     

Share This Page