1. bombob

    bombob Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    Gotta go test my pins too

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
     
  2. Ttm3

    OP Ttm3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    Constant
     
  3. Pintglass

    Pintglass GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you testing these with some form of magnification?
    Have you changed the usb-c port at some point, what resistance to ground have you got on the vbus pins at the port.
     
  4. Ttm3

    OP Ttm3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    I did change the USB port. No continuity to ground on vbus.
     
  5. Pintglass

    Pintglass GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What about continuity to any of the other pins, check you've not got continuity between vbus and the cc lines.
     
  6. Ttm3

    OP Ttm3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    No continuity
     
  7. Ttm3

    OP Ttm3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so I swapped out the bq and the m92 again. Now with the oe Nintendo charger I get 15v at pin 1 of the bq chip. All voltages seem normal but it still reads 0 amps flowing.
     
    Last edited by Ttm3, May 24, 2020
  8. Pintglass

    Pintglass GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What voltage have you got on the battery without charger connected.
    And what voltage have you got on pin 15 and 22 of bq24193 with the nintendo charger plugged in.
     
  9. Ttm3

    OP Ttm3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    Let me start by saying I really appreciate your help on this.
    I changed the bq chip one more time with a brand new one and I dropped some fresh solder on the pads while I was at it. That got me amperage. .41 and nothing on screen.... All that effort and I think the processor is bad . Unless someone has found a cure for that I'm afraid this board is going to the graveyard.
    Thanks again for all your effort
     
  10. Pintglass

    Pintglass GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok but it should still charge even if the soc has a short
     
  11. Ttm3

    OP Ttm3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    It does charge at .41 amps
     
  12. seidolino

    seidolino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Austria
    hello @Ttm3

    yes, as far as I know the board/CPU is bad when it doesn't change from 0,41 amps to more (). but you can read this conversation, maybe this one helps (https://www.tronicsfixforum.com/t/0-41a-no-screen-possible-fix/223). I wasn't able to fix this problem too.

    But I've got a question because I saw your post. I've got a mainboard where I get 4,5V on pin nr. 5 of the M92T36 and 0V on pin nr. 6. I already replace the T36 I guess four times, nothing changed. Then I replace the BQ24193 and the P13USB, nothing changed. Then I replace the IC which you guys mentioned here next to the audio IC but still no volts on pin nr. 6 of the M92T36. Do you haven an idea what else can cause this issue?

    thanks!
     
  13. Ttm3

    OP Ttm3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/two-dead-mainboards-same-symptoms.558012/

    @SheriffBuck is doing some great diag.
     
  14. seidolino

    seidolino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Austria
    thanks for the link to the thread, it will help me a lot with my other dead boards, but it doesn't answer my question regarding pin 6 of the m92t36. do you have any idea why I don't get any volts on this pin?
     
  15. Ttm3

    OP Ttm3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have any shorts? Check the cap just above the p13usb
     
  16. seidolino

    seidolino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Austria
    I checked the whole board for shorts, but I wasn't able to find any... :-( all the caps near the most common ic's are ok.
     
  17. seidolino

    seidolino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Austria
    I found the issue which was causing 0V on PIN 6 of the M92T36!! :-D it was caused by two missing caps next to the power flex cable and cartridge/touch connectors! I took these two from a different board and installed them on my damaged one. Voilà got 3,5V on PIN 6 of the M92T36. HTH
     

    Attached Files:

    FXDX and Ttm3 like this.
  18. mixelpixx

    mixelpixx hardware monkey
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    datasheet
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Ttm3

    OP Ttm3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    Nice work. Always a great feeling
     
    seidolino likes this.
  20. Theorem

    Theorem Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Congrats.Seems to be resistors according to color
     
    seidolino likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - M92t36,