m3i zero + sakura doesnt support standby?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by drag0nzord, Mar 31, 2010.

Mar 31, 2010
  1. drag0nzord
    OP

    Newcomer drag0nzord Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Belvidere, IL
    Country:
    United States
    just been noticing that my dsi xl is shutting down instead of going into standby when i shut it while in game. also tested on my standard DSI with the same results. my r4i sdhc goes into standby correctly, am i just not configuring the m3 the right way?

    EDIT: actually i was wrong, while the DSI xl will not go into standby the DSI will
     
  2. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    thats an issue that happens because of the sd card
    Micro sd cards need 3.3V and the dsi supplies only 2.7V and when you use sleep mode if there is no sufficien power the DSi will turn off
     
  3. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    that's not normal behaviour for the m3i0
    just tested with my m3i0+sakura+wine-redXL, goes to standby normally in games, and turns of screen in m3sakura menu(most likely laziness regarding possible mp3 playing support)
     
  4. drag0nzord
    OP

    Newcomer drag0nzord Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Belvidere, IL
    Country:
    United States

    well i have an 8gig and 2 gig sandisk micro SD cards

    they both sleep in my DSI in both the m3i zero and r4i sdhc

    but in my XL neither SD cards sleep in the m3i zero while they both work in my r4i sdhc.

    so this seems like a problem with my m3 + DSI XL specifically, not my SD cards.


    i bought the m3i for my DSI XL but it seems that for the mean time i gona be using my r4i until i figure out my issue.
     
  5. IAmTheRad

    Member IAmTheRad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm using my M3i with my DS Lite, and it goes into standby mode just fine.
     
  6. drag0nzord
    OP

    Newcomer drag0nzord Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Belvidere, IL
    Country:
    United States
    ok i just took out both cards and formatted them with the panasonic SD tool

    with the 2 gig in the m3i and the 8gig in the r4i they both sleep in my DSI XL and DSI.

    im gona swap the SD cards with the carts without reformatting and see if the 8 gig in the m3i will sleep now (which is my goal)

    EDIT:

    ok i am still not getting the m3i zero + 8gb in the DSI XL to work.

    its an issue with the DSI XL and the m3i zero
     
  7. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    Because the 8gb card and the m3i0 needs more power than the dsi XL can give
     
  8. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i'm not so sure about that.
    i just checked, i have exactly the same hardware and no problems with standby.
    (8GB sandisk, DSiXL, m3i0 with m3sakura)
     
  9. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    normally its the class
    Class 2 need less power than class 4 and so on
     
  10. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I think it has more to do with the connection strength. If you haven't noticed if you take a game out while playing it the DSi will just shut off. So maybe the M3i Zero is losing connection with the microsd briefly and has no more info to give the DSi and the DSi thinks it was disconnected?

    Just a theory, but yah, it's been tested (in multiple different threads) and getting a new microsd fixed the problem.
     
  11. drag0nzord
    OP

    Newcomer drag0nzord Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Belvidere, IL
    Country:
    United States
    well maybe i downloaded an old fcore? are there any other fcores to use?


    and anyways its like i said, it cant be that the DSI XL isnt putting out enough power. like i said the 8GB sleeps in the r4i in the XL
     
  12. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    DSi XL requires the latest fcore to run the m3i0
     
  13. drag0nzord
    OP

    Newcomer drag0nzord Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Belvidere, IL
    Country:
    United States
    can you give me a direct link so im 100% sure im downloading the correct one? id appreciate it.


    EDIT: ok i reflashed with the same F_core as before and now my dsi XL sleeps with my 8GB class 4 sandisc in my m3i zero. yay for me.

    edit:2

    id like to add now that flashing didnt solve my problem.

    it was just that my dsi xl was fully charged which effected my results.
     
  14. Natorius

    Newcomer Natorius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Is yours working 100% of the time? Sleep mode definitely works on mine but only when I have it either plugged in or fully charge, I hope someone finds some kind of workaround for it.
     

Share This Page