M3DS Real works in new Cobalt DS(US)

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by tguellich, Feb 10, 2008.

Feb 10, 2008
  1. tguellich
    OP

    Newcomer tguellich Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    I was worried that my M3DS Real would not work in the new cobalt DS just released in the US today. I have been reading the posts about the new UK white DS's bricking and was rather frightened turning on the DS with the M3 Real. But IT WORKED GREAT! No problems, runs fast, just like on any other DS.

    Has anyone else tried it out?
     
  2. root02

    Member root02 root@gbatemp.net, GroG Minion, and 2nd Biggest Gee

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    755
    Country:
    United States
    Oh sweet. I just got a Cobalt today, and ordered an M3 Real just before I read this - I hadn't heard of any bricking reports. I'm glad I'm not screwed [​IMG]
     
  3. naes

    Member naes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    I picked up a Cobalt Black DS Lite from Best Buy with the 2 year PRP (IMO the PRP is great because if there is an update, you return the "broken" DS and get the new one, ect, ect). It works fine for me too.
     
  4. Dan2k8

    Newcomer Dan2k8 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Smart thinking, I guess I'll also buy the protection plan from Best buy for my cobalt blue Ds.

    Any Idea what version firmware the cobalt blue ds has?

    I'm considering installing flashme but i dunno if it is worth it.
     
  5. FaRReR

    Member FaRReR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    the Internet
    Country:
    Australia
    Lol, flashme
    Just buy an R4/M3 Simply and use that to boot from slot-2
     
  6. zhdarkstar

    Member zhdarkstar GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Country:
    United States
    C/B has FW 7 on it. Flashme v08 is the most current version. If you have a slot-1 card, it's still a good idea to flash the DS. You can get rid of the Health Warning, receive unsigned code (makes download play work on some older cards), and gives you the recovery mode in the case of certain brickings.

    It's a lot safer than everyone makes it out to be as long as you have the DS plugged in and a steady hand. I've flashed 4 phats and 4 lites without a single brick.
     

Share This Page