M3 GEP RTC stopped working after 3 months

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Satetsu, May 7, 2015.

1. Satetsu
    OP

Satetsu Member

Newcomer
    May 23, 2009
    Poland
    So I have a M3 GEP for like 3 months now and recently I started playing Pokemon Ruby. RTC worked perfectly but today when I started the game I got "battery has run dry" message. I checked Emerald version and same msg appeared. Then I formatted my microSD using Panasonic SDFormatter, copied new AKAIO 1.9.0 and GBAExpLoader 0.58b0, disabled multi save and still same result. I aslo tried copying ak2_sd.dldi from the official firmware. So it seems that it is hardware's fault but why? I bought M3 GEP because of the RTC function and now after 3 months it's dead? What to do?

2. migles

migles Mei the sexiest bae

GBAtemp Patron
    migles is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

Our Patreon
    Sep 19, 2013
    Saint Kitts and Nevis
    my dad works for nintendo.
    well, "battery has run dry" on the error message? it's ironic how you can't see that thats the problem..
    i mean.. if you are talking about a GBA flashcart (m3 perfect) the problem is exactly that one. the battery has run dry...
    inside the card there is a coin size battery which you will have to replace

hers a thread, i also had questions before buying my ez iv, there is pictures of 2 gba cards with the battery so you can see what i am talking about
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/ez-flash-iv-gba-games-wont-save-load.358336/

the battery is needed for RTC to work, because it is a real clock, and how else it knows the real time on the real world without being powered by a battery all the time?