Hacking Lost my Wii U vWii softmod (deleted Homebrew Channel)

markmcrobie

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
623
Trophies
0
XP
1,247
Earlier today I softmodded my vWii on Wii U using the Bathaxx Batman exploit and it worked fine - HBC installed, everything worked. Then I deleted the Homebrew Channel (from Wii settings > Data Management >Channels) and now I don't know how to get it back.

I tried re-applying the Batman exploit, but this time when Hackmii installer loads it says it can't continue due to no IOS vulnerability found?

Help! Thanks!
 

markmcrobie

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
623
Trophies
0
XP
1,247
Ok, I took a 2GB SD card and formatted it FAT32.

I put the Bathaxx exploit private folder on it, and the Hackmii installer boot.elf on the root.

I loaded Wii mode, copied the save file for the Euro version to the Wii (I'm in UK) and booted Batman, following instructions for exploit, and Hackmii installer loaded.

It said press 1 to continue then installed HBC.

Back at Wii Menu, HBC was now a channel. I loaded it and it worked fine (albeit in 4:3 aspect ratio). I took out SD card and put Nintendont on there. I put the SD card back in, loaded up HBC, then loaded Nintendont, just to check it was working, and it loaded fine.

Before I went down the path of installing USB loaders or adding games, etc, I decided to see if HBC could be made widescreen/16:9 on Wii U. I found a link to a 16:9 version (with various colours) and picked the dark one.

I added MMM to my SD card and used that to install the dark HBC.

Back at Wii Menu I now had 2 HBC channels, blue and black. Since the blue one was the original 4:3 one, I went into Wii settings > Data Management > Channels and deleted it.

I then went to launch the black one, but it just loops back to the Wii Menu.

I then realised it must still rely on the original HBC, so I tried to reinstall it by putting the Hackmii boot.elf back on the root of my SD, and doing the Bathaxx exploit again.

However this time when Hackmii installer loaded, after pressing 1 to continue, it said there were no known IOS vulnerabilities and it couldn't continue.
 

markmcrobie

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
623
Trophies
0
XP
1,247

markmcrobie

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
623
Trophies
0
XP
1,247
Here's the contents of my Hackmii installer.log:

Code:
HackMii v1.2 installer starting up
PVR = 00087200
running under IOS 58 rev 0x1920
42 titles are installed
Found IOS 9: revision: 0x50a.
Found IOS 62: revision: 0x1b1e.
Found IOS 59: revision: 0x2421.
Found IOS 58: revision: 0x1920.
Found IOS 57: revision: 0x181f.
Found IOS 56: revision: 0x171e.
Found IOS 55: revision: 0x171f.
Found IOS 53: revision: 0x171f.
Found IOS 48: revision: 0x111c.
Found IOS 46: revision: 0xf17.
Found IOS 45: revision: 0xf17.
Found IOS 43: revision: 0xf17.
Found IOS 41: revision: 0xf17.
Found IOS 38: revision: 0x111c.
Found IOS 37: revision: 0x171f.
Found IOS 36: revision: 0xf18.
Found IOS 35: revision: 0xf18.
Found IOS 34: revision: 0xf18.
Found IOS 33: revision: 0xf18.
Found IOS 31: revision: 0xf18.
Found IOS 28: revision: 0x80f.
Found IOS 22: revision: 0x60e.
Found IOS 21: revision: 0x50f.
Found IOS 17: revision: 0x508.
Found IOS 15: revision: 0x508.
Found IOS 14: revision: 0x508.
Found IOS 13: revision: 0x508.
Found IOS 12: revision: 0x30e.
Found IOS 2: revision: 0x262.
Found IOS 80: revision: 0x1c20.
launching IOS 58 for the installer...
 
IOS launched...
 
IOS versions: Installer: 58, HBC: 0
starting preparations
 
device id: NG2419f3fe
something weird happened (ffffffff)
This IOS can not be trusted (2147483652).
preparations done!
 
This installer can NOT continue!
 
There is no usable or vulnerable IOS installed on this Wii.
Please note that we will not use fakesigned IOSes due to
security reasons. Only unpatched versions will be used!
 
Read the FAQ at: http://hbc.hackmii.com/faq/
Look for an updated version at: http://bootmii.org
 
If this is already the latest version... well, suck it.
 

markmcrobie

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
623
Trophies
0
XP
1,247
Strangely, I tried it again tonight (put Hackmii boot.elf on root of SD, loaded Batman hack) and this time Homebrew Channel installed fine, no errors.
 

teogeo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
77
Country
United States
Not sure if it mattered but did you also delete the black HBC channel with Data Management in between your tries?
 

markmcrobie

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
623
Trophies
0
XP
1,247
Yes, I tried reapplying the hack while the black HBC channel was there. I then deleted said channel with Data Management and tried again. Both times didn't work, same error.

Tried again tonight, worked fine.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: It's super nice :)