Looking to upgrade GPU

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by W.I.C.K.E.D., Apr 25, 2010.

Apr 25, 2010

Looking to upgrade GPU by W.I.C.K.E.D. at 7:13 AM (1,099 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. W.I.C.K.E.D.
    OP

    Member W.I.C.K.E.D. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    I'll post my system specs just to give as much info as possible.

    Phenom II 550 Black Ed. dual core @ factory 3.1ghz
    4gb samsung ddr2 800
    600w high performance psu
    Gigabyte ma785gm-us2h motherboard
    500gb WD green caviar sata HD
    Galaxy 9800gt w/ 512mb ddr3
    Windows 7 HP

    Now the 9800 is obviously what I would like to upgrade. I am very interested in ati cards being I've never owned one. The 58xx series is a little too pricey for me at the moment. I've been looking at the 5770 (being it's more efficient for the electric bill), and if I stuck with nvidia I think i'd get a gtx260 or possibly a gts250. Any suggestions? I like the ati being it offers close to the 4890 in performance, but has better power efficiency. I know any of these would be an upgrade from what I have now, and offer better fps and visuals in games. I just didn't know if anyone had any advice. As I said, I'd love a 58xx but for almost double the price of the 5770 I'll pass for the time being. Any suggestions or help is appreciated.
     
  2. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    Using a 5770... actually upgraded from a 9800 as well. Nice upgrade, not mind blowing, but nice.
     
  3. W.I.C.K.E.D.
    OP

    Member W.I.C.K.E.D. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I play arma II which is a military sim and it's pretty heavy on a cpu and gpu. I just get texture loading and crap sometimes, not so much in other games but I do play that the most. So you would recommend the 5770?

    P.S. It's harder on hardware than crysis or any game available at the moment. It kicks conventional hard drives in the ass, as well as velociraptor drives.....a lot of people been using ssd on this just because it randomly accesses the hard drive toooooo much, but that's beyond my point here and what I was intending to achieve.

    P.S.S. [​IMG] Wooohoooo [​IMG] 100th Post baby!
     
  4. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    You're taxing higher games than me. I do a lot of WoW, and RTS games. nothing overly taxing... Ran RE5 just fine. Not sure how much strain that is.
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The HD 5830 came out recently, designed to be exactly half way between the 5770 and 5850. Price and performance are pretty much that - half way between the two.

    The more money you spend, the better the outcome, and also the more futureproof it is - good cards don't need upgrading for two generations, usually.
     
  6. Chanser

    Member Chanser :o

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Macau
    5850 for best bang for buck, the price of the 5830s aren't great though we're starting to see 5830s matching the price of top end 5770s.
     
  7. DEagleson

    Member DEagleson Gamer Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Telemark
    Country:
    Norway
    You could also try unlocking cores on your cpu too.
    Unlocked my AMD Phenom II 720 x3 BE into a quad core, and got a instant boost in fps in BF:BC2.
    Using a slightly OC'ed ATI Radeon HD 4770.

    Also ATI Radeon HD 5770 is very similar performance wise to the ATI Radeon HD 4870, so if you got the cash either get ATI Radeon HD 5770 or 5830.
     
  8. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd upgrade the processor (eww, AMD); but looking at the motherboard specs, that doesn't seem possible.
     
  9. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's always AMD or Intel. If you wanna swap from AMD to Intel, you have to get a new motherboard.

    Personally, I agree (with the eww, AMD thing), but the PhenomII BE is a fairly good CPU, so it doesn't really need to be replaced. The 9800GT is also quite good and I personally wouldn't replace it unless I had a game that I really wanted better framerates with.
     
  10. W.I.C.K.E.D.
    OP

    Member W.I.C.K.E.D. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    Did try unlocking the other two cores but no luck, the pc didn't post. I might try again, I just don't wanna boost the core voltage too much and damage it. The 58xx series is as I said nice, but I'd rather wait for a price drop hopefully at the end of the year. The recommended specs for arma II are very wrong, as the game wasn't optimized well so it's better to have more efficient hardware to compensate. I can upgrade the cpu antoligy, the ram can go to 1200, and it would support a quad as my current cpu is only a dual core. I don't believe it has two pcie 16x ports so sli or crossfire probably isn't an option, but I don't mind.

    Brand Galaxy (Current Card)
    Model 98TFF6HUUEXX
    Interface
    Interface PCI Express 2.0 x16
    Chipset
    Chipset Manufacturer NVIDIA
    GPU GeForce 9800 GT
    Core Clock 600MHz
    Stream Processors 112
    Memory
    Effective Memory Clock 900MHz
    Memory Size 512MB
    Memory Interface 256-bit
    Memory Type GDDR3
    3D API
    DirectX DirectX 10
    OpenGL OpenGL 2.1
    Ports
    DVI 2 x DVI
    TV-Out HDTV / S-Video Out
    General
    RAMDAC 400 MHz
    Max Resolution 2560 x 1600
    SLI Support SLI Ready
    Cooler With Fan
    Power Connector 6 Pin
    Dual-Link DVI Supported Yes
    HDCP Ready Yes
    Packaging
    Package Contents 98TFF6HUUEXX
    Driver Disk
    User's Manual
    HDTV Cable
    S-Video Cable
    Power Cable
    DVI to VGA/D-sub Adapter
    Manufacturer Warranty
    Parts 2 years limited
    Labor 2 years limited


    -----------------------------------

    Brand XFX
    Model HD-577X-ZNFC
    Interface
    Interface PCI Express 2.0 x16
    Chipset
    Chipset Manufacturer ATI
    GPU Radeon HD 5770
    Core Clock 850MHz
    Stream Processors 800 Stream Processing Units
    Memory
    Effective Memory Clock 1200MHz (4.8Gbps)
    Memory Size 1GB
    Memory Interface 128-bit
    Memory Type DDR5
    3D API
    DirectX DirectX 11
    Ports
    HDMI 1 x HDMI
    DisplayPort 1 x DisplayPort
    DVI 2 x DVI
    General
    Max Resolution 2560 x 1600
    CrossFireX Support Yes
    Cooler With Fan
    System Requirements Minimum 450 Watt Power Supply Requirement
    Power Connector 6 Pin
    Dual-Link DVI Supported Yes
    HDCP Ready Yes
    Dimensions 8.5"x4.376"x1.5"
    Packaging
    Package Contents HD-577X-ZNFC
    Installation CD with Multi-Language User Guide
    Quick Installation Guide
    Driver CD Installation Guide
    XFX Serial Number Door Hanger
    6-pin to 4-pin power cable
    DVI to VGA adapter
    Manufacturer Warranty
    Parts Lifetime limited
    Labor Lifetime limited

    -------------------------
    I do see a nice margin of difference between the two cards, my current and what I was looking at.

    Noticably, the 5830 is not that much better than the 5770. The only area they typically differ in is the memory interface. Now if I do buy a version that would have the 4000 mhz memory clock that would be the only significant advantage. That's with the $80+ price jump too. Shit, most 5850s have all the same specs exception being the stream processors, for double the price too $300+ compared to the $150 for the 5770.
     
  11. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow, I didn't realize the 9800 only had 112 "processing cores", but then again, it didn't really matter so much in those days.

    I see the HD5770 as an updated version of the HD4870 I have - they both have 800 "processing cores", a similar clock, and 1GB of GDDR5 RAM. It's pretty much the reason I haven't upgraded in the last couple years.

    I wonder who actually can convince their parents to buy them a super computer. My parents wouldn't even buy me a PS1 way back when, so I've always had to save up for myself or find odd jobs to buy anything I wanted... and by the time I could afford them, they tended to be less than half their original price. Even the PS3 I got a few weeks ago was heavily discounted, and I traded in a fixed 360 to bring the price further down.
     
  12. Raki

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    Have you tried unlocking 1 or 2 cores? Maybe you're sucessful and you get a nice Quadcore out of your CPU

    btw: If you're just gaming an Intel CPU won't take you further than a AMD PII...
     
  13. Santee

    Member Santee JalapeƱo

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    812
    Location:
    Conneticut
    Country:
    United States
    Buy a 5770 and then later on when you have the money buy another one and crossfire them since the performance of 2 5770s are a little better than a 5850.
     
  14. W.I.C.K.E.D.
    OP

    Member W.I.C.K.E.D. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    I did try unlocking with my motherboard's hybrid mode but the pc wouldn't post. It sounds like it starts but the monitor is empty, just black like it's not even booted. I'm not sure how to enable each core specifically to see if only one is faulty and the other isn't.
     

Share This Page