Loading slow after softmod...mod or media?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Xbox' started by xeroforce, Sep 11, 2012.

Sep 11, 2012
  1. xeroforce
    OP

    Newcomer xeroforce Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hello community,

    I tried to do some digging on this topic but found nothing relevant. I recently successfully softmodded my original xbox. After doing so, however, loading times increased significantly. I was wondering if this was due to a bad laser, bad media, or bad dashboard. I had no problems loading prior to this. I burned an image (of a game that I legally own) at 4x using imgburn with no layer break. From what I gather that is the best method. Any suggestions would be welcome.
     
  2. SuzieJoeBob

    Member SuzieJoeBob NOT a New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    524
    Country:
    United States
    Try using a non-burnt disc and see if there are any slowdowns. If there are, then it is your hardware. If the retail game runs fullspeed, it could be how the discs are being burnt.

    Also, make sure that the disc supports write speeds of 4x. The packaging you bought it with will say so, the disc might have "4X" written on the cover side, or the image burning software will say so. I use ImgBurn and the program shows the supported write speeds in a list.
     
  3. xeroforce
    OP

    Newcomer xeroforce Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for the response, sorry it has taken so long to get back. I am still having problems running the backup copies of my owned retail games. I tried using verbatim media, which unfortunately was only rated for x6 speed. I have ordered 3 x4 disks from amazon just to test it out. Is it possible that the installation of the modded firmware is no good? I was running 5.0 but downgraded to 2.1 and was thinking about reinstalling to 5.1. Is there a way to do a "fresh" install of the modded dash?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  4. SuzieJoeBob

    Member SuzieJoeBob NOT a New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    524
    Country:
    United States
    Just do what you did when installing the softmod the first time. This will "overwrite" the currently existing dashboard/softmod, giving you a fresh start. It will only affect the previous softmod install, nothing else. (Savefiles, DLC, etc)

    Also, make sure you are either installing the XBMC dashboard, Evolution-X dashboard, or UnleashX dashboard.
     
  5. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,741
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What method did you use to back the games up? A handful of original xbox games had specially made iso file layouts and if you just ripped the files off the disc and assembled the game back up (probably in basic alphabetical order) then it will probably still work but you might have then introduced the need for lots of random seeking and that is never fast.
    Alas to rip properly sees the need for a large hard drive as the 5 or so gigs is too small.
     
  6. xeroforce
    OP

    Newcomer xeroforce Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I already had the iso files compiled by someone who ripped them, which work fine on another xbox. Since my xbox reads original games fine then I suspect I am doing something wrong. I am going to try the 5.1 install again and I will post the steps I take and give an update.
     

Share This Page