1. TopazPhoenix

    OP TopazPhoenix Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    About a year ago, my R4 SDHC failed on me and corrupted the micro SD inside, causing me to lose the firmware and kernel, which I foolishly hadn't backed up. I tried to find it again through many sites, but couldn't find it, even when the cards looked identical and were in the same boxes. I then tried loading YSMenu and Wood R4 designed for clones, but that didn't even work! I eventually was given the firmware by my friend who got me the card in the first place (he doesn't remember where, it was a while ago). The only thing I don't like about the R4 is that it can't run newer games, and I can't find a new firmware that works for it. I have a picture of what it came with and a .zip file with it's original name, I'm hoping someone around here will be able to identify it.

    EDIT: The only differences with the image is that the site wasn't on the box and the R4 was held in a cardboard bend thingy, like Pokemon Soul Silver was.

    EDIT 2: Here is an album of the Menu (Sorry for bad quality): http://imgur.com/a/TvuiT

    Firmware/Kernel: https://www.dropbox.com/s/crm50nq38mmonf4/R4SDHC NEW V1.5.zip?dl=0

    Image: http://i.imgur.com/ZAoUu2A.jpg

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Sliter

    Sliter GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,255
    Country:
    Brazil
    hmm I don't Know, my old R4 is a clone of the original firt one (that comes with these accesories, but an stupid plastic packing (actually I got it used, without the strap and packing :B ). I can run Woody on it and play newer games, the only thingis that it don't accept more than a 2GB non HC micro SD :B

    Anyway, did you tried formating the SD and stuff? seens about it's size and tried the firmeware again? if it still work don't have why the others firmewares don't ...
     
  3. TopazPhoenix

    OP TopazPhoenix Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    The weird thing is, when I tried finding a new firmware, NOTHING worked, even after formatting. I couldn't even find the original firmware. I just want to know what my R4 card is exactly, since it seems to be unlike anyone else's R4. I'm also going to upload an album showing the R4 menus if that helps.
     
  4. Sliter

    Sliter GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,255
    Country:
    Brazil
  5. TopazPhoenix

    OP TopazPhoenix Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    I don't remember that being the site... Haven't checked but downloads probably won't work, and even if they did, this isn't the site for my card. The picture is similar to what I had, but the box didn't have the site on the front like that.
     
  6. mid-kid

    mid-kid GBAtemp spamBOT
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
    If the kernel you've got works, you can try RetroGameFreak's kernel files, and boot them with your regular kernel. On my r4i-shdc 3ds v5 it works decently for most things that are not supported by the card's kernel, except jam with the band.
     
  7. TopazPhoenix

    OP TopazPhoenix Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    By RetroGameFreak, do you mean RetroGameFan, like in this link?: http://gbatemp.net/threads/retrogamefan-updates-releases.267243/
     
  8. mid-kid

    mid-kid GBAtemp spamBOT
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
  9. TopazPhoenix

    OP TopazPhoenix Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    I... I finally did it... Apparently, my card , labeled an R4 SDHC, has the same _DS_Menu.Dat format as the R4/i Ultra : www.r4ultra.com, despite them being two different things. I just had to look at the files in a hex editor to realize it...
    I am unbelievably happy right now, after recalling the panic I went through last year... Thank you...
     
  10. Sahdo

    Sahdo Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi. I created this acount just to reach you. It happens that i have the same r4 as you.
    Unfortunately i could't fix mine :(
    would you still have this firmware? If yes, could the download be made available?
    It would help ALOT. Thanks
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Firmwares, Different, Loading