Lite-On 74850C Flashing..

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by 67birdman, Jul 12, 2010.

Jul 12, 2010

Lite-On 74850C Flashing.. by 67birdman at 3:39 AM (2,256 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi
    I just opened my xbox 360, thinking it was a samsung drive..
    To my dissapointment it was a LiteOn 74850c drive.
    I am soo pissed off, because I need to get all this other stuff to flash it now.
    What is it exactly that I need?
    And is it possible to not get these items, and do without them for now?
    Thanks
     
  2. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,101
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sure, you can always go the full extract method

    http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=698256

    Only needs a switch, resistor and some wire, but you gotta solder.
     
  3. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Go to my thread further down for a lot of advice. I've got the same DVD drive as you!
     
  4. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright thanks, so how would this work then with these items?
    Whoah!! I don't think I can do the full extract method, it needs all that stuff.
    Can anyone lend me an powersource and a probe please? I'll only need it once, and ill send it back with a few bucks..
    I can't find it here in Vancouver, don't wanna order it.
     
  5. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    How much is a few bucks, and are you willing to pay shipping both ways?

    I have one and am considering letting you borrow it. I'm in USA so at least no overseas. Also what insurances do I get that it will be sent back, or that I wont get in trouble because of Canada's new laws.
     
  6. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm just about to buy this. It'll work with your DVD drive.
     
  7. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Well how much is shipping?
    What are the new laws your talking about?
    And you don't need to worry about insurance man, you were kind enough to let me borrow it, so I must return it.. And for a few bucks, I'd send maybe 10-15 canadian..
    O and thanks, I'll check that out Livin in a Box---Whats the serial port thingie, it looks like a VGA cable, anyway I am looking for one in Canada so that it can arrive in a few days or hours, I really want to flash my drive quickly..
    Thanks
     
  8. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Serial port- if you have a PC just look for a port with the sign |O|O| or similar on it. That's where that goes.
     
  9. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright, I'm considering swapping my drive out for a MS25, what do you guys say about that?
     
  10. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you'll still need your keys to take to a new one anyway, unless you're not using it on LIVE.
     
  11. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    So I still have to use this probe shit??
    FML!!
     
  12. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe so, so you might as well just flash the one you have.
     
  13. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Yea I guess..
    But its so confusing, how do I do it, is the probe and power supply all I need?
    Can anyone recommend me a good probe and power supply, thats also cheap?
    Thanks
     
  14. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need the probe that goes into a place on the mobo of the DVD drive. You then need a compatible SATA card on your desktop PC so you can plug it in to your PC another way. You'll also need to power the 360 through the 360 power cable itself, but it doesn't really matter.

    I'm still yet to flash mine, but that's how I understand it.
     
  15. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright, thanks..
    Did you actually buy all that stuff just to flash it once?
    I think I'm gonna get someone to flash it for me instead...
     
  16. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I heard about some digital media copy protection laws, but if you haven't been effected by it, then no worries. It would cost $11.45 USD to ship it to you and would take 6-10 business daYys.
     
  17. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well not just flashing it once- every time a new FW is released it'll need flashing again; when I need to flash back to stock firmware in case it gets broken, etc..
     
  18. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Having one of those now, I have a maximus 360xtractor and the spear.

    The spear comes in handy for extracting the drive key, which is unique to the drive and board that it came shipped in. Without this key, the 360's disc drive can't boot any games, and at worst, could get you immediately flagged for a system ban. the whole kit basically isolates the dvd drive so you can do your thing without the console being taken into equation.

    So yea... open it up, use the spear to extract the key, then make up the firmware to flash onto it with jungleflasher or something.

    In my case, jungleflasher never really liked to work within windows, so I now end up using dosflash from a bootable floppy and erase and load the firmware there.
     
  19. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Wow thanks, I just got a guy to flash it for me..[​IMG]
     

Share This Page