Hacking LightOS - The new flashcard OS!

Dr.Hacknik

Ashley | Developer | Trans
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
1,773
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
inside your fridge
Website
dochacknik.keybase.pub
XP
2,197
Country
United States
Yes it'll have all of them.
I'm planning to add multiple Save Slots, etc.

Cheat and Soft Reset are in the first version that'll come out tomorrow!
Another quick question; will it have a built in updater or at least a notifier? Honestly the latter would be good enough.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tempylon

Dr.Hacknik

Ashley | Developer | Trans
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
1,773
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
inside your fridge
Website
dochacknik.keybase.pub
XP
2,197
Country
United States
Unfortinatly, no because the DS only has WEP encryption so you can't use it with modern routers (at least by default). So it isn't worth it to make an updater because few people have their DS connected to WiFi.
Ah, I am still used to the DSi and 3DS over here. Kinda forgot the DS Lite / Phat only had WEP support.
One last thing is I'd highly recommend releasing the source code onto something like GitLab or GitHub. This project could surely benefit from a community of devs.
 

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,794
Trophies
3
Age
52
Location
Austria
XP
2,314
Country
Austria
Hello.:)

Congratulations.:)
A very good OS with a nice UI.

It runs very well on my R4 Clone Flashcard.
The only thing not working is the GBA Mode - it only stays on Black Screen and I have to Reset the DSi XL.

Great Work and keep it up please.:yay:
Thank you.:)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tempylon

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,794
Trophies
3
Age
52
Location
Austria
XP
2,314
Country
Austria
Thanks for the compliments:D.
The GBA Mode is for Slot 2 use but I'll make a Plugin for GBARunner for gba support.

Thank you.:)

It works also great on the DS Lite with EZ Flash IV.:yaysp:

A little question please:

P1060396.JPG


Is it possible to remove the white Frame please ?

Thank you.:)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tempylon

TheFabione

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
33
Country
Italy
Man, I can't thank you enough. You gave new life to my old r4i-sdhc that had the time bomb issue with official firmware.
I have a question, does it read usrcheat.dat? Cause the cheat database is a little bit old and doesn't have all the games.
 

retrogamefan

***DSTT Coder*** ***AP Destroyer***
Developer
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
922
Trophies
0
XP
1,158
Country
Antarctica
ysmenu is glitchy with any DS games that are "DSi enhanced" Does this fix that?
I assume you are using a cart from either r4i-sdhc.com or r4isdhc.com as the problem doesn't occur on any other cart. It is related to how carts from those 2 sites parse YSMenu (but this has been fixed but as yet not released).
 
Last edited by retrogamefan,

spectral

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
610
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,920
Country
I assume you are using a cart from either r4i-sdhc.com or r4isdhc.com as the problem doesn't occur on any other cart. It is related to how carts from those 2 sites parse YSMenu (but this has been fixed but as yet not released).

Yeah, sorry it wasn't meant as a dig at YSmenu. I have one of the r4isdhc.com carts. I needed something from within the UK without importing that would work in a N3DSXL and its all I could find. I went into it knowing what I was getting though and tbh given its price I can't complain. Great news that it wont be a problem in future versions though! I tested my cart when I got it and the time bomb doesn't kick in until mid 2023, so I assume the version of YSmenu with the problem fixed will be out by then.
 
Last edited by spectral,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

TheFabione

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
33
Country
Italy
Ok so I figured out that if you rename any "usrcheat.dat" file in "Cheat.lds", the firmware will still read it normaly. Strange thing is that sometime it doesn't recognize the games and doesn't load the cheats for them. Es. If I try to randomize a pokemon platinum rom, the firmware doesn't recognize that is pokemon platinum and doesn't load the cheats.
Strage because with the old firmware i could do it just fine :huh:

Edit:
Ops, didn't realize the firmware was removed sorry.
 
Last edited by TheFabione,

spectral

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
610
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,920
Country
I assume you are using a cart from either r4i-sdhc.com or r4isdhc.com as the problem doesn't occur on any other cart. It is related to how carts from those 2 sites parse YSMenu (but this has been fixed but as yet not released).

Do you know if/when the one with the version that fix will be publicly available??
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: 10 year old hardware now still emulates switch pretty decently