Learning C++ - Is this good to begin with?

Boy12

NOT a new member!
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Netherlands
Hello everybody who is reading this!
So last week, i started learning C++, and i know some basic things like how variables work, etc,.
I'm thinking of making a simple text based game, like " you see a door in front of you, do you enter or walk away" requiring the users input. To see if i learned things the good way, is this a simple project for starters, or do you guys recommend to make something more simple?
Thanks in advance!

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Basic text adventure is a good project, it may not get you far down the GUI path but for basic variables and acting upon them it is more than suitable.
You may or may not want to look up linked lists before you set about it though (more for the text adventure concept), you can happily do without it but branching text adventure is what the linked list family of concepts handle quite well if you plan to expand the adventure any.

Reactions: Boy12

Issac

Iᔕᔕᗩᑕ
Supervisor
Trophies
XP
Country
Sweden
I can't say it better than FAST6191... so yeah, what he said! :D It's a good start and absolutely nothing that's "over your head" or anything.

Boy12

NOT a new member!
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Netherlands
Basic text adventure is a good project, it may not get you far down the GUI path but for basic variables and acting upon them it is more than suitable.
You may or may not want to look up linked lists before you set about it though (more for the text adventure concept), you can happily do without it but branching text adventure is what the linked list family of concepts handle quite well if you plan to expand the adventure any.

I can't say it better than FAST6191... so yeah, what he said! :D It's a good start and absolutely nothing that's "over your head" or anything.

Thank you very much!

JoostinOnline

Certified Crash Test Dummy
Trophies
Website
www.hacksden.com
XP
Country