Launching GC bups with Disc Channel

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Col70, Feb 17, 2009.

Feb 17, 2009
  1. Col70
    OP

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok I installed Wiigator GC last week and works fine other than not being able to get Metal Gear Solid Twin Snakes and Eternal Darkness to work...

    However, did a full job on a mates Wii the other day through from 3.4e >> 3.2e with Preloader and Softmii etc all installed but can't get GC discs to launch from his Disc Channel - can anyone explain how or why this might happen?
     
  2. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    When installing the gc mios, press "x". You probably forgot to when you installed it for him.
     
  3. Col70
    OP

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey David - swift reply... thanks

    Tried that already and saw the option change.... really weird though as when I put a disc in, it shows in the disc channel but the system crashes/reboots itself to the healthscreen...
     
  4. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    Weird it shouldn't be doing that, you can always try waninkos mios. Just run his installer it'll
    overwrite you existing mios. That might work.
     
  5. Col70
    OP

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I guess it's worth a try. I got a D/L for cMIOS_rev3-Installer off his site - is that what I need or is it just a wad I need to install with WM?

    Any links would be fantastic as well....
     
  6. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    Download it, unzip it, rename the .dol file you just downloaded to boot.dol. Create a new folder in the apps directory on your sd. Put the .dol file in the new folder and launch it via the homebrew channel.
     
  7. the mario

    Member the mario GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    I've never been able to run GC backups from the disc channel either, and I never understood why. I'm using Waninkoko's revo03, and yes, I did press X before the installation.
     
  8. Col70
    OP

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Will that affect any of the Mios in place already?

    Edit: Bizarre thing is that it works on my Wii but not the other one?
     
  9. the mario

    Member the mario GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    You can only have one MIOS at a time. Any new one that you install will overwrite the previous one.
     

Share This Page