1. Hello everyone, I'd like to share with you Lan Play GUI, a graphical interface for lan-play.

    electron_2018-12-16_13-20-28.png

    Lan Play GUI lets you manage your own list of servers: add, delete, edit, and refresh them, as well as being able to see which are online, and how many players there are. On top of this, you're able to see the server version, and of course launch it with lan-play without having to type out a command.

    It is currently available for Win32, Win64, Linux, raspberry PI and Mac OSX.

    Video Guide with the new v1.1.0 update for Windows:



    UPDATE 12/2/19 1.3.0
    [​IMG]

    A new update has been released version v1.3.0 THE WEB GUI Update!
    Changelog:
    -added a WEB GUI to be able to control the GUI from any device whit web browser on your network like your phone, your tablet, or even your nintendo switch itself.(yes is similar to the webui thing, but this should be less clunky and more beautiful) to access it you have to go to http://your local ip:8008 after you launch the GUI
    -added multi language support(this was going to be the 1.2.0 update hence the jump from 1.1.0 to 1.3.0) thought for now there is only 2 languages, english and spanish.
    -added a custom title bar with custom close and minimize buttons
    -added a custom icon
    -added more integration on windows
    -dropped OSX support
    -Updated way to launch lan play to one that is better
    -Updated the way that the GUI fetches the information about ping and player number to one more optimized
    -added a loading bar for updating the information about the ping and player number
    -added a autoupdate feature
    -enhance design
    -added custom animations for changing the order of servers
    -added a setting for using a proxy(you need the last version of lan play for this)
    -added a setting for turning off and on, and changing the port for the WEB GUI
    -improved system stability
    -solved many bugs
    -Moar Stable
    -Stability




    UPDATE 17/12/18 1.1.0
    A new update has been released version v1.1.0 A BugFixing Update!
    Changelog:
    -solved the bug that was making broadcast setting to not be saved.
    -solved the bug that was making fake internet setting to not be saved.
    -reworked how parsing functions for network interfaces thanks to Svahnen.
    -changed the filter function to filter out more useless interfaces.
    -solved interface problem with Mac OSX.


    OFFICIAL RELEASE Version 1.0.0
    A new update has been released version v1.0.0 The Setting Update! this update changes a lot and is the first to be considered out of beta and out of WIP, is the first real release, it includes a lot, but is centered on a new menu, the settings menu, from this menu you can configure things like PMTU, broadcast, fake internet, and also where you have placed lan play, so you can name it as you want and place it where you want, also this includes the option to configure your default interface so when you connect to a server you connect to whit that interface automatically and you have not to select it each time! also now you can import and export server lists and share them, and also download the official server list from the internet so you don't have to add them manually, also the way the information is retrieved has improved and should be more server friendly and should be much faster and some server dupe bugs had been solved :D

    changelog:
    -Settings Menu
    -Now you can preselect your interface in settings so you don't have to select it each time.
    -Now you can change the PMTU.
    -Fake Internet moved to settings.
    -Broadcast option added.
    -Now you can export Server Lists.
    -Now you can import Server Lists.
    -Now you can import from internet the official Server List.
    -Now you can place lan play anywhere and select from setting where it is.
    -You need lan play 0.0.7 or higher.
    -Bug with double fetch fixed.
    -Bug of pinging and fetching when change order fixed.
    -Bug of server dupe fixed.
    -Custom discrete scrolling bar added.
    -Bug of last server cut out solved.


    _______________________

    A new update has been released version v0.3.0 The PING update! this update includes a icon that tells the ping of a given server is ms so that you know what servers are going to be less laggy for you :D
    changelog:
    -Added ping functionality to lan play GUI, thanks to space for helping whit it giving me a function to native node ping the servers without using cmd or terminal ping.


    A new update has been released version v0.2.0 with a lot of bug fixing, all known bugs had been fixed and now lan-play-GUI should not be considered buggy like it was on v0.0.1
    changelog:
    -Bug of duplication of servers solved
    -bug of undeletable servers solved
    -Bug with moving the positions of some servers solved
    -Bug with offline servers solved
    -All known bugs solved
    -There is still a minor visual glitch on windows 10 that when you move the windows a black border appears


    Tutorial:

    Windows
    1.- Download the executable of lan-play adequate for your system (64/32 bits)
    2.- Download the RAR with lan play GUI adequate for your system (64/32 bits)
    3.- Uncompress the RAR wherever you want
    4.- Put the executable of lan-play without renaming it in the same folder as lan play GUI
    5.- if you have done this well you should have lan-play-GUI.exe and the executable of lan play on the same folder
    6.- Execute lan-play-GUI.exe as administrator
    7.- ???
    8.- Profit
    PS.- When you Connect to a server a cmd windows would pop up, you just select your interface and it would work, when you want to change server close that command line window and click Connect to Server on a new server

    Linux
    1.- Download lan-play-linux
    2.- Download lan-play-GUI-linux
    3.- Put lan-play-linux in home
    4.- sudo setcap 'CAP_NET_RAW+eip CAP_NET_ADMIN+eip' lan-play-linux
    5.- chmod 777 lan-play-linux
    6.- Execute lan-play-gui-linux
    7.- ???
    8.- Profit
    PS.- When you Connect to a server a terminal would pop up, you just select your interface and it would work, when you want to change server close that terminal and click Connect to Server on a new server


    _________________________________________


    upload_2018-12-11_19-58-58.png upload_2018-12-11_19-59-12.png upload_2018-12-11_19-59-26.png

    :download: Download
    :arrow: Source
     
  2. Discussion (107 replies)

  3. Agusto101

    Agusto101 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Guatemala
    Cool
     
    Red1Reaper likes this.
  4. KingMuk

    KingMuk GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    Country:
    United States
    wow man this is pretty neat! Thanks a lot bro ;D
     
    reexe and Red1Reaper like this.
  5. Red1Reaper

    OP Red1Reaper Asperger Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    339
    Country:
    Spain
    If anyone has OSX and wants to help me to port it to OSX PM me.
     
    crossholo likes this.
  6. NightStorm1000

    NightStorm1000 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    Austria
    You could set up a OSX VM. There are Tutorials on this everywhere online. Thats the way I port and test my Tools.
     
    lampdemon, Mambila2001 and Red1Reaper like this.
  7. Mambila2001

    Mambila2001 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    France
    noice job dood
     
    Red1Reaper likes this.
  8. osaka35

    osaka35 Instructional Designer
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,169
    Country:
    United States
    nice! thanks for this, really good work.
     
    Red1Reaper likes this.
  9. guitarheroknight

    guitarheroknight 1.6180339887
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,807
    Country:
    Norway
    Was pretty tired of manually entering the addresses. Thanks! :)
     
    Red1Reaper likes this.
  10. Ghassen-ga

    Ghassen-ga GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    769
    Country:
    where to get the servers list ?
     
    Red1Reaper likes this.
  11. Red1Reaper

    OP Red1Reaper Asperger Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    339
    Country:
    Spain
    You add the servers manually, there is a offical server list for lan play is in the lan play discord
    add the ones you are going to play
     
    Last edited by Red1Reaper, Dec 12, 2018
  12. Ghassen-ga

    Ghassen-ga GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    769
    Country:
    thanks alot !
     
    Red1Reaper likes this.
  13. Beerus

    Beerus Gbatemp's God Of Destruction
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1,265
    Country:
    Japan
    ghezz i rate it nice!
     
    Red1Reaper likes this.
  14. Solitario

    Solitario GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Brazil
    Cool
     
    Red1Reaper likes this.
  15. Ev1l0rd

    Ev1l0rd (⌐◥▶◀◤) Developer - noirscape
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,958
    Country:
    Netherlands
    For the record, this will not work on encrypted Ubuntu home drives. See here for details.

    Also, I hate to be that guy... but couldn't you try something more lightweight than Electron?

    Especially since you just seem to be subprocessing the lanplay commands, running an entire Chromium instance is just a waste of memory usage imho.
     
    Red1Reaper likes this.
  16. Red1Reaper

    OP Red1Reaper Asperger Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    339
    Country:
    Spain
    Something like? do you know a lightweight alternative to electron that have the same features? i don't know c++, only js html and css.
    Actually you can close the gui once the terminal is launched, the lan-play is not sub processed, what is sub processed is just a command that launches a new terminal with lan-play, at least on windows, i don't know if the new terminal is keep in a subprocess in linux.
     
    Last edited by Red1Reaper, Dec 11, 2018
    Ev1l0rd likes this.
  17. Ev1l0rd

    Ev1l0rd (⌐◥▶◀◤) Developer - noirscape
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,958
    Country:
    Netherlands
    http://appjar.info/

    appJar is a very simple python GUI lib. A bit hard to make it look nice, but it does the job.

    Check out the subprocess module in python too.

    I highly suggest learning at least more languages than just web langs and Python is a pretty easy one to jump into if you're famliar with js.
     
    Red1Reaper likes this.
  18. Red1Reaper

    OP Red1Reaper Asperger Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    339
    Country:
    Spain
    I rather pass, im going to stick to sweet sweet fat electron with bootstrap, it does look nice, and that is the purpose of a GUI, to provide a nice looking visual interface.
    But i would check for future projects on that
     
  19. bodefuceta
    This message by bodefuceta has been removed from public view by osaka35, Dec 11, 2018, Reason: off-topic.
    Dec 11, 2018
  20. Red1Reaper

    OP Red1Reaper Asperger Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    339
    Country:
    Spain
    What problem do you have with electron? is not exactly light weight, but on today computers is not really that much of a problem and even if it is, once you have launched the lan-play you can close the gui and problem solved.
     
    reexe likes this.
  21. reexe

    reexe Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2018
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Sweden
    This is cross platform thx to Electron.
    Great job Red1Reaper!
     
    lordelan and Red1Reaper like this.
  22. Ev1l0rd
    This message by Ev1l0rd has been removed from public view by Quantumcat, Dec 11, 2018, Reason: Reply to deleted post.
    Dec 11, 2018
  23. reexe

    reexe Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2018
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Sweden
    If ppl dont want to use this they can just start it like the normaly do, or make their own GUI.
    I think its a great tool :grog:

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Have you tried it yourself? if u run this while your home folder is unlocked it should work? If not post it as an issue and its possible to add an alternative path for where the client needs to be located.

    If that is the case it should apply to the normal lan-play-linux client that you would run in the terminal as well
     
    Last edited by reexe, Dec 11, 2018
    Red1Reaper likes this.
  24. lordelan
    This message by lordelan has been removed from public view by Quantumcat, Dec 11, 2018, Reason: Reply to deleted post.
    Dec 11, 2018
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Graphical, Interface, [UPDATED