Lameboy DS 0.12

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by wolfmanz51, Jun 3, 2009.

Jun 3, 2009

Lameboy DS 0.12 by wolfmanz51 at 2:24 AM (3,762 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. wolfmanz51
    OP

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
    Nutki has updated is amazing GameBoy/GameBoyColur Emulator for DS Lameboy to version 0.12
    "Considering it’s been over a year since last version released, there’s not many changes in this version. However I just recently returned to the lameboy project and started with some small issues. It is possible that you won’t need to wait another year for the next release.

    Lameboy DS 0.12

    Change log:

    * fixed: better interrupt timing (should fix Mario Land 2 boss levels)
    * fixed: multipacket SGB messages (fixes Pokemon R/G/B in battle color overlays)
    * added: backlight of the menu screen is turned off when not used
    * added: fullscreen scaling (ignores aspect ratio) "
     


  2. DrCaptainHarlock

    Member DrCaptainHarlock Hustle bones comin' out my mouth

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Saitama, Japan
    Country:
    Japan
    Holy shit, Lameboy got updated? That's crazy.
     
  3. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Nice. Fullscreen scaling, nice work Nutki!
     
  4. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,275
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, shit, he is alive!

    Actually, this sounds like a pretty good update, Mario Land 2 was a bitch sometimes.
     
  5. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    As soon as I booted up Lameboy 0.12 and disabled SGB then ran a copy of Pokemon Blue, I was crossing my fingers so that when I loaded it, it it would still load color but not the SGB. It loaded in black and white. So I didn't feel that great until I looked back the release note, FULLSCREEN FTW. I just set it to SGB: ON and Display: Fullscreen. PERFECT. YOU DA BOMB NUTKI! MY GB/GBC GAMING IS BACK!

    ~ Jon
     
  6. Zidapi

    Member Zidapi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,564
    Country:
    Australia
    You're about half an hour too slow, It's already on the front page...
    /facepalm
     
  7. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    I though emulator development on the DS was dead in general, not just this one. Good news to hear otherwise. [​IMG]
     
  8. Akothegreat

    Member Akothegreat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Philippines
    over a year, that was very long...
     
  9. flameiguana

    Member flameiguana that's not me

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Time to enjoy some pokemanz that I missed because I didn't have a GB.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Tac 21

    Member Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Canada
    * fixed: better interrupt timing (should fix Mario Land 2 boss levels)

    Thank you! I love Lameboy! I've been wanting to play this!
     
  11. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,928
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Thx nutki,

    GB/GBC Emulation on DS, no DS and DS Lite ownerz have it all (GB/GBC/GBA/DS)
    and DSi ownerz just mis the GBA stuff [​IMG]
     
  12. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whoa, it's like the E3 update of DS homebrew!

    I gotta see if Megaman 5 can be beaten now, it freezes when you try to start a certain level.
    Edit: Yup, this fixes the fatal bug in Megaman 5, you can play Saturn's level now.
     
  13. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Pretty amazing, never thought to see another update for this homebrew.
    Still my most played homebrew, love playing some Pokemon Red hacks or DKC.
     
  14. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    [​IMG]

    good one, its been sometime hasn't it ?

    Anyway great job, im liking the full screen-ness.
     
  15. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    The full screen mode is excellent! Turrican runs and looks great full screen. Still black & white, but I don't care about that. ALL games I tried looked very good scaled to full screen. No nasty graphics aberrations.
    There's one other game I tried that used to slow down and now runs closer to full speed, but I can't rem what it was.

    I like the classy way it scales the screen, with that slide between normal, 1.5 and full screen. And the graphics maintain clarity regardless of which setting you pick.

    SWEET UPDATE!

    Cheers Nutki!

    [​IMG]
     
  16. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    A very nice update indeed. Love having Mario Land 2 playable at last and the full screen option actually doesn't make the games look bad shockingly. The GBC Donkey Kong Country seems to play a little better ingame, but it might be my imagination. The only issue I have was that this build has broken Shantae. That game won't boot at all in 0.12. You might want to keep 0.11 on hand if you like one the the best GBC games. I suspect Nutki will update soon now.
     
  17. N-TG

    Member N-TG GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Greece, Thessaloniki
    Country:
    Greece
    New version of Lameboy that plays Mario Land 2 FINALY!!!!

    So....shall I praise to your greatness now or later [​IMG]
     
  18. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Mine always played Mario Land 2...
     
  19. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    It played Mario Land 2's normal level, but there was a glitch in I believe all boss battles that made game completion impossible. You couldn't move in battle or something.
     
  20. Tac 21

    Member Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Canada
    ahh I can describe. For the witch battle, you teleport into the tube. When you come out from the other side, your stuck in an infinity loop of tube transporting with screwy graphics- rendering the game impossible to play.
     

Share This Page