Kingston MicroSD cards

Discussion in 'Online Stores and Purchases' started by DSGamer64, Nov 26, 2010.

Nov 26, 2010

Kingston MicroSD cards by DSGamer64 at 5:42 AM (585 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. DSGamer64
    OP

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey guys, I have an inquiry about a Kingston microSD card that I bought with my Supercard DSTWO back when it came out and I am starting to question the authenticity of the card that I got with my order. It's an 8GB, and hasn't seen a lot of use the last few months since I haven't been taking it in and out of my flash card much. But it's been causing me a lot of problems with files and folders incapable of being removed from the memory card, therefor preventing me from even backing up my data before I format it. Can someone verify whether these flash memory cards are authentic or are they just some cheap knock off labeled Kingston because to be honest I am not impressed with the quality of the microSD, most of the other ones I have purchased were just fine.
     
  2. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
  3. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    read the post linked above^

    early microSD cards from shoptemp came from an unofficial supplier.
    After some customers had issues with their cards, they decided to change suppliers going for an official Kingston supplier.

    If you ordered less than 6 months ago you can still have your card exchanged for free [​IMG]
     
  4. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, it sounds as though you bought the microSD card whilst there was trouble with the suppliers.
    That wouldn't be an issue now, but you should contact Shoptemp and ask for a replacement if possible.
     
  5. DSGamer64
    OP

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah, that would be it then. I managed to get important data off it and formatted it, thankfully I have another 8GB Kingston lying around that I can use, since the one that I thought was borked still works after being formatted so I threw it in my cell phone [​IMG]

    Thanks for the info.
     

Share This Page