just updated to 3.3j

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ricflairandy, Aug 20, 2008.

Aug 20, 2008

just updated to 3.3j by ricflairandy at 12:50 PM (1,330 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. ricflairandy
    OP

    Member ricflairandy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    guys, ive just updated tpo 3.3j, what are the drawbacks, ive just tried a truca wii language patched game which i belive is truca signed but it still works.
     
  2. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,370
    Country:
    Sweden
    You believe yes, try one that you KNOW is.
     
  3. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have a Jap wii?

    If you do, then the only drawback is that trucha discs can only be run by gecko OS (not normally).

    If you have a PAL wii then you might have more serious problems.

    However both of these can be solved if necessary.
     
  4. .:Niki:.

    Newcomer .:Niki:. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    OMG
    Country:
    Italy
    Use the downgrader
     
  5. ricflairandy
    OP

    Member ricflairandy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes, its a jap wii. Was trying to work out if it was connected via wifi when i must have clicked to download the update.

    Apart from the truca situation, which doesnt bother me if they can be run by gecko , as i have installed the homebrew channel. are there any major differences?
     
  6. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No. Everything else will work fine.
     
  7. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    Mii OS has been updated, but that's about all.

    The only real change is that the system menu boots with IOS37 - so no more trucha. The only real downside of this that I see, is if you install a WAD with a bad banner - and 'banner brick'... with 3.2 you could make an auto booting disc with wad manager on it (and trucha sign it), boot that, remove the wad.. and you're safe.

    In 3.3 you can't.

    To be safe for this - make sure you have the twilight hack (new, beta, 3.3 friendly version) savegame on your wii before installing any suspect wads. Then you can make an auto-boot copy of zelda, and run homebrew through twilight hack to fix your mess.

    Personally - I am just very weary of which WADs I install on my wii. If possible, I just run things via the Homebrew channel.


    Plusses for running 3.3..... Less likely to brick/semi-brick your wii from out-of-region updates on discs in the future.
     
  8. CambridgeGuy

    Member CambridgeGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Ireland
    No, it doesn't. When you install 3.3, the IOS used previously (I believe it's IOS 30 or 31) is still used, but it is patched so that it no longer has the signing bug.
     
  9. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    to be safe if you dont have a chip, install starfall + twilight hack so you can autoboot zelda.
     
  10. ricflairandy
    OP

    Member ricflairandy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks guys, it has a d2ckey installed aswell.
     
  11. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    I might be wrong, but doesn't the DVD stub (libdi) give remove the fix which stops Trucha?
     
  12. StuMcBill

    Newcomer StuMcBill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    I have a PAL Wii with 3.3E update and I havent had any problems?
     
  13. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So you can still run Trucha discs through Gecko OS. Or you can use Menuloader to force the system menu to use IOS36, which can still run Trucha discs.
     

Share This Page