Homebrew Just a quick question for ps1 emulator in 3DS

sian23

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 18, 2019
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
111
Country
Philippines
Hi guys! Is there other emultor that can simulate ps1 games in 3DS other than Retroarch? That is working better than Retroarch?
Id love to try it if there is any ^^

Thanks!
 

Mythical

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
2,153
Trophies
1
Age
24
XP
2,970
Country
United States
imo psx emulation on 3ds only really works well on the n3ds and it's better for turn based games (FF: Tactics for instance)
 

SCOTT0852

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
1,140
Trophies
0
Location
The Moon
XP
1,107
Country
United States
Only one person worked on Retroarch for 3DS, and that person left a while ago. It's safe to assume that no more work will ever be done on the 3DS port. It's already pretty unstable and tough to get running. The 3DS just isn't powerful enough to properly run PS1 games.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mythical

MrHuu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
531
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
1,412
Country
Netherlands
Only one person worked on Retroarch for 3DS, and that person left a while ago. It's safe to assume that no more work will ever be done on the 3DS port. It's already pretty unstable and tough to get running. The 3DS just isn't powerful enough to properly run PS1 games.

Right.. that's why we're able to run psx games at near full speed with the latest build.

Multiple people have contributed to the 3DS port, and still do.

You're talking nonsense again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zense
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,903
Country
United States
@MrHuu is right. This is nuts to say this, but (as of now) PS1 emulation on the new 3DS series is decent.

I played Metal Gear Solid converted to *.pbp with a compression level of 1, and I'm getting a consistent 50-60 FPS on the experimental nightly PCSX ReARMed core. Certain cut scenes are somewhat messed up, but the game play is holding up well. I haven't crashed at least!

Go try check it out.
 

Zense

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
1,973
Trophies
2
XP
3,854
Country
Italy
@MrHuu is right. This is nuts to say this, but (as of now) PS1 emulation on the new 3DS series is decent.

I played Metal Gear Solid converted to *.pbp with a compression level of 1, and I'm getting a consistent 50-60 FPS on the experimental nightly PCSX ReARMed core. Certain cut scenes are somewhat messed up, but the game play is holding up well. I haven't crashed at least!

Go try check it out.
Wait, so when compressing to pbp you should use the lowest level of compression? I've been using the highest, level 9.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MrHuu
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,903
Country
United States
Wait, so when compressing to pbp you should use the lowest level of compression? I've been using the highest, level 9.
If you use a compression level of 0 (no compression), this causes RetroArch to fail launching the game and then exit out. The minimum required compression is 1.

This is my first time messing with PSX2PSP converter and the PCSX ReARMed core, but I read that higher compression levels require more CPU to decompress the files.
 

Ryccardo

watching Thames TV from London
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,403
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Imola
XP
6,390
Country
Italy
Wait, so when compressing to pbp you should use the lowest level of compression? I've been using the highest, level 9.
More compression means more CPU power required to decode in real time, what did you expect? :)

Level 1 is more than sufficient for "trimming" (super compressing gaps between files), I never really go higher than 3 (all of this on a real PSP), 0 compression is for converting for PS3 :)
 

Zense

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
1,973
Trophies
2
XP
3,854
Country
Italy
More compression means more CPU power required to decode in real time, what did you expect? :)

Level 1 is more than sufficient for "trimming" (super compressing gaps between files), I never really go higher than 3 (all of this on a real PSP), 0 compression is for converting for PS3 :)
Haha I was supecting this but I wanted someone more knowledgable to confirm.
I guess I should finally reformat my sd card as well since I haven't done it since 2015...
 

sian23

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 18, 2019
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
111
Country
Philippines
@MrHuu is right. This is nuts to say this, but (as of now) PS1 emulation on the new 3DS series is decent.

I played Metal Gear Solid converted to *.pbp with a compression level of 1, and I'm getting a consistent 50-60 FPS on the experimental nightly PCSX ReARMed core. Certain cut scenes are somewhat messed up, but the game play is holding up well. I haven't crashed at least!

Go try check it out.
im playing vagrant story rn and its running pretty decent 47fps. im just looking on how to use cheats, cant make it work though ^^

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

@MrHuu is right. This is nuts to say this, but (as of now) PS1 emulation on the new 3DS series is decent.

I played Metal Gear Solid converted to *.pbp with a compression level of 1, and I'm getting a consistent 50-60 FPS on the experimental nightly PCSX ReARMed core. Certain cut scenes are somewhat messed up, but the game play is holding up well. I haven't crashed at least!

Go try check it out.
how to convert to *.pbb?
 

Zense

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
1,973
Trophies
2
XP
3,854
Country
Italy
My plan right now is to test pal games since I noticed that running the ntsc ones in pal mode did help a bit because it only needs to run at 50fps.

I would say 2d games are the ones that can run in ntsc at 60fps, like Bomberman World which you could enable everything and the fps didn't get affected
 

sian23

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 18, 2019
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
111
Country
Philippines
My plan right now is to test pal games since I noticed that running the ntsc ones in pal mode did help a bit because it only needs to run at 50fps.

I would say 2d games are the ones that can run in ntsc at 60fps, like Bomberman World which you could enable everything and the fps didn't get affected

if that works then thats good, run game at 50fps
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    BentlyMods @ BentlyMods: oh i will make it flammable