Just a few questions about installing CFW

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by vengfulr3ap3r, Oct 16, 2013.

1. vengfulr3ap3r
    OP

vengfulr3ap3r Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Nov 13, 2008
    United States
    Hello! I do hope I posted this in the proper section. First of all, I want to say that I am new to the ps3 scene, but I have previously hacked/modded things. So im no stranger to jailbreaking and the like. I was hoping you guys could give me a little advice and clarifications on a few things. I've read tons of guides and tuts, and because the process to installing cfw seems so simple, i feel like maybe im just missing something important or something that's utter common knowledge and i'd rather not end up bricking my system. :P

Anyways, To start, the PS3 in question is a 2010 2501a slim with 3.55 OFW already installed. Im pretty sure all i'd need to do from there is to follow mschumancer69's guide here. Correct? While I was reading around I did stumble onto something about if you downgrade you need to dehash or the next time you flash a firmware it'll brick your system, and truthfully I have no idea if my system has been downgraded or not (It was an ebay purchase) and like I said, I really don't want to brick my system. I assume since it's already on 3.55 ofw, im good to go, I just want to confirm if with people who know a whole lot more about this process than I do if it's alright to go ahead with the install guide. The firmware I intend to flash (If it's important) Is rebugs 4.46. I plan to install the REX edition, or would you guys suggest the lite edition? (I already know that the d-rex edition is for DEX/developer consoles)

The only other questions I can think of of the top of my head would be;

Is there a specific program any of you like to use to check md5's or will any md5 checker work?
    Do you have any information you think might be useful to a complete noob?