Is this right? What I have in my DSTwo?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by nutsnbolts, Dec 24, 2011.

Dec 24, 2011
  1. nutsnbolts
    OP

    Newcomer nutsnbolts Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    Here are files that are on my DSTwo. I need to know if I'm supposed to do anything with some of the files or can I remove them....

    iReader
    iReader_v1.12
    moonshl2
    moonshl2_for_DSTWO
    NDGSBA
    NDSGBA_for_DSTWO_v1.30
    NDSSFC_for_DSTWO)v1.05)eng
    _ds2Video
    _dstwo
    _dstwoplug
    _iMenu
    CATSFC
    dstwo_iplayer_v1.1._eng
    slot2_gba
    slot2_nds

    The ones in question are the ones in BOLD.

    Can someone confirm whether my files were copied incorrectly or....also if you can verify the unbold ones.

    Please help!!
     
  2. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    All the ones in bold are plugins and aren't required for DStwo to work. However simply removing them won't necessarily remove the entries for those plugins from iMenu or dstwo plugin menu -- those broken links require manual removal - i think you can remove them from iMenu's interface but the dstwo plugin menu, if you use it, requires messing with files. that info is in one of the stickies I believe


    edit:,
    also, if seeing directories in your menu when you're browsing through ROMs is something that annoys you, you can set everything aside from the ROMs to "Hidden" and it will still work properly. it doesn't work to hide directories from plugins, but it works for the DS GAME interface.

    also,
    CATSFC is an SNES emulator, and since you're only using a 3DS you can delete both slot2_gba and slot2_nds (slot2 is present only in DS Phat/Lite and I don't know what those are for).
    iplayer and the _ds2video directory can probably be removed as well because they are just for multimedia plugin --

    If you are ONLY using the DStwo for DS ROM and Homebrew functions and not for any of the plugin/emulator features you only need the kernel (i don't know if any optional plugins are required for iMenu to work properly but I haven't used my DStwo in months)
    just know that if you're using a plain kernel without imenu, you'll have like 4 blank icons in the first plugin menu due to its awful interface design *rage*
     
  3. nutsnbolts
    OP

    Newcomer nutsnbolts Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    I guess part of my question is whether the other folder for example ireader version 1.x is right? I don't recall installing or dropping two folders for ireader. I wasn't sure whether I'm supposed to take the contents of what is in the folder of ireader 1.x and drop it into the ireader folder or vise versa.
     
  4. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    I edited my post before I saw your reply, but I see that I misunderstood the purpose of your thread.
    I'm afraid I don't know or have the time to verify what your directory structure should be right now. I hope someone else can help.
     
  5. nutsnbolts
    OP

    Newcomer nutsnbolts Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    Its ok thanks for understanding. Everything seems to work but all these other folders...im pretty sure wasnt standard installation of the card. I could be wrong of course.

    Anyone else can help?
     
  6. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    Where did you get all of those folders from? You have multiple folders that aren't named properly.

    From what I can tell:
    iReader keep this
    iReader_v1.12 delete this
    moonshl2 keep this
    moonshl2_for_DSTWO delete this
    NDGSBA I'm guessing you made a typo when listing this one, NDSGBA is required
    NDSGBA_for_DSTWO_v1.30 delete this, and make sure you're using version 1.21 with game_config.txt
    NDSSFC_for_DSTWO)v1.05)eng delete this if you're using CATSFC'

    I can only guess that you moved the .zip files onto your card and windows is showing them as folders, they really aren't, they're archives. Only the extracted folders matter.
     
  7. nutsnbolts
    OP

    Newcomer nutsnbolts Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah that's what I'm figuring. I don't know how or when I did this but thanks for clarifying this. Do you see any other wierdness?
     
  8. nutsnbolts
    OP

    Newcomer nutsnbolts Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    Can you explain further these two files?

    It say 1.30 isn't that a later version since you're saying I should keep 1.21 and I'm assuming in the config.txt file will state which version I should have?

    What is CATSFC?
     
  9. Crimsonclaw111

    Member Crimsonclaw111 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    NDSGBA v1.21 is an older version of the emulator; it runs games better with the game_config.txt.

    CATSFC is an SNES emulator that boasts better compatibility.
     
  10. nutsnbolts
    OP

    Newcomer nutsnbolts Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    NDSGBA_for_DSTWO_v1.30 delete this, and make sure you're using version 1.21 with game_config.txt

    How do I go about verifying that game.config.txt is version 1.21 or vice versa?
     
  11. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    From the Beginner's Guide sticky:
    Edit: To clarify, game_config.txt is a file listing specific settings for the emulator to use for each specific GBA game. It works on all versions of NDSGBA except the latest, 1.30, which was a minor update anyway. So 1.21 with game_config.txt still has far better ROM compatibility than 1.30, thus it is recommended.
     
  12. nutsnbolts
    OP

    Newcomer nutsnbolts Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    So i should have the latest game.config file. Or should I re-download those files again just to make sure.
     
  13. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    Download the ones in my quote.
     
  14. nutsnbolts
    OP

    Newcomer nutsnbolts Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm links not working for some reason. Any other place to download these files?
     
  15. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    Mediafire is undergoing maintenance, they should be back up in 30 minutes.
     
  16. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    IMO, BAGSFC runs better than CATSFC.
    The only advantages to using CATSFC is that special chip games are supported to an extent.
    Example: Yoshi's Island runs, but really slow.

    CATSFC has much larger frameskip than BAGSFC, which hinders my game experience.

    But Super Mario World already is kind of unenjoyable since the emulator lacks the +24 display setting that is used in SNEmulDS.
    With +24, we were able to see the GUI properly while being able to see the ground properly at the same time. Big win.
    In NDS/BAG/CATSFC, we have to choose between seeing the GUI properly, which is a bad idea since you don't see the ground, or being able to see the ground, but being unable to see the GUI.

    We can use display modes 0 and 4, but it's a lot less enjoyable.
    I prefer playing Super Mario Advance 2 and Super Mario Advance 3 on NDSGBA, less issues and you can see the whole screen.
     

Share This Page