Is this possible?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Capt.Pwnage, Aug 17, 2009.

Aug 17, 2009

Is this possible? by Capt.Pwnage at 3:10 AM (839 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Capt.Pwnage
    OP

    Newcomer Capt.Pwnage Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    For some random reason, it just popped into my head.


    Can you run firmware from another type of flashcart on your flashcart. [EG running EZflash firmware on an acekard]

    i doubt it, but im asking to be sure [​IMG]
     
  2. clegion

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    nah i don't think so i tried to run real r4 firmware on a fake r4 and it doesn't work
     
  3. InsanityToTheMax

    Newcomer InsanityToTheMax Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    You're soul...
    Country:
    Canada
    Actually I've tried running the DSTT firmware (fake destroyer disabled obviously) on a R4 clone (R4i SDHC Upgrade from www.r4i-sdhc.com) and it works.... just some minor slowdowns... Surprisingly, one of the really really really really early Acekard 2 firmwares ran on my card but when I pressed the microSD icon.. it froze... so yeah [​IMG]
     
  4. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    it wont work
    the hradware in the card is programmed to work with a specific software
     
  5. Broeder2

    Newcomer Broeder2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Might work for some, but not alot of combinations
     
  6. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    hahahah
    the same question will pop up every other day [​IMG]

    NO [​IMG]
    unless they are clones or closely related in terms of hardware
     
  7. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its... Possible...
    but not unmodified firmware (unless its closely related (hardware etc....))
     
  8. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    YS Menu is a DSTT firmware that was used in R4. so it needs modification.

    M3 and R4 has similar firmware so they were intercangable before
     
  9. DJ Hobo

    Member DJ Hobo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    Australia
    Most of the time, the answer is no. However, you can run the DSTT firmware on a Supercard DS One, because of their similar hardware.
     

Share This Page