Is this a known issue with PSPStates?

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by GTRagnarok, Jul 31, 2011.

Jul 31, 2011
  1. GTRagnarok
    OP

    Newcomer GTRagnarok Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using v3 of it on a PSPGo. Saving and loading states works flawlessly. However, I'm finding that after loading a state and then trying to do a normal save in the game (Breath of Fire III), it hangs while trying to read my saves. I can't even quit the game from the home menu since it'll freeze on "Please wait..." and I have to hard reset.
     
  2. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why are you using PSPStates when the PSP Go already can save state?
     
  3. koimayeul

    Member koimayeul GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    oh man my sides hurt from laughing >
     
  4. realveemon

    Member realveemon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    Its fine to have PSP states on a PSP GO.. The Go only has one save-state whilst PSP states haves several more..

    This error is known.. I have it on my GO so i can play through certain parts on Crisis Core.. That and it helps if others save over by mistake... This same problem happens to me so can't help there... Maybe V2?

    To my knowledge, the reason it doesn't work is because the Go uses a slightly different firmware due to hardware and such...
     
  5. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Go doesn't have a built in Save-state. It has a resume game function which is totally different. Possibly you've made some changes in the interim, possibly it's a Go specific issue. It's unsurprising that there may be issues since the system was originally coded for the PSP 2000.
     
  6. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    i was actually about to put pspstates on my go (once i find that damn power cord), but this thread's made me reconsider
     
  7. realveemon

    Member realveemon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    I always figured that the pause game function on the GO was taking a quick snapshot of the RAM so when you clicked on resume it was brigning it back exactally how you left it. I used to use this to get TN hen working before it was self signed and it worked..

    I also figured that the PSP states did the same thing but allowed you to save multiple games making it more usefull...

    Can i please have some verification on this matter?
     
  8. GTRagnarok
    OP

    Newcomer GTRagnarok Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    That's right. PSPStates works exactly like save states on emulators. The pause game feature on the PSPGo isn't the same thing and is pretty useless to me.

    Maybe it'll get updated in the future to fix the normal saving problem. I think v3 was the first one with PSPGo support?
     
  9. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unfortunately the Pause feature on the Go is pretty useless generally....it's handy on occasion, but it's not like non-Go owners are lacking a major feature.
     

Share This Page