Is there any way to:

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by Majroa, Aug 23, 2009.

Aug 23, 2009

Is there any way to: by Majroa at 3:58 AM (1,591 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Majroa
    OP

    Member Majroa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, our wireless internet is WPA secured. Is there any hack or so that can make WPA work on my DS?
     
  2. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    If it won't work on a DS lite why will it work on a DS phat. NO there isn't.
     
  3. Inunah

    Banned Inunah The Female Mistaken for a Male.

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, you'll have to downgrade your security to WEP encryption or you won't be able to use Wifi with your Nintendo DS.
     
  4. zuron7

    Member zuron7 RBYG

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    GPS not available in this area
    Country:
    India
    Only the DSi and Wii support WPA encryption.
    So you only have to options.
    1)Remove the encryption.
    2)Access your router and downgrade it to WEP.
     
  5. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Ugh, reminds me of the problem I had. Got ATT Uverse and it was WPA encrypted. I was forced to put it back to WEP with a password in order for the DS to be compatible with it.

    It sucks too because WPA is supposed to be the best router security. WEP is so easy to crack.
     
  6. Velveteer

    Member Velveteer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Australia
    Wait, the DSi supports WPA? That's really good to know. I might end up getting one after all.
     
  7. eSPy

    Member eSPy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    Canada
    meh...i just switch it over to wep when i play with my ds, then switch right back afterwards. chances are someone isnt gonna be tryin to hack in in the short time id be online, and if they did, they wouldnt be on for very long before i switched it on them.
     
  8. Demonbart

    Member Demonbart GBATemp's guitar hero

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,623
    Location:
    Lazytown, yarr
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, the DSi supports WPA, but since ds games aren't made especially for dsi, thy aren't compatible with wpa, so it will just be dsiware for you.
     
  9. mysticwaterfall

    Member mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    You can also get a usb dongle from Newegg for $12.99 that allows your ds to connect to one of your computers. This keeps your computer as WPA, but the dongle still has to be WEP, so it's still a weak point. On the plus side, the dongle only has limited range though. If you do use either of these suggestions, be sure to use MAC filtering.

    EDIT: Just noticed you weren't in the US, Newegg might not work then.
     
  10. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The hybrids like Rabbids Go Home support WPA as one of the DSi features.
     
  11. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    Will this dongle solve my problem described here: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=192463 ?

    Can I use even if my laptop's wireless card doesn't support Soft AP?

    And how about this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16833166041 ?
     

Share This Page