is there any way to see if a wad is safe?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Magus, Dec 1, 2009.

Dec 1, 2009
  1. Magus
    OP

    Member Magus GBATEMP RPG MANIAC

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    i recently was able to install the HBC and i was thinking of installing some other stuff to go along with it,now i know many people fucked up stuff by installing wrong wad which caused the infamous banner brick,my question is

    is there any way to see if a wad is safe to install or at least to use a wad without installing and therefore without risking a banner brick?
     
  2. jceggbert5

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    After you get BootMii as Boot2 or Preloader installed properly, just install the WAD and use the "Boot to HBC" option, then load Wad Manager and remove the WAD. I have banner-bricked 15-20 times and Preloader save me every time.
     
  3. Magus
    OP

    Member Magus GBATEMP RPG MANIAC

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
  4. k4ever

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Dont install preloader. Im way better with bootmii as a nand back up device than with preloader.
     
  5. Magus
    OP

    Member Magus GBATEMP RPG MANIAC

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    well the point is that the suggested solution is to have a backup plan if anything get screwed up anyway
    better than not trying to screw up anything at this point [​IMG]
     
  6. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    By all means, restore an entire backup instead of just using preloader and wad manager to remove the one problem wad.

    That's like reformatting your whole computer to uninstall a single PC game.

    Bootmii != Preloader not only in function but purpose.
     
  7. ppol

    Newcomer ppol Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I installed a bad wad, and have bricked my system. Boots up with a blank screen - doesn't show the health warning screen at all. I do have bootmii installed, and can access my NAND backups and HBC. Uninstalling the bad wad has not helped unbrick my wii, nor has restoring my 3.2U or 4.1U NAND backups.

    I'm trying to work out what the NAND backup does not backup, and have tried replacing setting.txt, but still no luck. Unfortunately, the backup is not 100% reliable, and I couldn't test the WAD file prior to installing.
     
  8. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Bootmii restore usually fixes most things.

    What WAD was it? System Menu or IOS60 by any chance? If it was IOS60, be sure you used v6174, not v6400.
     
  9. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,653
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    yeah lol i format when i uninstall a program

    just get your wads from a trusted source, don't mess with garbage or unnecessary stuff, thats how bricks occur.

    its like when buying your drugs, make sure you know your dealer
     
  10. ppol

    Newcomer ppol Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    It was a custom IOS53. I'm starting to think it may just be a faulty bluetooth module, as I can run bootmii, restore my backups (which I know they work, as I've used them previously), enter recovery mode using the dpad on my GC controller etc, but still have a black screen on booting. My wiimotes don't sync at all in HBC.

    If I can find a small screwdriver I'll check to see if my bluetooth module is loose, or failing that, buy a new one.
     
  11. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    good for you, maybe you have bootmii as boot2; but for wii's with bootmii as ios...i don't think so. preloader is a necessity.
     
  12. xaxa

    Newcomer xaxa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Country:
    United States
    This may or may not help you, but if you want to check whether a wad is "good" or not, you could always use the Dolphin emulator. It doesn't take much to run wiiware/vc games, so you should be able to emulate it.
     
  13. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    makes sense. nothing to loose using dolphin. or maybe install in the emulated nand then load off triiforce.
     
  14. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    if you can get it to work not everyone has got new computer
     
  15. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    through emulated nand then, off triiforce.
     

Share This Page