Hacking is there any way to see if a wad is safe?

Magus

GBATEMP RPG MANIAC
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2002
Messages
1,258
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
496
Country
i recently was able to install the HBC and i was thinking of installing some other stuff to go along with it,now i know many people fucked up stuff by installing wrong wad which caused the infamous banner brick,my question is

is there any way to see if a wad is safe to install or at least to use a wad without installing and therefore without risking a banner brick?
 

jceggbert5

Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2008
Messages
992
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
USA, Earth, MilkyWay
Website
romhaxor.bplaced.net
XP
537
Country
United States
After you get BootMii as Boot2 or Preloader installed properly, just install the WAD and use the "Boot to HBC" option, then load Wad Manager and remove the WAD. I have banner-bricked 15-20 times and Preloader save me every time.
 

Magus

GBATEMP RPG MANIAC
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2002
Messages
1,258
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
496
Country
well the point is that the suggested solution is to have a backup plan if anything get screwed up anyway
better than not trying to screw up anything at this point
unsure.gif
 

Mark McDonut

GBATemp's Resident Ghostbuster
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
853
Trophies
1
XP
1,953
Country
United States
k4ever said:
Dont install preloader. Im way better with bootmii as a nand back up device than with preloader.

By all means, restore an entire backup instead of just using preloader and wad manager to remove the one problem wad.

That's like reformatting your whole computer to uninstall a single PC game.

Bootmii != Preloader not only in function but purpose.
 

ppol

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
18
Trophies
1
XP
181
Country
United States
Magus said:
well the point is that the suggested solution is to have a backup plan if anything get screwed up anyway
better than not trying to screw up anything at this point
unsure.gif

I installed a bad wad, and have bricked my system. Boots up with a blank screen - doesn't show the health warning screen at all. I do have bootmii installed, and can access my NAND backups and HBC. Uninstalling the bad wad has not helped unbrick my wii, nor has restoring my 3.2U or 4.1U NAND backups.

I'm trying to work out what the NAND backup does not backup, and have tried replacing setting.txt, but still no luck. Unfortunately, the backup is not 100% reliable, and I couldn't test the WAD file prior to installing.
 

VashTS

Beat it, son
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,282
Trophies
1
Age
38
Location
Upstate NY
XP
3,435
Country
United States
yeah lol i format when i uninstall a program

just get your wads from a trusted source, don't mess with garbage or unnecessary stuff, thats how bricks occur.

its like when buying your drugs, make sure you know your dealer
 

ppol

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
18
Trophies
1
XP
181
Country
United States
techboy said:
Bootmii restore usually fixes most things.

What WAD was it? System Menu or IOS60 by any chance? If it was IOS60, be sure you used v6174, not v6400.

It was a custom IOS53. I'm starting to think it may just be a faulty bluetooth module, as I can run bootmii, restore my backups (which I know they work, as I've used them previously), enter recovery mode using the dpad on my GC controller etc, but still have a black screen on booting. My wiimotes don't sync at all in HBC.

If I can find a small screwdriver I'll check to see if my bluetooth module is loose, or failing that, buy a new one.
 

razorback78

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
1,183
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
135
Country
k4ever said:
Dont install preloader. Im way better with bootmii as a nand back up device than with preloader.
good for you, maybe you have bootmii as boot2; but for wii's with bootmii as ios...i don't think so. preloader is a necessity.
 

xaxa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
102
Trophies
1
Location
New York, NY
Website
Visit site
XP
763
Country
United States
This may or may not help you, but if you want to check whether a wad is "good" or not, you could always use the Dolphin emulator. It doesn't take much to run wiiware/vc games, so you should be able to emulate it.
 

razorback78

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
1,183
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
135
Country
xaxa said:
This may or may not help you, but if you want to check whether a wad is "good" or not, you could always use the Dolphin emulator. It doesn't take much to run wiiware/vc games, so you should be able to emulate it.
makes sense. nothing to loose using dolphin. or maybe install in the emulated nand then load off triiforce.
 

longtom1

Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
2,641
Trophies
0
Location
Honey Oils inc.
Website
Visit site
XP
186
Country
razorback78 said:
xaxa said:
This may or may not help you, but if you want to check whether a wad is "good" or not, you could always use the Dolphin emulator. It doesn't take much to run wiiware/vc games, so you should be able to emulate it.
makes sense. nothing to loose using dolphin.
if you can get it to work not everyone has got new computer
 

razorback78

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
1,183
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
135
Country
longtom1 said:
razorback78 said:
xaxa said:
This may or may not help you, but if you want to check whether a wad is "good" or not, you could always use the Dolphin emulator. It doesn't take much to run wiiware/vc games, so you should be able to emulate it.
makes sense. nothing to loose using dolphin.
if you can get it to work not everyone has got new computer
through emulated nand then, off triiforce.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    OMG THAT'S DISGUSTING, where would one find the best AI art sites/apps so they can avoid them?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Captain America, when the reference was understood.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Dunno about other sites but I saw it on e-hentai.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Search the "misc" tab for "generated" and you'll get a million galleries, but I recommend you filter by rating, 4 stars or more.
    +1
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    and it allows you to generate your own I assume?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I can post this here because it's PG13.
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    holy fuck
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    need more male
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I mean you can tell it's not a real photo, that it's been edited at least, but I would never believe this was a drawing, made BY a computer.
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    yeah really only a few tells that its not real
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    crazy that it's already this advanced, in a decade all the best fap material will be AI-generated
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    Looks obvious
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    if it doesn't kill us first
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    who cares... [dies happy]
  • Veho @ Veho:
    When I was a kid this is what digital images of women looked like:
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    till we got leotard samus
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    don't ever say ninty didn't give fanservice
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Yeah, those three flesh-colored pixels blew my mind.
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    gud times
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Nowadays we can just tell Google to plug our search history into Midjourney and generate us bespoe porn tailored exactly to our tastes.
  • GwenHalbaida @ GwenHalbaida:
    I LOVE IT! Midjourney is the best
    GwenHalbaida @ GwenHalbaida: I LOVE IT! Midjourney is the best