Is there any way to get Wii Dumper to work with a USB LAN Adapter?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Krusty104, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. Krusty104
    OP

    Newcomer Krusty104 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys,

    I've used Wii Dumper 1.2 using the SD card in my Wii to copy a game disc and found that it works quite well. I haven't got WiFi here at home, so I bought a Wii USB LAN Adapter in the hope that I would be able to dump discs to my laptop via Ethernet in less time instead of the 6+ hours it took me the SD card way.

    I don't seem to be able to use the adapter in this manner though, Wii Dumper only has Wifi, SD or USB options. I've tried WiFi and USB and it has only ended in tears.

    Is it possible to make this work? [​IMG]
     
  2. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    It works fine for me. Use the network mode (might be called wifi).

    Check that you have set up your wired connection settings properly (mainly that you set it as your current connection).

    If you're still having issues try Wiihttpd, that dumps disks to a very similar routine.
     
  3. Krusty104
    OP

    Newcomer Krusty104 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Been playing with this again tonite and I still can't get it going (error = -116), but I have a couple of quick questions. Does the internet Connection Test have to succeed at least once for Wii Dumper to find the connection in the first place? I haven't actually connected my Wii to the internet at any stage yet, although the USB LAN Adapter is at last showing a MAC address in the Wii settings.

    And once the Wii knows it has successfully connected once to the internet, does that connection then work for the purpose of using Wii Dumper to copy discs *without* being connected to the internet? Or would I have to connect to the internet every time I want to use Wii Dumper?

    I ask this because it would be *really* difficult to have the Wii and my ADSL phone line connected at the same time (they are at opposite ends of my house). I'm connecting both the Wii and my laptop to my Billion ADSL router.

    Thanks for any help,

    K. [​IMG]
     
  4. 20clarky08

    Member 20clarky08 Official Wii Freak

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    ScouseLand
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    unfortunatley you need to pass a connection test once i believe for the connection to be certified.

    this is the understanding i have anyway...

    20clarky08
     
  5. Krusty104
    OP

    Newcomer Krusty104 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, had another bash at this today, and success - Wii DVD Dumper is working now. [​IMG]

    To help other noobs who might be wondering how this works with a USB LAN Adapter - You definitely need to hook the Wii up to the internet and pass a Connection Test once. After that, Wii Dumper will use the connection and it doesn't care if you are connected to the internet any more.

    Thanks for the help guys! [​IMG]
     
  6. 20clarky08

    Member 20clarky08 Official Wii Freak

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    ScouseLand
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    whats the speed like Krusty??? might invest in one if its alot faster..
     
  7. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    Good Job Krusty - well done
     
  8. Krusty104
    OP

    Newcomer Krusty104 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Speed is a 'lil strange ... I dumped Rayman Raving Rabbids last night. The transfer started out at around 470K/sec, then when I checked it about an hour later, I was getting around 360K/sec, and an hour later again it was around the 270K/sec mark. All up, it took over 3 hours to dump this disc onto my laptop, but my laptop network port and router network ports are all 10/100, not gigabit LAN - dunno if this would make any difference anyway. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page