1. VinsCool

    OP VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,235
    Country:
    Canada
    As in, the sound that is generated from the system, before being outputed through audio jack?

    I am playing around with XMplay, abusing a pluging bug, which allows me to change the music pitch, if I change the frequency mid-playing. Instead of being "changed" the frequency remains the same, but the pitch is modified that way.

    What I would like to do is recording the RAW output, in high quality, in realtime, since I can't just use the native XMplay WAV writter in the process, considering that, like I said, it's caused by an slight output oversight. I would like to be able to save these experiments, to be listenable later on.

    Any suggestion? I would be surprized if there is no software capable of recording the RAW sound output.
     
  2. Jacklack3

    Jacklack3 ( ゚ヮ゚) buddie was here
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,833
    Country:
    Canada
    uze mlg pr0 raw meat rec0rdrrr...



















    You can also just get a microphone and put it next to the speakers for now.
     
  3. VinsCool

    OP VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,235
    Country:
    Canada
    Haha, indeed, that would technically work, but I want an HQ recording of this haha
     
  4. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    So you want to record the raw sounds which come out of the system? I suggest you use a screen capture software, and then convert the MP4 or whatever to an MP3.
     
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  5. VinsCool

    OP VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,235
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it guarantee to at least keep the current sample rate? I want to get at least 96000hz in lossless .wav :P
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    That, I have no idea. :ha:
     
  7. retrospect

    retrospect GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    368
    Country:
    I think this is an interesting topic. I would suggest Hydrogen Audio forums (then come back and tell us the answer :))
     
    VinsCool likes this.
  8. VinsCool

    OP VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,235
    Country:
    Canada
  9. Shadowfied

    Shadowfied GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2,401
    Country:
    Recording already encoded audio can never be lossless, afaik.

    If you just want to record PC audio though, have you tried just using the built in Stereo Mix?
     
  10. VinsCool

    OP VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,235
    Country:
    Canada
    the thing is, here, that audio I would like to record is already lossless. it's raw 96000/192000HZ output!

    I simply want to record the Slowed/fasten pitch output realtime, using, of course, lossless 96000hz from my pc :P
     
  11. mrtofu

    mrtofu GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,032
    Country:
    Taiwan
    deleted
     
    Last edited by mrtofu, Sep 21, 2020
  12. Bubsy Bobcat

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1,505
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    I use Audacity. Just sort out stereo mix on your Windows sound settings to get stereo mix working with Audacity and then you'll be able to record sound from your PC.
     
  13. Shadowfied

    Shadowfied GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2,401
    Country:
    Well, enable Stereo Mix on your PC. Right click the audio icon in the tray, choose Recording Devices, if you don't see Stereo Mix in the list, right-click > "Show disabled devices" and it should pop up. Enable that, then choose it in Audacity. Record a bit then check the spectogram to see if it reaches your desired frequencies.
     
    VinsCool likes this.
  14. VinsCool

    OP VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,235
    Country:
    Canada
    I'll give this a shot! Thanks. That's the Audacity tutorial I saw basically, haha
     
  15. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,352
    Country:
    France
    Windows XP used to have "what you hear" as record input source with sound blaster card.
    I don't have it anymore on Win7 :(

    Realtek audio has one, it's named "stereo mix", but it's disabled (and hidden) by default in your sound input setting menu.
    right click to display hidden sources and enable it.

    You should be able to use any recorder program now (audacity, goldwave, sound forge, etc.) and select that source as recorder input.
    I tried, but it didn't work, probably because the "stereo mix" is linked to my mother board's sound chipset, and I'm using another sound card.
    if you have multiple output sources, try to set the correct card as default sound.

    Edit:
    Ninja'd by shadowfied :P


    If you don't have stereo mix option:

    I googled quickly, and found one but it seems to save to mp3, which is not RAW HQ you want.
    http://www.empro10001.com/
    I think you should be able to find many other software by searching "record what you hear".
     
    VinsCool likes this.
  16. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Also of note is if you have a Creative card, they tend to call Stereo Mix "What U Hear" instead.
     
    VinsCool likes this.
  17. VinsCool

    OP VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,235
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, Audacity is doing exactly what I want! Thanks to everyone who helped me :)

    If mine are named "Mappeur de sons Microsoft" and "Haut Parleur - Conexant SmartAudio", I'd assume that the second option is what I need? :P
     
    Shadowfied likes this.
  18. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    According to Google Trans, that means "Loud Speaker" (sorry, teach me French!)..is that more accurately translated as microphone? If so, then probably not. If it's closer to stereo mix then yeah.
     
    VinsCool likes this.
  19. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,352
    Country:
    France
    "haut parleur" is the translation for "speaker"
     
    daxtsu and VinsCool like this.
  20. Xanthe

    Xanthe Costco Executive Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Messages:
    907
    Country:
    United States
    Set the default microphone to your computers speakers
    Then go into audacity and set the microphone to your speaker
     
    VinsCool likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - software, windows, record