Is my Wii Doomed??

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by solidsnake40sw, Oct 12, 2009.

Oct 12, 2009

Is my Wii Doomed?? by solidsnake40sw at 10:12 PM (1,586 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. solidsnake40sw
    OP

    Newcomer solidsnake40sw Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    Ok this is my first post but I've been around for a while just didn't need to post until now. Here is my situation, I accidently deleted my IOS60.wad file using wad manager. Now my menu system is gone and when I turn on the wii, all i got was a black screen. I had preloader and bootmii installed (bootmii was installed as a IOS). When I press reset to bring up preloader it won't load. I've tried savemiifrii using a gamecube controller but it didn't work (did not see version at bottom right screen). Are there still hope for my Wii? Any tip or help is appreciated. And yes I screw up bad....but it's a learning process.
     
  2. asdf

    Member asdf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Why the HELL did you delete the System Menu IOS?! Well there's nothing you can do now! Sending it to Nintendo is your only option.

    Edit: Ooh, Guild is looking at the page, can't wait to see what he puts.
     
  3. solidsnake40sw
    OP

    Newcomer solidsnake40sw Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    My Wii was purcashed in November of 2008. Is my warranty still good? Will nintendo know that it's been messed with.?
     
  4. asdf

    Member asdf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt it and yes, they will.
     
  5. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    yes...yes it is. send it to N and be prepared to pay to get it fixed.
     
  6. Deviyl

    Member Deviyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    418
    Country:
    United States
    How do you accidentally delete IOS60 using wad manager? You'd have needed IOS60.wad on your SD card in order to delete it.. so you had to do a bit more than press a button.

    I don't suppose you have PreLoader/BootMii installed?
     
  7. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hope for the best. There's a change Nintendo will charge a lot for repairing the wii, because of the homebrew.
     
  8. ultraburn

    Newcomer ultraburn Newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not always the case , I sent mine kids Wii back after removing a Wii Clip , it also had just about everthing Homebrew installed.
    I even used a permanent marker on the black screws to restore its original look.This was a Uk return and Nintendo took about 2 weeks to send a new one.
     
  9. BlackEnigma

    Member BlackEnigma GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    I know I took the IOS60 wad off of my SD card as soon as I was done with it. I pretty much tell others to do the same. Not much good can come from keeping it there. Put it somewhere else if you really want to keep it.
     
  10. solidsnake40sw
    OP

    Newcomer solidsnake40sw Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    How will they know?? The menu system has been deleted? What will they do if they found out that it's been messed with?
     
  11. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    they'll know trust me
     
  12. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They can still look at the internal system files and stuff and look what titles you had installed.
     
  13. solidsnake40sw
    OP

    Newcomer solidsnake40sw Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    Can i buy a broken...(not hack bricked) ..a none hacked wii which the laser is not working anymore and replace it with my disc drive?? Will it work?
     
  14. Sheimi

    Member Sheimi A cute Vixen!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,866
    Location:
    Tachikawa
    Country:
    Japan
    If you had bootmii or preloader installed, you might be in luck. Did you use any title deleater?
     
  15. solidsnake40sw
    OP

    Newcomer solidsnake40sw Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    Yes bootmii was installed as IOS as well as preloader. No i did not use title deleater, i used wad manager.
     
  16. Sheimi

    Member Sheimi A cute Vixen!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,866
    Location:
    Tachikawa
    Country:
    Japan
    Can you get bootmii or preloader to boot?
     
  17. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    He can't boot BootMii because his console has it as an IOS. The only way to boot it directly is by using Preloader v0.30 or v0.29 (booting the HBC and then, loading the IOS 254), that is gone because I'm pretty sure it was using the IOS 60. No IOS 60 means no Preloader, no System Menu and no Recovery Menu. LOL.
     
  18. bach3609

    Member bach3609 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    Loading................
    Country:
    Vietnam
    What if there was some way to auto boot the HBC?
     
  19. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    The only way I know to achieve this is by using recovery discs that boot up the TitleID "JODI", the ones that need the Recovery Menu. In a few words, I think he can't, :/. Maybe someone else can "iluminate" him...
     

Share This Page