Is My 3DS Bricked?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by DeathUriel, Apr 17, 2015.

  1. DeathUriel
    OP

    DeathUriel Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Apr 17, 2015
    Brazil
    Twilight Realm
    I have this small 3DS that was 4.5.
    I installed a couple of legit CIA (Pokémon X and AS). They obviously didn't work because of the diferent system version...

    I tryied using Smash on gateway to update the sysnand up to 9.2.
    I used this Smash release:
    Super.Smash.Bros.USA.READNFO.3DS-BigBlueBox - 9.2.0 FW


    The update looked fine. But, in the end when I supposed it would restart, it just kept there with a black screen as if it was starting the game. After some time I shutdown the system and try to start. There was no black screen, no error screen, nor blue screen. It doesn't show anything, both screens don't even turn on. The wireless doesn't respond (can't turn it on). The 3D is faded as if playing something that doesn't support it and it doesn't look to respond to any command other than force shutdown.

    I already tryied removing the gateway, removing the SD, removing the battery. Nothing changes...
    Is this some kind of brick? I didn't find any description that matched my brick.

    I do have a back-up of my sysnand. Would just a nand restore help? If so, could someone give me a link to the tutorial (for small 3DS), I really tryied but found only XL's tutorial.
     


  2. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die

    Member
    3,002
    1,054
    Jun 28, 2014
    United States
    Arizona Bay
    I can only assume you didn't have emunand installed and the update went to your system nand due to no emunand present.

    http://3dbrew.org/wiki/Hardware

    ^^for the pin outs^^
     
  3. DeathUriel
    OP

    DeathUriel Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Apr 17, 2015
    Brazil
    Twilight Realm
    Actually the objective WAS using it to update sysnand.
    Thanks, but I still need a tutorial to find what goes where on the SD adapter.
     
  4. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die

    Member
    3,002
    1,054
    Jun 28, 2014
    United States
    Arizona Bay

    You can't update system nand via a cart or rom with gateway, as you can see you get a black screen semi-brick

    As far as what goes where follow the youtube videos or tons of other 3ds tutorials, they are all the same, I though you just need the 3ds specific information
     
  5. DeathUriel
    OP

    DeathUriel Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Apr 17, 2015
    Brazil
    Twilight Realm
    Oh... So, the pins are the "same", I just need to find out which is where and link them to the SD adapter just like any tutorial for XL right? I already tryied this on the XL, so I guess I know how to go from here. Thanks.
     
  6. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die

    Member
    3,002
    1,054
    Jun 28, 2014
    United States
    Arizona Bay

    Yes, the pin maps for the 3ds are in different places but once found everything is the same from there
     
  7. DeathUriel
    OP

    DeathUriel Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Apr 17, 2015
    Brazil
    Twilight Realm
    Thanks a lot for the help. Will buy a soldering kit and try this myself.
     
  8. DeathUriel
    OP

    DeathUriel Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Apr 17, 2015
    Brazil
    Twilight Realm
    Oh, and just for the record... Afterwards, with an original Smash I can do the update with no worries, right?
     
  9. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die

    Member
    3,002
    1,054
    Jun 28, 2014
    United States
    Arizona Bay

    Yes that there is no problem as long as you don't have an update nag or wifi on
     
  10. mb2010

    mb2010 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    63
    19
    Jan 12, 2015
    Good luck with the recovery. The small 3ds nand mod is quite a bit harder than the XL. You will need to either remove the card slot or use the tiny pad on the opposite side of the motherboard for the CLK point. I opted to remove the motherboard and it took me a lot longer than doing an XL due to all the ribbon cables.
     
  11. keven3477

    keven3477 Fresh Prince of Lemonade

    Member
    866
    1,300
    Jul 12, 2012
    United States
    Somwhere you can never find.
    but still, im curious on what caused the brick, was it installing the cias? because if it was I need to know so I don't attempt installing legit cias
     
  12. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die

    Member
    3,002
    1,054
    Jun 28, 2014
    United States
    Arizona Bay

    Updating system nand past 7.0 using a rom caused the brick
     
  13. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member
    14,119
    9,455
    Sep 23, 2013
    no, its update sysnand while in GW mode, the update doesn't get applied properly which results in a brick
     
    keven3477 likes this.
  14. mb2010

    mb2010 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    63
    19
    Jan 12, 2015
    No it was using a gateway rom to update. I remember reading about it but can't remember the reason.
     
    keven3477 likes this.
  15. keven3477

    keven3477 Fresh Prince of Lemonade

    Member
    866
    1,300
    Jul 12, 2012
    United States
    Somwhere you can never find.
    thanks for telling me this, there was a chance I was going to update a friends 3ds using this method, but now I know better.
    however I did update that same 3ds from 4.2u to 4.5u using an animalcrossing gw rom. should I be worried or am I fine?
     
  16. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die

    Member
    3,002
    1,054
    Jun 28, 2014
    United States
    Arizona Bay
    Like i mentioned above, from my findings 7.0 and lower seem to work. i can only assume the 7.x keys are to blame
     
  17. DarkFlare69

    DarkFlare69 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    4,691
    2,516
    Dec 8, 2014
    United States
    Ohio
  18. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    11,876
    5,026
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    Alternatively you could get someone to install the mod for you, there are a couple of members here who do it and it's reasonably priced.
    hundshamer is one. Can't remember the other. Hundshamer is closer to your location anyways as the other one is in EU.

    Depends on whether you trust yourself enough with a soldering iron to attempt the mod yourself on a regular 3DS. That CLK(?) pad on the opposite side of the board looks really tiny.
     
  19. DeathUriel
    OP

    DeathUriel Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Apr 17, 2015
    Brazil
    Twilight Realm
    Actually it will be my first time soldering. The experience with XL was actually assisting a friend doing so. I know it is quite risky. But I can't expend much on this 3DS, I still want to sell it for some profit. It is not my main system. My main system is a XL with full original stuff and no hacking. Anyway, I already wanted to buy a soldering kit and start doing mods, so this will be a big reason to try and learn it.

    I live in brazil, so even if it is reasonably priced, the giant expense in shipping (sending and receiving), the ridiculous dollar conversion (courtesy of our govern's policies destroying our economy) and the absurd waits for the shipping (my last international package arrived 60 days late), make it a big no-no...

    Anyway, as I am not willing to expend money I don't have on this hardware, then it is literrally a brick to me now. I can try soldering it myself, and any progress I get would be pure profit.
     
    gamesquest1 likes this.
  20. frighs

    frighs Member

    Newcomer
    40
    4
    Mar 11, 2015
    Brazil
    GO! you can do it! We are Brazilians! We never give up! :grog:
     
    DeathUriel likes this.