Is it worth buying a DSTWO?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Verack, Nov 12, 2010.

Nov 12, 2010

Is it worth buying a DSTWO? by Verack at 2:04 PM (1,441 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Verack
    OP

    Member Verack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    Well, after I got sick and tired of my m3real refusing to load, and having a hard time with AP, along with poor Xenon falling off the face of the internet, I decided to look into buying a DSTWO. The cost isn't much of a concern, but is it worth buying one with the 3DS so close to release?
     
  2. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes. Also, you should take a look at the stickies and ask.gbatemp.net next time, they'll give you sufficient information.
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The Supercard team has said they think they can find a way to make it work on the 3DS (at least in DS mode)... and it's actually plausible, considering how advanced their bootloader is compared to all the other carts (and that the 3DS will run official DS carts).

    It's a $35 thing, and the 3DS is months away... furthermore it could be ages until a 3DS flash cart comes out (if one comes out at all, it might be a softmod).
     
  4. Verack
    OP

    Member Verack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome to see the fast responses. Just two more questions:
    does DSTWO work fine with my DS lite? I've only really heard of people using it on DSi's and XL's.
    Can I use my GBA ram expansion with the DSTWO on my lite? I saw that the DSTWO seems to have compatibility issues at times with certain GBA games, and I was wondering if I could run them in slot-2 with the DSTWO + ram expansion.

    EDIT: sorry about asking in the wrong spot, Nadrian. I'm just a bit new here, and wasn't aware there was an ask section.
     
  5. ibds

    Newcomer ibds Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Brazil
    I bought one last month...

    -- Its fast, run every game i try to load (including pokemon black/white)
    -- Has a GBA, SNES and mame emus, so.. lot of games..
    -- Has a ebook reader.. I use to read mangas.. its perfect for it
    -- And since yesterday it run movies.. Im watching hajime no ippo (Anime) on it.

    .. its worth
     
  6. Stevetry

    Banned Stevetry Most perverted person in GBATEMP

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,294
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yes and Yes. Works fine in a DS/Lite, and can use a slot-2 (with the GBA Exploader homebrew) to run GBA games natively for full compatibility (though you still might need to patch some games to make them save properly).
     
  8. Verack
    OP

    Member Verack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    Good to hear. Thanks for all the quick responses and help!
     
  9. wolfmanz51

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
  10. TheTwoR's

    Member TheTwoR's Yay I can finally edit this thingy :D

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    Country:
    Belgium
    Okay I didn't bother reading your post [​IMG] But I did read the title.
    If you have an Acekard2i, no need to move to DSTwo.
    Any other flashcard must be thrown in the trash and replaced my the DSTwo or Acekard2i.
     

Share This Page