Is It Possible? Self Booting Snes disc with classic controller support

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by jerrylewis, Nov 21, 2008.

  1. jerrylewis
    OP

    Newcomer jerrylewis Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    is it possible to make a self boot snes rom and emulator dvd with classic controller support with out home brew

    I do have a modchip wiikey 2 with wii firmware 3,4u

    any help or point me into the right direction thanks
     
  2. jerrylewis
    OP

    Newcomer jerrylewis Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    BUMP any one with any help
     
  3. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    First off, you need the homebrew for the emulator... that's what the emulator is... a homebrew application for emulating SNES games.

    as for self-booting, I believe the only way to "self boot" is to change the boot type on a Wii disc, not sure how to do that, but there are guides on here to tell you how.

    Why not just use your SD card and a SNES channel? Turn it on, and 2 A's later, your up and running with Wiimote/Classic support...
     
  4. jerrylewis
    OP

    Newcomer jerrylewis Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    ok i dont have the homebrew channel so how would i go about installing the snes channel on firmware 3.4
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Impossible, firmware 3.4 won't allow that. At this moment Wii homebrew is impossible for you
    An autobooting gamecube mode snes-emulator will probably still work. I was already using that before the whole wii homebrew scene got started.
     
  6. jerrylewis
    OP

    Newcomer jerrylewis Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    as i dont have a gamecube padle that is the full reason wanted classic controller support
     
  7. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Guess there's no solution now for you then. In gamecube mode, the classic controller won't work.
     
  8. jerrylewis
    OP

    Newcomer jerrylewis Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    so there isnt any way to boot snes emulator that has classic controller support
    with out homebrew or gamecube paddle if i can get it to boot with a gamecube paddle is it possible once getting it to boot after it loads to use a classic controller
     
  9. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    There's just no way now. You don't have twilight hack / hbc installed, and under firmware 3.4 you can't do that anymore.
    And in GC mode, the classic controller will never work. You shouldn't have updated your wii. Now you'll have to wait until they find a new way to get homebrew running
    and they're working on that, read this http://hackmii.com/2008/11/34-and-recent-updates
     
  10. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Actually with some effort you can create such a disc using iso template released on the hackmii web site...
    But you can't use it in on a clean 3.4 system menu since the disc will be trucha signed and won't be read on >3.2 system menu...

    And it's not worth the effort since that emulator can already be used using either homebrew channel or a custom channel
     
  11. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    well, since he has the modchip, why not just load the HBC disc?

    That should still work under 3.4, right? Don't need the TPHack for the disc if he's got a modchip...
     
  12. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    HBC installer is also trucha signed and won't work on >3.2
     
  13. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    won't work, that disc is trucha-signed.
     
  14. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    eh... was just a thought... didn't know it was Tsigned...
     
  15. jerrylewis
    OP

    Newcomer jerrylewis Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    ok shit never new anything about the hombrew till this morning bought my wii yesterday took it in box to get it modchipped came home and serched on what i can do with a modded wii thanks for all the help
     
  16. killplaystation

    Member killplaystation GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    burn back-ups, and use something else for homebrew. or go out and spend the $10 or less on a GC pad...
     

Share This Page