Is it just me...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Starcruiser, Dec 29, 2010.

Dec 29, 2010

Is it just me... by Starcruiser at 6:05 AM (1,437 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. Starcruiser
    OP

    Newcomer Starcruiser Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I recently softmodded my wii (no, not a noob) and I want to back up some of my discs in my new computer's HDD.
    Here's the problem: I load the app from the homebrew channel, it loads, and then nothing. Just a blank screen.
    I have IOS58 v24.32 installed on a 4.3U wii, and I have seen that some apps require lower versions. I try to modify the IOS, but I get the same problem.
    I already reloaded my NAND from backup, still nothing. Is there something I'm doing wrong? Am I missing something?
    The homebrew channel reads the boot.dol files fine for the dumper and IOS apps, I guess the error is in the execution?
     


  2. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    Starcruiser
    Today, 10:05 PM
    Post #1


    Newbie
     
  3. Starcruiser
    OP

    Newcomer Starcruiser Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    No I'm seriously not a noob.
    I have modded consoles before, starting with my old ps2.

    EDIT: I didn't think to take the GCB memory card out... Ill try that.

    EDIT 2: Nope, still no dice... Other apps are working fine, it's just when I try to mod the IOS or load a disc dumper...
     
  4. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States

    did you do what I said? http://gwht.wikidot.com/ios236
     
  5. Starcruiser
    OP

    Newcomer Starcruiser Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I hate those text-only interfaces because my tv sucks, badly. It flickers a lot and cuts off the bottom and sides...
    anyway when I installed the new cIOS you linked me to, I still have the same problem. It said it completed, and exited to the HBC, so I checked the IOS version... unchanged. Is that normal? Probably not. I tried loading my app that originally gave me troubles... still a black screen.
    stand by for diagnostic results.
     
  6. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    alright sounds good, i'll check back in a few.
     
  7. Starcruiser
    OP

    Newcomer Starcruiser Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I installed and ran Dop Mii and ran a syscheck.
    After all the warnings about the possibility of bricking, do I want to continue, blah blah blah...
    It said 27 IOS's are able to be tested or something like that.
    It commenced the test of each IOS... and I encountered an "exception" message.
    Should I try again or am I just lucky I didn't get bricked?
     
  8. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    i need the to see the syscheck file. see if dop-mii saves them look at your sd card root
     
  9. Starcruiser
    OP

    Newcomer Starcruiser Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I don't see anything that is out of the ordinary...
    any idea what file name I should be looking for? The app had a few different files to install in different locations... any idea where I should look?
    Maybe you could even suggest another app?

    EDIT: the app never finished whatever it was doing when it crashed...

    EDIT 2: Using the Dop Mii app I could downgrade my system menu version if that could be an issue... scan failed again btw...
     
  10. Starcruiser
    OP

    Newcomer Starcruiser Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    CAN NO ONE HELP MII... [​IMG]
     
  11. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    if you're not gonna run syscheck (http://www.mediafire.com/?warxgd9hkw2wg7g) and post your results, I can't help you.
     
  12. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    The root of your SD card. There should be a new file called "syscheck.csv" or something. Open it (with notepad, if you have to), then copy-paste it here.

    And no, there is no other program than that. I think dop-mii actually uses the same code as the syscheck application itself.


    Finally: no offense, but experience with other consoles doesn't make you any less of a newby when it comes to wii hacking. In fact, that experience can work very well against you. In this case: DO NOT DOWNGRADE YOUR SYSTEM MENU. It will NOT help, and you only risk bricking your wii in the process.
     
  13. qwertymodo

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Country:
    United States
    CleanRip is not only the best ripper out there, it also runs ON A CLEAN IOS, no cIOS necessary. Throw it on your SD card, load it through HBC and it should work. If not, update IOS58 with DOP-Mii WITHOUT ANY PATCHES (there is no reason to patch IOS58 anyway).
     
  14. Starcruiser
    OP

    Newcomer Starcruiser Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    The problem is that the syscheck errors out and doesn't save the results.
    I tried 3 times.
     
  15. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
  16. Starcruiser
    OP

    Newcomer Starcruiser Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    CleanRip is running and seems to be going well. All I really wanted was to be able to dump the image.
    Will I be able to burn the image in case of failure of the original disc, though?

    EDIT: To be more specific, will the wii read the backed up disc? Or do I need another special channel?
     
  17. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    How old is the wii and what's the wii serial number?
     
  18. Starcruiser
    OP

    Newcomer Starcruiser Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    The console is only a few years old, serial number, though, I don't really want to post...
    I can look up it's manufacture date myself.

    EDIT: Nevermind, I really don't feel like going through the Nintendo line. I estimate late 2008 based on it's stock menu version.

    EDIT 2: I guess I could post the first few digits of the serial... LU56
     
  19. riahc3

    Member riahc3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    United States
    The worst part about a noobie is saying he, himself, saying he isnt a noobie AND not following the requests of other members.
     
  20. Starcruiser
    OP

    Newcomer Starcruiser Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I have a disc image now, split into two parts, but I keep getting "the syntax of the command is incorrect" when I try to use windows command prompt's copy function. Here is the synatax I tried: (files are in the root of the c drive)
    C:\Windows\system32>copy /b C:/(part0 iso) + (part1 iso) game.iso

    What am I doing wrong?

    And riahc3, what "requests" did I not follow? The syscheck failed out, no log was made. I posted the important part of the serial... what do you mean?
     

Share This Page