1. ZaeZae64

    OP ZaeZae64 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Country:
    United States
    Hello. I have ironhax currently installed. I want to update my firmware so I can download the latest smash bros. patch. Will updating my 3DS stop ironhax from working?

    Current firmware is 10.1.0-27U
     
    Last edited by ZaeZae64, Dec 17, 2015
  2. SANNIC789

    SANNIC789 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    704
    Country:
    United States
    no but 1ST MAKE SHUR YOU UPDATE THE HACKS AGEN for FW 10.3 and not 10.1 and then update your 3ds
     
  3. GalladeGuy

    GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    No, but you will need to update your payload. Be VERY careful when doing so, or else you might lose access to homebrew. Here is a step by step guide:
    1. Install themehax as a fail safe. (I'm assuming you aren't on 10.2.)
    2. Delete your Ironfall save to uninstall the hax.
    3. Go to the homebrew loader via themehax, and install the new payload.
    4. Update. Make sure you install the new payload before updating!
     
  4. ZaeZae64

    OP ZaeZae64 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, will do this soon. Thanks for the help guys!
     
  5. GalladeGuy

    GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    Any time! Tell me if you have anymore questions. I'm always open. :D
     
  6. WARvault

    WARvault Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    I just did this for SteamWorld Heist. Loaded up IronHax installer, added the 10.3 payload (beside my 10.1 payload) then performed the system update. Great success! I lost ThemeHax and holding the L button does nothing now. Best of luck!
     
  7. GalladeGuy

    GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    Because themehax doesn't work on 10.3.
     
  8. ZaeZae64

    OP ZaeZae64 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the strange question, but where would I get the payload I need to install, and what would I use to install it? I installed themehax and deleted my ironhax save
     
  9. GalladeGuy

    GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    You don't need to download a payload, the installer does it for you. I believe you just need to select your system version when it loads up. You can find the ironhax installer in the homebrew starter pack.
     
  10. ZaeZae64

    OP ZaeZae64 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, and when it asks for firmware version, should I use the FW I'm on right now (10.1) or should I use the one I want to update to (10.3)?
     
  11. GalladeGuy

    GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    The one you are upgrading to.
     
  12. ZaeZae64

    OP ZaeZae64 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, I installed the 10.3 payload from the ironhax installer. Although now when I try to update from the system settings menu, it keeps telling me an error has occurred, and that it will restart the system. Any idea on what to do about this?
     
  13. GalladeGuy

    GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    And your internet is on and stuff? Try restarting the system again.
     
  14. ZaeZae64

    OP ZaeZae64 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, tried multiple restarts and still getting the error. Could Themehax be the culprit here?
     
  15. GalladeGuy

    GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think so, and I wouldnt try deleting it. (Or changing your theme.) Then you would lose access to homebrew. How did you install ironhax in the first place? You need another way of using homebrew to install it.
     
  16. ZaeZae64

    OP ZaeZae64 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Country:
    United States
    I installed it using tubehax when it was first released

    The correct payload is New3DS 10-3-0-28 USA right?
     
    Last edited by ZaeZae64, Dec 17, 2015
  17. Megalegacy98

    Megalegacy98 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    505
    Country:
    United States
    thats the reason. Reset your connection settings

    thats correct if you have a New 3DS
     
  18. ZaeZae64

    OP ZaeZae64 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Country:
    United States
    It worked! Thank you so much you guys!
     
  19. GalladeGuy

    GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    Have fun with sm4sh! :yay3ds:
     
  20. omegazeroINFI

    omegazeroINFI Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    i just want to add that you shouldnt just delete the save. i recommend just reinstalling ironhax again in a new slot with the updated payload. its much easier and less of a risk of it not working in the event the secondary hax method didnt work.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Question, Ironhax,