Iphone 3g 16gb restriction passcode.

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Anakir, May 26, 2010.

May 26, 2010
  1. Anakir
    OP

    Member Anakir Project: Melee

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,253
    Location:
    Canada.
    Country:
    Canada
    My cousin recently gav me a Jailbroken-Iphone 3g 16gb (white rear). He had a restriction passcode set on it but he forgot what it was. Being an Ipod newbie that I am, I have a few questions regarding the Iphone.

    1. If I decide to reset all data to reset the restriction passcode, do I lose my jailbroken Iphone as well? In order words, do I have to jailbreak it again after I reset?
    2. When I reset, does Itunes force an update on my iphone?
    3. What does restriction passcode do for an iphone? I see two options. Passcode Lock and Restriction Passcode. What's the difference? I'm assuming Passcode Lock is where a password must be enabled when its in sleep mode or something and Resitrction Passcode is for apps that are restricted and must have a passcode in order to access it.
    4. Is there an app that can reset it?

    I don't really care about losing all the pictures, apps, data, etc on the Iphone because it wasn't mine to start off with. I rather start from the beginning and make it mine by installing apps and such that I like. I don't mind going through the process of jailbreaking it too because I can learn from the experience.. but I'm worried if I do reset my Iphone, Itunes will force an update on my Iphone - which I don't want if I want to jailbreak it.
     
  2. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    1. You will lose the JailBreak, but it's easy to do it again.
    2. No. Be careful that you don't update it yourself. I'd download the firmware from somewhere else to be safe (Google for it).
    3. Passcode lock is for turning it on. Passcode restricition is for changing stuff I think.
    4. I don't think so, just restore it. You'll save time.
     
  3. Gnargle

    Member Gnargle The day I set a profile picture is the day I die

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1. Yes, you'll lose it, but using Spirit you can jailbreak any current firmware untethered.
    2. Feel free to update through Apple. It's not gonna brick your iPhone.
    Other two: restoring your iPhone will get rid of the passcode.
     
  4. Anakir
    OP

    Member Anakir Project: Melee

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,253
    Location:
    Canada.
    Country:
    Canada
    That's perfect. I'll be resetting my Iphone as soon as I find a firmware backup or something. Thanks a lot for answering so quickly.
     
  5. Hardkaare

    Member Hardkaare GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Sàigòn VN _____ Status: Banned
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Also if possible, get 3.1.2 instead of 3.1.3 theres no difference other than apple patched the exploit used to unlock the phone to other carriers.
     
  6. Anakir
    OP

    Member Anakir Project: Melee

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,253
    Location:
    Canada.
    Country:
    Canada
    I installed Itunes and sync'd my device with the program. When I click Restore (I'm assuming that's what I do to reset my Iphone) I chose not to backup and the next button to click was "Restore and Update".. I thought Itunes won't force an update?

    Edit: I just went ahead and clicked it out of curiosity. I won't be able to Restore without going through the update. Is there a way to bypass the update?

    I'm using the latest Itunes if that matters.
     
  7. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    If you hold Option/Alt when you click "Update" it will bring up a file dialog where you can select your own firmware file to restore (.ipsw extention).

    They're easily found via Google.
     
  8. Anakir
    OP

    Member Anakir Project: Melee

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,253
    Location:
    Canada.
    Country:
    Canada
  9. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
  10. Anakir
    OP

    Member Anakir Project: Melee

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,253
    Location:
    Canada.
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks Urza. That helped out. By the way, its Shift key for Microsoft users. I was wondering why Alt didn't work until I googled it up. Thanks again.
     
  11. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 23, 2015
  12. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    They're freely distributable.
     

Share This Page