iPad problem. Part of my touch screen doesn't respond

Discussion in 'General Gaming Discussion' started by Gullwing, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. Gullwing
    OP

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    So I had some relatives to get me an iPad from America to Greece 4 days ago. Yesterday I realized that a certain part of my touch screen doesn't respond Image: http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj188/G...pg?t=1278518716 I made this line in order to show the "dead line" ... When I try to move an app from the dock to the upper part of the screen it stucks on this line and apparently the app goes to its former spot. This line also exists on both portrait and landscape mode. In landscape mode it remains where it is on portrait. So I can't move apps from the left part of the screen to the right one. I tried several apps and when I tried drawing I could draw everywhere, except on this line. I tried restoring the system but the problem is still there... Its weird because I haven't dropped any water or hitted my iPad at all... Help???
     


  2. tijntje_7

    Member tijntje_7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You should send it to apple. :/
    I guess that's all you can do without ruining the warranty [​IMG]
    Well maybe except cleaning the screen or whatever.
    But this was too obvious to have helped you I guess.

    But whatever, good luck [​IMG]
     
  3. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Does the iPad have a screen calibration setting option? Like the DS's? I'd try that out.
     
  4. murkurie

    Member murkurie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    California, Redlands
    Country:
    United States
    have you tried restoring it? this the first thing apple will try, restoring it
     
  5. Gullwing
    OP

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    Yes I tried restoring it... of course I wiped it, and I'm making this post because I live in Greece and the Ipad is from America... and iPad hasn't been released on Greece. It's pretty hard sending it to America again...
     
  6. caster62003

    Member caster62003 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    Is the iPad even considered a console?

    If restoring does not work, and you do not want to void your warranty, looks like you have to pay to have it shipped back to the US. If you don't mind me asking, why did you order an iPad from the US when you live in Greece, and yes I read it is not released in Greece yet, couldn't you have waited?
     
  7. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Because the iPad is popular enough that foreigners can't wait for it. I was in Egypt a few weeks ago when I saw someone with an iPad; he had come from Kuwait. He said that he had paid 1000 dollars for his.
     
  8. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    id say unlucky dude as it sounds like u got a dud one

    i picked mine up for £529.00 (16gb Wi-Fi + 3G)
    there not very BIG here in UK
    was no ques at all on day of release

    just walked in asked and they had loads
     
  9. Gullwing
    OP

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    Because Apple sucks in Greece. We have no Apple stores (only apple service) and we allways get all Apple products last. Apart from that the Greek app store has few apps and the Greek Itunes lets you buy only music and not Tv shows and music. Generally Apple sucks over here
     
  10. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Apple sucks everywhere.

    Derp. [​IMG]



    And if software doesn't solve the problem then there's definitely something wrong with the hardware itself.
     
  11. SamAsh07

    Member SamAsh07 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,693
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    iPad's sell here in Bahrain, Middle-east, I bet most of you never heard of this place [​IMG]
     
  12. Gullwing
    OP

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    Oh now I get it... Some days ago I jailbroke my ipad and insstalled Navigon, a navigator app and I tried typing an adress and suddenly my ipad started typing letters by its own. that's when the problem started. So yesterday I tried typing in Safari and the same thing happened. After that my problem was solved. But today I launched Navigon again but the letter thing didn't occur... So now I'm having the same problem.. I tried typing in safari but nothing happens... Its odd because I restored my ipad but the problem persisted
     
  13. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    When you restored, did you set it up as a new iPad (not from a backup)? If not, that could be why.
     
  14. Gullwing
    OP

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    Yup... New device not from an old backup... When I will get home I will try it again
     
  15. Gullwing
    OP

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    Pfff I restored but nothing...
     
  16. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    This may sound a bit odd, but did you just use iTunes's Restore button, or did you put it in Recovery Mode (or DFU Mode)? My friend tried clicking "Restore" to remove his jailbreak tracks, and couldn't. I had to put it in Recovery Mode to do so.

    If you wanna give Recovery Mode a shot, turn off your iPad. Then, hold down the Home button while connecting it to your computer.
     
  17. Gullwing
    OP

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    Thanks... Didn't know that.. I will try it...
     
  18. Gullwing
    OP

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    Nope it doesn't work either....
     
  19. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    unfortunatly no, the itouch and ipad dosn't have a calibration of any sort, strange i know, it should have one.
     
  20. metamaster

    Member metamaster GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Country:
    Canada
    It doesn't need to have calibration support since the screen reacts to the part where your skin touches it, it would need calibration if the image was a projection.
     

Share This Page